We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice - too short”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belleville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Belleville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Dawn & Gary provide a beautiful setting inside and out. One night was not enough to explore and enjoy all that they and the Area has to offer. The Schoolhouse restaurant was excellent ! Breakfast was top of the list only a few B&Bs take the time to make such elegant breakfasts with such individual attention. The eggs Benedict were out of this world - thanks Dawn!
we will be back this summer - John & Karen

Room Tip: The deluxe suite with large spa is on a lower level (basement) limited view but very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldtraveler1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. The suite is our only space on the lower level, with just the 3 windows, and is typically chosen for the privacy and separation from the other guest areas. On your next visit, you may want to try a room on the 2nd floor for longer views or if you are here during warmer temperatures, you would really enjoy the views along the hiking trails or from the garden gazebos. We look forward to making your next visit and even better one! Best wishes, Dawn & Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 157 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Cameo Rose was the perfect place for myself and my 3 girl friends to get away and be pampered. I loved that it was in the country, the views of snow covered hills, lot of trees and wild life walking about was fun to see. The place was immaculate inside and out. Dawn, I felt very special when I walked in and found you had taken care of all my special requests. Every detail in your home was carefully planned out. The 2 bedroom suite was much larger than expected, definitely plenty of room if you had 6. We all thought the beds were very comfortable and wanted to take them home. Words cannot even describe how much I enjoyed the breakfast. The presentation was elegant, the food tasted amazing and it was still healthy. We all walked away plenty full. You are charming and I enjoyed our conversations. You knew when to stop and chat and when to let us just sit back and enjoy the peace and quiet. All of us look forward to coming back again to experience the other seasons. I cannot wait to give my son and daughter-in-law a gift certificate to your inn as a Christmas gift this year. Thank you for making my weekend and my friends weekend something we will always remember. Thanks again Mary L.

Room Tip: I think you would be please with any room @ the Cameo Rose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

It was such a privilege to host your special retreat. You and your friends were delightful and we are appreciative that you chose the Cameo Rose for this event. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future and sincerely thank you for your kind review.

Dawn & Gary, Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Dawn, the perfect hostess! My wife and I were treated like royalty. Probably the best B & B in Wisconsin if not the Midwest. Fantastic breakfast and just beautiful accommodations. Very relaxing and quiet. Just what we needed!! Please, if you have the opportunity, stop at this place for a night or a week. You will love it. We plan to go back as soon as possible. Again, Dawn & Gary, thank you so much for the treat of staying at Cameo Rose
PS I would give Cameo Rose a higher rating if it was possible!!
Jim/Pat B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My girlfriend had already visited Cameo Rose and told me once staying at this B&B, no other will compare. We stayed in the 2 room suite for 2 nights. Terri was right, I will never be able to stay at another B&B again! The grounds are spectacular as the front of the house overlooks a beautiful valley. The owners have a gazebo that is open day and night with small lights that look like fireflies. A water pond is surrounded by plants and flowers and an area to sit in tranquility and beauty. Every area inside the house is spotlessly maintained. Dawn's 4 course breakfasts are presented each morning as a new event to savor and delicious! Each afternoon you are greeted back to your room with home baked treats and a drink of choice. Dawn and her husband Gary are very welcoming, and assist you with planning your days of sightseeing if that is your desire. Or quiet and restful if you just want a place to relax. I highly recommend you visit for yourselves. But beware, you will be spoiled.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridesMom02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My mother and I were in Wisconsin for our very fist visit and this place was the icing on the cake. What a wonderful place to stay! We loved the grounds, the breakfasts and the location. Just close enough to Madison but yet private and tucked away so you feel like you were in your own home. We stayed in the two room suite and loved every minute of it. The beds are super comfortable so sleeping late is not a problem. The Cameo Rose is wonderful and we plan on staying again!

Room Tip: we loved the suite in the basement. 2 big room, a bath and a little sitting room with your own TV. J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We eagerly anticipated our 3rd visit to Cameo Rose Bed and Breakfast. It became our favorite bed and breakfast on our first visit 2 years ago. We were so happy to find this experience just as wonderful as the first visit.

As always, Dawn's breakfast looked as though it could have graced the cover of a cullinary magazine. It was lovely in both presentation and taste. We enjoyed the conversation with our hosts and the other guests. The time just flew as we talked and enjoyed all 4 of Dawn's marvelous courses.

Every room at Cameo Rose is lovingly decorated and spotlessly maintained. The home baked treats that are found in the rooms in the evening are so welcome after a day of sightseeing. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and the walking trails are a must.

A bed and breakfast establishment is just a building until it is infused with the character of it's owners. Both Dawn and Gary add their warm personalities to make Cameo Rose such an inviting, welcoming place. Thanks to both of them for a time of relaxation and refreshment. We are looking forward to our next visit to Cameo Rose Bed and Breakfast.

Glenn and Kathy St. Paul, Mn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn and Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We love staying at bed and breakfasts. Our experiences are as varied as the number of establishments we have visited. Most B&Bs have been enjoyable, some certainly unique. One was the B&B from hell, so we have experienced the lower end of the spectrum, and a couple have been wonderful in every way. Cameo Rose was one of the latter.

The décor is charmingly Victorian, with some gorgeous focal pieces in the common areas, like the collection of vintage hats and spats on the hall tree, the ornately carved antique organ in the sitting room, and the hand-made dolls displayed in a seasonal setting in the formal dining room. What seems like countless collections of dishes, books, framed art, and other visual accessories are scattered throughout the large Victorian-style house, but the effect is warm and inviting while preserving spaciousness, not cluttered, busy and claustrophobic, as some attempts at this style end up being.

Since I try to avoid stairs due to a recent hip replacement, the innkeeper went out of her way to arrange for our use of the one first-floor room, which was bright, beautiful and welcoming. How comfortable a bed will be is always a risk that travelers take. No worry here. As Goldie Locks said, the bed was just right, and we spent two restful nights in the White Eyelet Room, with its wingback chair and fireplace and private bath.

Breakfast at Cameo Rose is not a meal; it is an event, reminiscent of high tea. Multiple courses are served on beautiful antique dishes, with special attention to presentation. The food was delicious and boasted fresh fruits and vegetables, fresh baked scones and rolls, special juice blends, and gourmet jams and fruit spreads. One morning we were served eggs benedict, and the next, an omelet with many choices of filling. I chose fresh baby spinach and zucchini, black forest ham, and cheddar cheese, and wasn’t disappointed. Breakfast is substantial enough, that a mid-day snack and dinner is all one needs. But, of course, we didn’t turn down the evening offer of a beverage and a freshly baked treat. I might add that I am diabetic, and the innkeeper provided many delicious substitutions to accommodate my dietary restrictions.

One of the reasons we like staying at bed and breakfasts is meeting new people. Even though there were other guests for only the first of our two nights (our stay was during the slower mid-week, unlike the fuller weekends) our stay at Cameo Rose didn’t disappoint. It provided us with the added opportunity of getting to know our hosts, Dawn and Gary, better as they shared with us more details of inn keeping and the history of Cameo Rose. After hiking the miles of trails, my husband especially appreciated learning about the reforestation project, from Gary, that is taking place on the 120 acres of the B&B property. Being big gardeners ourselves, the other features of the property, like the pond, waterfalls, gazebos, rose arbors and gardens added to the enjoyment of our stay.

In conclusion, we would just like to say that if we are in the area again, we will definitely return to Cameo Rose and highly recommend it to anyone that is looking for a peaceful respite in a beautiful setting, hosted by knowledgeable, talented and gracious people who will make your stay an experience you’ll want to repeat.

Pam & Dale Kessler

Room Tip: White Eyelet Room is great if you need to avoid stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belleville
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison/Verona
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Madison-Verona
5.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Southwest
12.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
9.5 mi away
Best Western West Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B

Address: 1090 Severson Rd, Belleville, WI 53508-9728
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Belleville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Belleville
Price Range: $149 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What a difference a night makes at a genuine Wisconsin getaway retreat on 120 scenic acres just 15 minutes from Madison - the University of Wisconsin, New Glarus - "America's Little Switzerland and Mount Horeb - "Little Norway". Voted "Best breakfast in the Midwest" and "#11 B&B / Country Inn in North America" (includes U.S., Canada & Mexico)! ~ Arrington's ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Belleville
Belleville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing