We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Refuge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belleville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Belleville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have just returned from a three-day stay at Cameo Rose, restored and invigorated. B&B's can be as uneven as they are charming, but at Cameo Rose, they get everything right. The bed was so comfortable we inquired after the brand, and the room was quiet and spacious, yet Cameo Rose is so much more.

We walked and hiked the miles of trails on their land at all hours, but my favorite time was the evening. At dusk, we saw three sets of deer (including two fawns), wild turkeys and a barn owl. Then as darkness began to fall, the pathway glittered, literally for miles, with such an abundance of fireflies it felt like a fantasy. At the pond, which is lit from within the water, we had a grand time spotting out the bullfrogs, peepers and who knows what other kind of frogs were carrying on their symphony. We went in to watch one of the 100+ DVDs available, then came back out again to marvel at the stars.

Everywhere you look, there is a special touch, like the porch swings on the porch, in the woods, under a rose-covered gazebo; or the tiny, secretive bower just large enough for two; or the table and chairs one comes upon with surprise perched on a promontory off in the woods. The last thing Dawn does before laying out her astonishing breakfasts is to snip fresh flowers from the gardens for the table, gently scenting the room with lavender and roses (in June, anyway). Dawn and Gary strike the perfect note of hospitality -- warm and responsive while respecting guests' privacy.

One of Dawn's breakfasts, by the way, was the best we've ever eaten. For dinner, we ventured toward Madison where we found a couple of exceptional restaurants 10-15 minutes away. (Check out Eno Vino.) Who would guess this perfect refuge is so close to "civilization"?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of the Cameo Rose. We strive to incorporate the outdoor garden areas and our managed woodlands into a peaceful and serene retreat for our guests. Our mission is to enhance the comfort of the inside amenities with many outside locations as well. Thank you for taking the time to notice and to comment so positively. It is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!

Our best wishes,

Dawn & Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 159 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 43rd wedding anniversary here. The setting is extraordinary: acres of trees, beautiful perennial gardens, a gazebo to relax in with a glass of wine while looking out at the adjacent pond and waterfall. Gary does a wonderful job with the outdoor upkeep. Dawn did an extraordinary job of decorating this Victorian B&B. It's fun to go from room to room looking at all her collectables. Our room was specious and clean. The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had; you'd think that you were in a 5-star restaurant with all the attention to detail. We would definitely return to this special place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

We appreciate your kind comments and were pleased that you had an enjoyable anniversary stay with us. We seem to attract the nicest people in the world! We thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again in the future. Congratulations again on your anniversary and we wish you many more to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

There are some amazing things about Cameo Rose:
- absolutely beautiful property -- off the road, on a hilltop overlooking fields, w/ a private hiking trail in the woods, beautiful garden, pond, gazebos, humming birds, etc. Just delightful!
- absolutely quiet room and ac - completely remodeled to a very high standard
- delicious breakfast w/ farm fresh ingredients, not just the quantity, but quality is very high
- nice inn owners who really care about maintaining a high standard

Little changes can make an even greater experience:
- The Inn and room is a bit over flown with vintage dresses, hats, chairs, vases, dried flowers. Reducing the clutter will make the room and inn feel more spacious and more appealing for a longer stay.
- The Inn has a wonderful DVD library, but it is a bit difficult to choose a movie based only on the DVD titles. Making the DVDs freely assessable to guests like most of Inns do will be a big plus.

All in all, this is the best B&B in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chic2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciate your thoughtful comments and suggestions. We do have an extensive library of over 1200 VCR & DVD movies for guests to choose from, which would make it difficult to display in a common area. Thanks again for taking the time to provide us with your helpful insights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were on the road and happened upon this lovely B&B. It was an extremely stressful time for us having come down from 2 months of taking care of others. Dawn was so caring and sensitive to our needs. It was a welcome time of respite and renewal. The inn is lovely, immaculate and quiet. Dawn and Gary are great at helping plan things to do nearby. The breakfast was awesome using organic and local products in the preparation. The evening treats were delicious. We will definitely come back and would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a rest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

We thank you for taking the time out of your busy lives to write a review for us. It is our mission to provide exactly the type of respite that you found at the Cameo Rose and it was our pleasure to serve you. You and your loved ones are in our thoughts and prayers and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Cameo Rose was our first B & B experience many years ago and it continues to be the standard by which we compare all others. We recently enjoyed our sixth visit to Cameo Rose and will keep coming back. The breakfasts are wonderful, the rooms are warm and comfortable - Dawn and Gary's hospitality makes each visit feel like coming home. There is so much attention to detail every where you turn and it is evident that all has been planned with the comfort of their guests in mind. Cameo Rose is a wonderful get-away in a beautiful setting no matter what time of year and we will continue to recommend it to anyone visiting in the Madison area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for your kind review! There is nothing more gratifying than to be worthy of repeat business. We strive to improve and exceed your expectations with each visit. Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Dawn & Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have been to the Cameo Rose several times, this time to celebrate our 33 Wedding anniversary. It was wonderful! Dawn and Gary were wonderful hosts. They were ready for us, had cake in our room waiting for us. Dawn had her famous hot apple-cherry cider ready for us as well. The room was lovely, clean, spacious and quiet. Dawn made reservations for us at a local restuarant. Breadfast was great, 4 courses and quite filling. Dawn and Gary make us feel like old friends coming for a visit. We always leave wishing we didnt have to go. We feel appreciated and pampered. We are already planning our next trip there!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

It is a true joy to welcome repeat guests back to the Cameo Rose! It is an honor and a pleasure to host you and we appreciate your kind comments so very much. Thank you for taking the time to review us; we also look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

After trying the rest, why not stay at the BEST! Our second time at the Cameo Rose was as wonderful as our first visit. Feeling welcome at a B&B is key as to whether a return visit is considered. Dawn and Gary are truely a delightful couple displaying a true passion for their work. Hospitality seems to be second nature to them as all guests are treated as family.This year round B&B has it all. Seclusion, quiet, nature abounding and a complete breakfast that keeps you going until days end. The hardest part is leaving!!!!!! Jerry & Lisa F

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments! We strive to exceed our guests' expectations with each visit and you make it so easy. : ) We appreciate you and look forward to your next visit. Dawn & Gary - Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B

Address: 1090 Severson Rd, Belleville, WI 53508-9728
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Belleville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Belleville
Price Range: $149 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What a difference a night makes at a genuine Wisconsin getaway retreat on 120 scenic acres just 15 minutes from Madison - the University of Wisconsin, New Glarus - "America's Little Switzerland and Mount Horeb - "Little Norway". Voted "Best breakfast in the Midwest" and "#11 B&B / Country Inn in North America" (includes U.S., Canada & Mexico)! ~ Arrington's ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Belleville
Belleville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing