We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belleville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Belleville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our latest trip to Madison and overnight at Cameo Rose. We have stayed in many bed and breakfast inns across the country and Cameo Rose has set the standard for us and gets our votes for The Best. We began visiting Cameo Rose quite a few years ago after hearing about it from a family member. We enjoyed it so much that we have returned not once, but 14 times, for birthdays and anniversaries, or just a short get-away. We have been there at different seasons: summer, fall and winter. It is beautiful scenery no matter what time of year you go. It’s especially beautiful at Christmas time when it is so artistically decorated, both inside and out. Over the years it has just gotten better and better with updates and new additions inside, and the addition of the pond with waterfalls, along with a large screened-in gazebo where you can enjoy the beautiful landscaping and watch the birds and wild turkeys. Gary does a wonderful job maintaining the grounds and continually improving on them.

The attention to detail, and the cleanliness are impeccable. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever had away from home and the spa robes that are placed in each room are luxurious. We have stayed in every room at Cameo Rose and each one is beautifully decorated, unique and immaculate.

The breakfasts are truly incredible. Not only is everything very flavorful, but is beautifully presented on china dishes. Dawn often uses locally made products in her gourmet meals, many made by her from things growing on their property. I just think I’ve found a favorite breakfast and then Dawn serves something we haven’t had before, and then I’ve found a new favorite. More than once she has graciously shared recipes with me. We have found Dawn and Gary to be wonderful hosts: warm and friendly, always accommodating any request. They are both easy to talk to and listen to, and we so enjoy the times that we've had to just sit and visit. There is much to do in the area and Dawn is a great tour guide and knowledgeable about events that are happening during each visit . We have been to many restaurants that she has recommended (and made reservations for us). We have never been disappointed and have fond memories of the fine dining we have experienced.

Thank you Dawn and Gary for creating a wonderful home away from home. We always leave there feeling very relaxed and truly pampered. We feel very much at home there and look forward to our next visit. Thank you, Dawn, for the wonderful cake for Paul's birthday. He felt very special.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 158 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We just returned from our second visit to Cameo Rose and it was as lovely as our first. From the moment we entered the front door Dawn made us feel like family. She had refreshments waiting for us and information on all the surrounding area. She even made sure we had dinner reservations at the best restaurants around.
The gourmet breakfast in the morning is a real treat. Dawn accommodated my special dietary needs in such a way that I felt special and cared for. No one wanted to leave the table while interacting with Dawn and Gary and hearing their stories or suggestions on what to do.
The grounds are gorgeous. We loved walking the trails (even in the rain) that Gary has worked so hard developing. The pond and waterfalls are so soothing we spent the whole morning sitting in one of the many swings and relaxing.
The rooms are as pictured on the website and are spotless and comfy. We've tried two and enjoyed the English garden room with it's views of the pond. The rooms are very private and quiet. The rates are very reasonable for the area, the service and the grounds available to you.
The fact that of the 8 couples that came and went during our 3 day stay over half were repeat guests, or had been referred by someone who had stayed, is an indication of the high quality care that Dawn and Gary strive to maintain.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Cameo Rose is not a destination that you arrive at . . . it's an experience that envelopes you! The inn is reminiscent of a fairy tale castle, delightful inside and out. The decor is perfectly coordinated, down to the tiniest detail. The food is sublime: delicate layers of flavors served as artful presentations. If you are looking for the road less travelled: there are 120 acres to traverse. Dawn and Gary are congenial hosts, orchestrating the perfect combination of solitude and socializing. I immediately felt like family. I wish I lived there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dixie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We like to take long weekends and have stayed at lots of different B & Bs. The Cameo Rose is the only one we have gone back to for a second visit and will definitely go back again. We think of the Cameo Rose as the benchmark that we compare all others to. Since our first visit they put in a gorgeous pond with waterfalls. It's a perfect place to unwind and relax but within minutes of several fun towns, including Madison. Lots of great restaurants nearby too. Dawn keeps the house gorgeous inside and out and it is immaculate. Nowhere else have we had a such a delicious 3 course breakfast (including a dessert) with warm muffins or buttery scones. Have to mention the fresh baked cookies in the afternoon and soft spa robes - it's great! Gary keeps the grounds and hiking trails looking beautiful. We have enjoyed great conversations with the other guests yet had plenty of privacy too. As you can tell, I cannot say enough about the Cameo Rose. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. We will definitely go back next year to see the roses in bloom.

Room Tip: The website shows what the rooms look like. Some are bigger than others depends what you want. Ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you for your taking the time out of your busy lives to post a review! We sincerely appreciate your kind words and it is guests like yourself that make it all worthwhile. Being a repeat guest is the greatest compliment we can receive and we hope you will be back again soon and recommend us to your friends and family. Best wishes, Dawn & Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The Cameo Rose Bed & Breakfast is overpriced, the hosts were the most pretentious people I have ever met, and they were extremely rude to friends of ours who came out to the Cameo Rose to see us and possibly rent a room for the night. On top of that, there are no locks on the room doors. The first morning, as we were sitting at the breakfast table, a guest mentioned how he noticed there were no locks on the doors and how he was going to go rummaging through all the rooms when the other guests left. The hosts laughed and giggled but I was pretty sure this clown was serious! When my friends showed up at the Cameo Rose to see the rooms, the owner went crazy! She kept shrieking, "You can't have guests in your room, you can't have guests in your room". We were not trying to squeeze extra people into our room like college kids at Spring Break!! Our friends couldn't believe they were not allowed in the Bed & Breakfast to wait for paying guests for 15 minutes!! Our poor friends who were well-dressed and polite were left standing outside on the porch until my wife and I were finished getting ready for the wedding we were attending. I have never been so embarrassed and ticked off in my life! The room was nothing special and filled with so many dust-collecting decorations I felt claustrophobic all night. Even if you were to eliminate the rude and obnoxious owners, the Bed & Breakfast itself is in the middle of nowhere, the rooms are average at best, and the breakfast was all fluff and no flavor. Not recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinobrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Clearly this person was very unhappy with their experience at the Cameo Rose. I am, however, at a loss to recall this particular situation or the circumstances they described. We do have a policy of no tours or guest visitors which is, in fact, to help ensure the type of security this person was concerned about in the first place. (i.e. someone going into their room) There are privacy locks on each guest bedroom door and guests are given a key to our front door (which is locked for security) so that they may come and go as they please. Our website, our room info FAQ sheets and even out front door signage clearly states our policies. They are for the benefit of all and our repeat guests tell us they appreciate that we "do what we promise".

Over-priced? I noticed on Trip Advisor that there were several nearby hotels within our price range. None of them are on 120 beautifully maintained private acres, none have as many gardens, a wrap-around front porch with wicker porch swing and furniture, a guest living room or tower sunroom, a pond with 3 waterfalls, miles of mowed hiking trails, pergolas with hanging swings or a hammock, screened gazebo with a large table and swivel rocker chairs, or the immense peace and quiet that you will find here. Nor do they serve a 4-course, homemade breakfast on vintage china and lace tablecloths. I use the freshest locally grown produce, the finest quality of meats and cheeses, we cater to special dietary restrictions and skimp on nothing. If by "fluff" you mean the handpicked flowers and herbs that I grow and garnish each plate with, our guests are delighted with the attention to detail and care that we put into each and every course. And judging by the clean plates, and the enthusiastic compliments, we are at an absolute loss as to this reviewer's commentary. We do ask each and every guest if they have any food allergies, are diabetic, vegetarian or just have some foods they do not like before we plan each breakfast. We are more than happy to accommodate.

When you stay at the Cameo Rose, it is our mission to provide a pampered and relaxing retreat and wonderful experience to each and every one of our guests. We work very hard at this and apologize for failing to make this couple happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at the Cameo Rose for a long weekend in August, 2011. The location was just right for our motorcycle day trips and is even better for the bike trails in the Southwestern Wisconsin area. They truely have the best 4 course breakfasts of all the bed and breakfasts, in our experience.
The B&B is in a rural area so you get a beautiful location with gazebos, wildlife and walking trails but it's not "remote"; it's an easy drive to nearby towns or up to Madison for your adventures.
The room we stayed in did not have light-blocking shades so the room was pretty bright early in the morning. We are early risers so it wasn't much of an issue.

Room Tip: Call ahead and talk to Dawn or Gary about your needs and they'll help you decide which room is r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Lovely and justly deserving it's five star ratings. Fabulous grounds and gardens, warm and friendly owners, great food. Really nice place to go. They accommodated our late arrival, and we felt very welcomed. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbyrnefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn B&B

Address: 1090 Severson Rd, Belleville, WI 53508-9728
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Belleville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Belleville
Price Range: $149 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What a difference a night makes at a genuine Wisconsin getaway retreat on 120 scenic acres just 15 minutes from Madison - the University of Wisconsin, New Glarus - "America's Little Switzerland and Mount Horeb - "Little Norway". Voted "Best breakfast in the Midwest" and "#11 B&B / Country Inn in North America" (includes U.S., Canada & Mexico)! ~ Arrington's ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Belleville
Belleville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing