We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mix of Northwoods/East Coast Charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birchwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stout's Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Birchwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Cannot say enough good things about Stout's Island Lodge. Quaint, historical, charming and magical. From the moment you step into the boat to head over to the island to you final look-back, it's perfection in the north woods. We visited on a Sunday and Monday in August (for my birthday) and I couldn't have asked for a better stay anywhere. The lodge is so fun to explore, the food was outstanding. I had the best trout I've ever had our first night there. We used almost every amenitie on the island - we played croquet on the beautiful court in front of the lodge, we hiked the trails, we hyro-biked around the island and took the double kayak and explored a few water-lily filled inlets, we played ping-pong, swam to the swim platform, enjoyed fantastic meals, took in the bonfire and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everyone was friendly & accommodating (free dessert for my birthday). The breakfast were great for grab & go - hard-boiled eggs, warm banana bread, yogurt & more. It's a little worn about the edges in spots, but it adds to the charm. Cannot gush enough about what a wonderful time we had.
Also, they had well issues on our 2nd day, so we were upgraded and moved from Douglas (huge room) to Shore Lodge #1. Gorgeous room and they were simply wonderful about getting us set up. LOVE Stout's Island Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebrahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island_of_Happy_Days, Manager at Stout's Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear DebrahG.,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback immensely and we are overjoyed that you had such an enjoyable experience. A guest like you is invaluable-your have tried most everything we have to offer for amenities! We are happy you can be a resource for other future guests.

Thanks again!

Stout's Island Lodge Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 271 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

All-around it was a beautiful weekend. The boat driver/bellhops were great and efficient. The young lady in the office was very informed well informed of wonderful walks and off island shops. The exterior of the buildings had a beautiful rustic look. The interior were a sharp contrast with Whirlpools and many other amenities. The only shortcomings in the island came in my dining experience. The waitress was nice and did a great job, but the was not what I would expect from such a fine established. I order a vegetable platter been told that many of the items were actually from the island. The appetizer came out soak in butter. My wife and I both order the salmon and it out the same. Before eating I was told how much the product comes locally and I was very excited, but instead of tasting fresh flavor I tasted butter. This will not stop me from returning to Stout's Island, however next time I will not be entering their restaurant, for more then a few cocktails. I will also be bringing my own food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island_of_Happy_Days, Manager at Stout's Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Walter B.,

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay on this island! We are so sorry that you did not find your dining experience enjoyable--that is not the usual review we get for our chef's food. Our menu changes frequently, so perhaps a different dish may be to your satisfaction next time. We are happy to recommend options that have the most robust fresh flavor--as I can assure you many of our ingredients do come from the island and from local vendors. Regardless, however, we are delighted that you will be joining us again in the future!

Thanks again!

Stout's Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Stout's Island for an early June getaway after several weeks of heavy deadlines at work. It was just what we needed! We stayed in Shore Lodge #2 and treasured every moment. The room was beautifully clean. Huge picture windows allowed us to view trees and listen to birds and relax. The tiled bathroom with whirlpool was glorious. It rained every day we were there, but we still managed to do little hikes on the island and played pool and ping pong. Mostly, however, we just relaxed and read books. Everyone was wonderful. The meals were delicious. Stout's Island is far enough away from the Twin Cities to be a "getaway," but close enough to make it easy to get to in a couple hours. We took their directions for the "scenic route" to the island. Even this was fun and relaxing. We will definitely return to Stout's Island! FYI - There IS cell phone coverage at the island, but NO internet. That was actually a plus for us. Also, be sure to bring bug spray. This year is particularly wet, and the mosquitos were fierce.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island_of_Happy_Days, Manager at Stout's Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear MNAuthor,

Thank you so much for the feedback! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and had a chance to try our chef's delicious eats. We sincerely hope that the next time you visit, it won't rain quite so much and you will be able to enjoy the grounds a bit more.

Again, thank you so much for the feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Stout's Island Lodge Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited the island for our 10th wedding anniversary. The service was wonderful, starting with the boat drivers that delivered us to the island. The lodge is so historic and beautiful, it was wonderful to see the roaring fire as we entered the great room. Our room was in Douglas and was perfect and comfortable. We sat on our private deck and felt like we were alone in the woods. The nature walk, boating etc made our weekend stay so memorable. The restaurant is really special as well - locally sourced and first class. I highly recommend Stout's Lodge and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island_of_Happy_Days, Manager at Stout's Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Wendy,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoy the charm of the lodge just as much as we do. We are merely caretakers of this amazing property and its grounds. We hope that you visit us again--maybe try a room in the Main Lodge for a more historic experience? Let us know and we would be happy to walk you through the options!

Thank you so much for the feedback!

Sincerely,

Stout's Island Lodge Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a four day trip to Stout Island Lodge. We were celebrating our 23rd wedding anniversary. The lodge is a very special, fun and relaxing place. The adventure begins when the guests are picked up at a dock by boat and travel across the lake to the lodge. The service is wonderful: everyone at the lodge makes sure you have what you need to enjoy your stay. We stayed in the main lodge, room #2...the fireplace was great. Very relaxing...the views are beautiful and there are chairs set up all over the property so guests can sit down and visit, read a book, or just take in the views. There is also a game room and water sport activities are also available. The gardens are very pretty. The lodge is a bit rustic and full of charm. The restaurant menu is limited, but the food is fabulous!! We LOVED the Stout Island Lodge and will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Check out the room photos to make sure you get the kind of room you desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island_of_Happy_Days, Manager at Stout's Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Dianne P.,

Thank you for choosing us for such a special event! Congratulations (if we haven't said it already) on 23 beautiful years of sharing your lives--marriage really is something special. We are very lucky to have shared this anniversary with you. Next time you visit, we highly recommend Shore Lodge 3 with its huge picture windows and jacuzzi tub for anniversaries and honeymoons--you won't be sorry! Thank you so much for the feedback and we are excited to host you again soon!

Sincerely,

Stout's Island Lodge Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

PLEASE Look at the Photos: the rustic charm and atmosphere cannot be captured by words:

Stouts Island Lodge is an experience in itself. This is not your average resort/ getaway. If you are looking for an experience from the moment you park your car to the moment you leave the resort, you are in for a treat. Stouts Island Lodge is situated on a 12 acre island in the middle of a lake. You wait at an old boathouse for a ferry to arrive to bring you to your destination. Once you arrive you are brought to a historic log lodge built by Mr. Stout. The back side is a huge sprawling lawn that run one thousand feet complete with croquet court and bocce ball. I had the pleasure of staying and touring Stouts Island Lodge and can only say my photos speak for themselves and for Stout Island Lodge. It is a place one needs to experience for themselves either with a loved one or a family getaway.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a private screened in deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ribeyescomerolled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island_of_Happy_Days, Manager at Stout's Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Ribeyescomerolled,

Thank you for your fantastic photos and generous feedback! We sincerely love hearing what our guests love about our resort--and you are absolutely right, it is an experience from start to finish. We could not have said it better ourselves. We hope you had a chance to experience all the island has to offer--did you get a chance try out our walking trails on the east island? There is also greating swimming (when it is warm) and fishing. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Thank you again for the feedback, we could not be more grateful!

Sincerely,

Stout's Island Lodge Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stout's is the perfect place to get away and relax. I've read some negative reviews and I think they might have had different expectations of the place. You will like the resort if you like quiet, down time, if you like canoeing or kayaking, playing tennis, sitting and reading, short nature walks, group Bon fires, and to unplug ( although I still received phone service / Internet / email but I didn't have to use it).

The restaurant has very limited choices but the food is very good. I would highly recommend the trout. The waitress said it is freshly caught each day.

I would recommend reading through the room descriptions carefully or calling and talking to someone since there is a big variety of types of rooms. Some include full kitchens which is nice with kids or if the restaurant menu isn't your taste. We have stayed at 4 different cabins over the years and they all have been very nice, but different.

It looks like they are in the process of renovating some of the outdoor areas and have added a very nice sitting area with lounge chairs by the lake. Also, they have updated the Bon fire area.

All of the staff we encounter were very friendly and very attentive to our needs.

I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms. Check website carefully or call and talk to someone so you know what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmlilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island_of_Happy_Days, Manager at Stout's Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear pmlilac,

We appreciate that you felt the need to set the record straight. We have definitely made some mistakes (we are only human) and we hope that we have been making improvements as quickly as possible. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that it met with your expectations (maybe even exceeded them?). Renovations are being made to the outdoor areas this season and our gardener is busy at work primping the grounds to make them as beautiful as possible. We look forward to your next visit, and you know who to call for advice on which room to choose!

P.S. We changed our room numbers since you last stay--just wanted to give you a heads up for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Stout's Island Lodge Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stout's Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stout's Island Lodge

Address: 2799 27th Street, Birchwood, WI 54817-9242
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Birchwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Birchwood
Price Range: $149 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stout’s Island Lodge sits proudly in the center of Red Cedar Lake – an 1800-acre lake in northeastern Barron County, Wisconsin. There are two island connected by a 100 ft. walking bridge (given to Frank Stout by Andrew Carneige). The two islands have a combined acreage of 18 acres. All lodging is located on the western of the two islands; the East Island has walking trails as well as a small picnic cabin on the northern tip. Red Cedar Lake is known for its water quality, its fishery and for its relative quietude. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stout`s Island Hotel Mikana
Stout Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing