We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Lunch after a Ride”

Paoli Schoolhouse Shops & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Belleville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Paoli Schoolhouse Cafe is located on the banks of the tranquil Sugar River. Enjoy a meal in our beautiful dining areas or on the deck or patio as weather permits. As the sun sets the cafe takes on an elegant, comfortable feel with linens and candlelight. Our Wine Menu lists over 25 wine & champagne selections to complement your dining experience. We are also pleased to serve your favorite cocktails and carry a variety of domestic and craft beers.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch after a Ride”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This spot was great for a quick lunch to regain our stamina to bike back to Madison. The wait staff was great and took care of everything. Quiche, sandwiches and salads were well portioned and prepared.
Desserts were excellent and the price was right.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MapleLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    21
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dining at the schoolhouse.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

A very nice place for a dinner if you want to stay close to Madison. Paoli was a farming town, but aspires to be an artist colony. Don't let that dissuade you from the Schoolhouse café. I had the pizza which was very good. My wife had a grilled cheese and tomato sandwich which she loved. Service was slow, so don't expect to get in and out quickly. You'll enjoy the ambiance. Staff all very cordial!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Turned away”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My friend and I came here to check out a local singer/songwriter who was performing at the Paoli Schoolhouse Cafe and inquired about getting a table to sit and eat while enjoying her sing. The hostess very curtly informed us that all the tables were reserved outside but we could sit on the grass. We asked about getting a table inside. She told us there wouldn't be one available until later that evening and hurried away, not even asking if she could put us down for a later dinner. Seemed like there weren't very interested in having us as customers. Don't know if I'll go back, even though their food looks delicious. If you do decide to go on a weekend or performance day, be sure to call ahead to make reservations.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super Delicious!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I, family and friends have all enjoyed the best meals at this restaurant which is on the Sugar River in Paoli, Wisconsin. They have the tastiest luncheons and dinners and deserve a 5-star rating on every item on the menu from the tenderloin to the salmon, pike, scallops and bacon bourbon barbecue burger, and drinks - Brandy Old-Fasion Sweets, Bloody Marys and Brandy and Pesi with green olives! And, the pleasant atmosphere and great service makes this our favorite restaurant and bar near Madison and in Southern Wisconsin.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Schoolhouse Café is a favorite restaurant when we visit the area. The first time we went we actually took a picture of our food it was so beautifully presented. This trip we sat out on the deck for the live music and enjoyed another delicious meal. My husband had the beef tenderloin. I had bruschetta and salad. We are never disappointed and I love the little shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrNana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paoli Schoolhouse Shops & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Paoli Schoolhouse Shops & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing