We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steak”

Merrill & Houston's Steak joint
Reserve with OpenTable
Merrill & Houston's Steak joint is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Beloit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Upscale steakhouse in Downtown Beloit. Enjoy amazing food with riverfront views. Live music throughout the week.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have dined here on three occasions and each time was fantastic. The steaks were great and the service was excellent as well. We would recommend you try this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    42
    26
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Overall good”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

They have a great atmosphere and a good martini menu, but my steak arrived cold on a porcelain plate (not a sizzling steak). For the price I expect a hot steak. Overall the experience wasn't bad. Desert was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anonymtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem in the Beloit Inn”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at the new restaurant in the Beloit Inn. The decor is all Beloit related historical photos, posters and ephemera. The food was delicious and the location is perfect. The service was excellent. We will eat there again when we are in Beloit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The bread is deep fried and the best I've ever had!!! We had great meals good service and got to watch the hockey game.
We will return...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigbaddad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Nice Steak! Pity about the Chocolate Decadence!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went there with the wife for Supper today (Saturday 1st June). It was relatively busy, but we did get a seat on the patio. The Server was attentive and took our order promptly. She also brought our drinks out very quickly - mine a 20oz Guinness and hers an unsweetened tea.

We both had the steak, which was very nice - I asked for mine medium (and that's what I got) and the missus wanted medium-well, but her's was closer to medium. Both of us finished everything on our plates - very nice.

We ordered the 'Chocolate Decadence' to share for dessert and ate all of it, but it was just so-so.

Total cost was $51 and we left a $9 (18%?) tip - so about $30 a head. I'd say that we'll almost certainly be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merrill & Houston's Steak joint also viewed

 

Been to Merrill & Houston's Steak joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing