We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Wawanissee Point
Ranked #1 of 4 Baraboo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Park Ridge
2 reviews
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We have been to numerous bed and breakfast inns in southern Wisconsin (and throughout the U.S), yet our stay at this Inn left a lasting impression. The views from this lovely home were spectacular, the breakfasts delicious, and the hosts most gracious! Both Trudy and Dave made everyone feel welcome, and they appeared genuinely delighted to share their home with us. Their wine and cheese reception provided the perfect setting in which to socialize with them and the other guests. This is an inn that we hope to return to very soon!

  • Liked — Hospitality, views, cleanliness, food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teckeltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
107
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illlinois
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Our first reaction when viewing the Inn was WOW!
Who expected this grand place at the end of a Wisconsin country road? This modern mansion has a European look and feel.
It could also be the setting for a new Woody Allen film.
After two nights, we were still being 'wowed' by the delightful details we continued to discover in the house and on the grounds.
The Inn was built to be a bed and breakfast from the ground up; the grand lobby and evening lounge, the kitchen and breakfast rooms, the work out room and the bedrooms were designed with guests in mind.
A stay here provides an elegant yet relaxed retreat. There are thoughtful touches at every turn: chocolate truffles on your bedside table, a kit of fine toiletries, comfy robes (to wear to a hot tub under the stars), even a pair of binoculars on the breakfast table, for the long view down to a salt lick and Lake Wisconsin.
Dave and Trudy Holdener are ideal hosts, striking a perfect balance between friendliness and reserve. Dave, who has a hospitality industry background, conducts a most congenial cocktail hour from behind his classic, richly burnished bar.
Trudy's hor dIoeuvres, a tasty array of cheeses and home made dips, are a perfect compliment to the fine wines. We imagine most guests will want to schedule their activities, as we did, so as to not miss this very happy hour. Trudy and Dave are both fine storytellers and good listeners.
The room we had (the Secret Garden), an example of Trudy's artistry of interior decoration, was quiet, spacious, and spotless.
The breakfasts (and pre-breakfasts of coffee, fruit, Trudy's home made granola and coffee cake) were some of the best we've ever had. (And we travel a lot.) We felt like royalty beginning our day, thanks to their stellar service.
What a gift the Holderners offer - sharing their wonderful home and land.
We rate this B&B Five Stars and Rising

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamoTso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
racine, wi
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Trudy and Dave were fabulous hosts in an amazing environment. Thanks to the two of them, their guests are privy to the most spectacular view, meticulously manicured grounds, inviting trails and scrumptious breakfasts. We didn't want to leave, and are planning a trip back for snowshoeing!

  • Liked — the view, the hospitality
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2008

My husband and I took a much-needed break from work and parenting for five days of rest and relaxation at this bed and breakfast in Wisconsin. We were absolutely bowled over by the experience. The Inn has everything you could possibly want in a romantic getaway, from warm, welcoming hospitality and sumptuous breakfasts and wine and cheese afternoons to beautiful accomodations in an incredible setting. The Inn sits at the top of the Baraboo Bluffs with a breathtaking view of a vast expanse of trees, wildflowers, Lake Wisconsin and the distant landscape of greater Wisconsin. On a clear day you can see all the way to the Wisconsin state capitol in Madison! The attention to detail is beyond anything we have experienced at a bed and breakfast or hotel. Each room is elegant, warm and private; the innkeepers welcome you and cater to your every need but also give you your space. We planned our afternoons around the 5:30 wine and cheese time, where we sat in their elegant bar area eating delicious appetizers, enjoying easy conversation and gazing at the beautiful view. We can't say enough about this place, and will look forward to returning there in the future because of the place and the people. This is a must-stay, a no-brainer for anyone looking to escape, relax and be pampered. This place is definitely a keeper!

  • Liked — the innkeepers, the food, the space and the views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RubyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake< IL
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2008

My Wife and I saw a green coffee cup with the words, "The Inn At Wawanissee Point" on the desk of a business associate of mine. When I asked him, he said his Wife and her girlfriends had stayed there, and loved it. The name intrigued me, and since we are frequent visitors to Madison - Dells corridor for quick weekend getaways, we looked at the website. While it is a very good site, it was not even close to describing the experience we had with the Holdener family.

We made a reservation last December on my birthday. Finding the Inn in the dark of Winter was a bit of a challenge. We drove up the circular drive, and were welcomed at the beautiful double doors by our host,Trudi Holdener. We were both overwhelmed by the spectacular Christmas decorations throughout the Inn. Our room, the Wigwam or Teepee room had a gorgeous sparkling view of Lake Wisconsin which we discovered the next morning when we woke. In the daylight, we discovered the works of woorworking art both displayed on the walls, and in the actual construction of the floors, walls, and doors of the Inn. As we came to discover, Trudi's Father, "Louie", a 3rd generation Bavarian cabinet maker was the Master Woodworker and Artist. I am a novice woodworker myself, and I sell woodworking tools. I have never seen them used to such a stunning degree!

The Inn at Wawanisse Point has peaceful hiking trails and beautiful grounds. Our next trip to the Inn was in Summer, and we discovered the beautiful rock and plant landscaping that was covered by the snow in our initial visit. We are veteran travelers and habitants of many B&B's across the world. The Inn at Wawanisse Point is the warmest and finest experience we have encountered yet!

  • Liked — Ambiance & Family Feeling
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EddieOCrystalLake_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

This is our third time at the Inn and each time we have loved it! Everything about this B & B is quality. The accommodations are new, beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and extremely comfortable. We loved the wine and cheese reception in the evenings and the gourmet breakfasts! The view from the great room and dining area is breathtaking! You can see Lake Wisconsin in the distance and a panoramic scene for miles! There are hiking/snow shoeing trails on the property, plus Devil's Lake State Park is just one mile away. It's perfectly located near golf courses and the Dells activities as well. And to top it off, the hosts, Dave and Trudy, are warm and gracious and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Really, this is a hidden gem! We will be back!

  • Liked — beautiful accommodations and view
  • Disliked — nothing-loved it all
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabylonSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2008

A few times in your life, you have that rare occasion when you find that perfect place, that perfect atmosphere, that perfect time. We had that experience this past weekend at the Inn at Wawanissee Point in Baraboo WI. Its billed as a B&B, but its so much more. First, there's the view. They say you have a 36-mile southern vista, from the third highest point in Wisconsin. Indeed. But it feels like you can see forever, and the great room with its floor to ceiling window is just breathtaking! Second, there's the Inn. Its a wonderful blend of ultra-modern/contemporary with the down home/antique type feel that makes you feel completely welcome, relaxed and at ease. Third, there are the rooms ~ 4 completely different, perfectly appointed, gorgeous rooms with all the amenities. There's the Bird's Nest, Teepee Room, the Bordeaux Room (with a hot tub right in the center!) and the completely private Secret Garden. We've stayed in all 4 now and they are each in their own right just wonderful. Oh, and did we mention that the entire place is spotless? Talk about attention to detail! Fourth, there's the fare. A fun cocktail party every evening in the cozy lounge and a sumptuous breakfast the next morning are all part of the experience. Finally, there are your hosts. Dave and Trudy are simply the most welcoming, friendliest, nicest people you could possibly meet. You walk in the door upon arrival and immediately feel like you're with family. Dave hosts the cocktail party with lively conversation and Trudy supplies delicious and unique appetizers. Then Trudy cooks and Dave serves the aforementioned sumptuous breakfast in the morning, making you want to stay for days and days.

Whatever the occasion, whatever the season, the Inn at Wawanissee Point is simply spectacular. Yes, it lives up to its billing as The Best View in Wisconsin (www.bestviewinwisconsin.com). But its SO much more!!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kitfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
7.1 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
7.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
1.2 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
15.3 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Wawanissee Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Wawanissee Point

Property: Inn at Wawanissee Point
Address: E13609 Tower Rd, Baraboo, WI 53913-9654
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Wawanissee Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are passionate about the outdoors or passionate about romance, this is the place for you. Secluded atop the Baraboo Bluffs, adjacent to Devil's Lake State Park, this modern, luxurious B&B offers a mesmerizing 36-mile panorama of the Lake Wisconsin valley and beyond. Get that well deserved hiatus amid country gardens, flowing springs, moss covered private hiking trails, birding and snowshoeing on our 42-acre, wooded estate. Rekindle the romance in four richly appointed guest rooms with private baths, Bluetooth Bose Wave radio, and streaming access. A peaceful, ADULT GETAWAY near numerous attractions and fine eateries. Hearty, gourmet breakfast and robust wine & cheese included daily. See the BEST VIEW IN WISCONSIN on our live webcam and check out our 90sec drone video. Be sure to CALL FOR AVAILABILITY or book on our website. See our guest reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Wawanissee Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing