We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Wawanissee Point
Ranked #1 of 4 Baraboo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I have stayed at B&Bs all over the world; none comes close to this jewel in the middle of nowhere. The concept of "cleanliness" is not done justice here. It is "Spotlessness".

The facility is equal parts art gallery, architectural marvel, and botanical hiking grounds and trails.

The hosts (Holdeners) are a fascinating & charming couple with an interesting history

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieOCrystalLake_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 131 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I wanted a quick trip for a get-away. We decided on the Dells the first week in August and because of our schedules, actually left that Thursday. Since it was peak season, several places which were recommended to us were booked. After checking prices and availability online, I stumbled upon the Inn at Wawanissee Pt. For a little more money, we enjoyed a very clean and comfortable room and were served an excellent homemade breakfast including sweet fresh fruit. The Inn is nestled in the bluffs overlooking Lake Wisconsin . I would imagine that each season would offer its own incredible show of nature. The view was breathtaking from the porch and humming birds entertained us as we savored our breakfast. Our hosts aimed to please, without being overbearing. The Inn offered top notch accomodations in a serene setting, yet was just a hop, skip and a jump away from the hustle of the downtown. Truly a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bus76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The best B&B we have ever stayed at! Trudy and Dave have clearly put their hearts and souls into building this amazing retreat on the bluff overlooking Lake Wisconsin. These warm and gracious hosts make you feel right at home. It was the most relaxing two days we have had in quite a long while.

My husband and I arrived to a very warm welcome and a complimentary wine and cheese hour. We used the time to learn more about the area and meet some of the other guests. We were impressed by the wonderful common areas that invited long conversations as well as quiet reading time.

Trudy makes a fantastic gourmet breakfast which we enjoyed while enjoying the breath-taking view as well as a dozen humming birds. The grounds, including the private trails are amazingly well kept.

The room was spacious, tastefully decorated, and immaculate! We were suprised when we returned from dinner to find chocalates on the bed side table along with the turn-down service. We found ourselves sleeping in late each morning because it was so comfortable and quiet.

The Inn is located close to Devil's Lake which offered some great hiking trails. We have already recommended to several friends and plan to make this a regular get-away destination for years to come.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colts12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Our first stay was in the Bordeaux Room, September 4th, 2005 following our wedding. Most recent stay was September 5-6th, 2010 to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. The immediate family filled all 4 available rooms.

Dave and Trudy are the consummate proprietor/ hosts; you will be hard pressed to find a more capable B&B team. Dave is highly skilled alchemist and local historian shaking up beverages and serving wine and cheese behind a glorious cherry wood bar.

I can't think of a better way to start the morning than Trudy's decadent breakfasts (think Aberge du Soleil of Napa). Sunrises over Lake Wisconsin pair nicely with strawberry filled crepes and coffee. Second course: exquisitely seasoned Frittata al Funghi.

The craftsmanship throughout the B&B is remarkable with inlaid exotic woods creating visual interest in all the floor thresholds as well as hand carved wood pieces throughout the property. Meticulously cleaned and manicured inside and out. The gardens and trails throughout the 42 acre property are simply glorious. If you need a quiet week to recharge, rekindle or regroup...highly recommend. Boardroom and onsite business facilities in the basement of the home would also make a good spot for an exec retreat.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purpetualmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy nature. The views from everywhere are breathtaking. The food is outstanding and is served in a beautiful setting filled with hummingbirds. The hosts are very gracious and accommodating and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksdbrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My wife and I travelled to the Baraboo area to do some hiking. The Inn was a great place to stay. The property is large with very nicely maintained hiking trails. The couple that owns the inn took very good care of us. The room was very comfortable and was kept very well. The location is ideal; close to Devil's Lake and downtown Baraboo. It's also not too far from Wisconsin Dells.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFHoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

One of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed in. The home is inviting, the rooms well appointed and exceptionally clean. The grounds are beautiful, and the common area/living room overlooks the impressive scenery and gardens. The weather wasn't too cooperative the weekend we visited, but there are trails on the property to explore and seating areas to enjoy the outdoors.

Delicious, full breakfast was served in the sun room, and a wine & cheese reception served in the bar in the evening. All of the common rooms (living room, dining room, sun room, and bar) offer a penoramic view of the Wisconsin River valley.

The hosts, Trudy and Dave and friendly, gracious, and attentive. A wonderful home and wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3kids3dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
8.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
7.1 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
7 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
12.7 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Glacier Canyon
11.4 mi away
Motel 6 Lake Delton
Motel 6 Lake Delton
#4 of 11 in Baraboo
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Wawanissee Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Wawanissee Point

Address: E13609 Tower Rd, Baraboo, WI 53913-9654
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Baraboo
Price Range: $279 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Wawanissee Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are passionate about the outdoors or passionate about romance, this is the place for you. Secluded atop the Baraboo Bluffs, adjacent to Devil's Lake State Park, this modern, luxurious B&B offers a mesmerizing 36-mile panorama of the Lake Wisconsin valley and beyond. Get that well deserved hiatus amid country gardens, flowing springs, moss covered private hiking trails, birding and snowshoeing on our 42-acre, wooded estate. Rekindle the romance in four richly appointed guest rooms with private baths, Bluetooth Bose Wave radio, and streaming access. A peaceful, ADULT GETAWAY near numerous attractions and fine eateries. Hearty, gourmet breakfast and robust wine & cheese included daily. See the BEST VIEW IN WISCONSIN on our live webcam and check out our 90sec drone video. Be sure to CALL FOR AVAILABILITY or book on our website. See our guest reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Wawanissee Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing