We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A REALLY GOOD STAY!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spinning Wheel Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Baraboo
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A REALLY GOOD STAY!!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This place was well maintained. we had a very nice stay at Spinning Wheel Motel - The service was excellent. Rooms were ready and clean with new sheets. I would recommend my friends and family to stay their for the next trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DharaRokadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
6
12
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crest Hill, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We had a great experience here. Room was very nice and clean. Beds was comfortable and bathroom stocked.Check-in was welcome. The hotel and personnel were excellent.
The location was very good.Convenience of parking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Parker1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

It is hard to write a review of hotel sometimes because everyone's expectation is different. I would say choice for motel / hotel is really up to needs of travel. However, regardless of needs, I would say the one common important thing is cleanliness.

I did not expect much from this place when I made the reservation but if I (male) feel like not taking a shower, it is pretty bad. Well, see my pictures too. This is probably the second worst place I have ever placed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dai0226us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I was in the Dells area for study purpose. I stayed first at the Dell Creek Motel in Lake Delton until the summer season when tourists began to influx back. Most of the local motels and hotels will not accommodate monthly rental during the summer season. Accidentally, I found one in Baraboo, the Spinning Wheel Motel. At first impression from the management, who were a couple from India, I began to think it’s a pleasant area to stay during my studies. Because of the excitement that I finally found a place that would allow me to stay on a long-term rental, unfortunately, I did not initially take a look at the rooms before paying. This was the enormous mistake that I undertook. When they first gave me room number 16, it was by far the most disgusting, filthy, and sickening motel I have ever been too. The entire room, from carpets to the entire bed (including all bed sheets) to window curtains to the entire bathroom smelled like cigarette smoke. Even the chairs and television set (which had a broken screen) smelled like cigarette smoke. I immediately went and bought 3 spray cans of glade air-fresheners and used the entire 3 cans in the room. That helped for about 30 minutes. I then requested new linens and comforter to be replaced. They then switched me to the “best” room available, room 21. Coming from room 16, room 21 was a whole lot cleaner. It still smelled like cigarette smoke, but not as much. I decided to take the room. After inside the room for about 30 minutes, the odor started to slither under my nose. I went to the local Wal-mart and bought 3 of the strongest odor neutralizing Febreeze containers and a Holmes Air Filter. I sprayed down the entire room with the 3 Febreeze containers and turned on the air filter to maximum. It did not help at all. I got really sick with during the night and was sleepless the entire night. My nose was congested, and my eyes were puffed and swollen. I took the entire night to plan out tomorrow’s event and hopefully to find a new place to stay. I found a motel near the Madison area called Americas Best Value Inn. The next day, I checked out the place and immediately to my astonishment on how clean that place was compared to the Spinning Wheel Motel, and I reserved a room. I drove back to the Spinning Wheel Motel to check-out. When the husband of the couple found out that I was checking-out, he was furious. I thought I was going to have to use my martial arts skills to defend myself. He said he gave me the cleanest room available and where else can I get a room for only $184 per week. I told him that Americas Best Value Inn only charges me $700 per month, and it is a great deal cleaner, practically odor-free. Talk about customer service. He by far is the absolute worst manager I have ever dealt with. I initially paid $184.00 for an entire week. They refund $84.00 only even though I only stayed for one night. When I checked out, I did not care if they refund me or not. I just wanted to let them know that I was leaving. I am not sure why the husband was enraged at me. Luckily, over the years as I aged and become wiser, I have learned to suppress my anger. If this was one decade ago, I would probably get arrested because I probably would have kicked the living crap out of the husband, possibly hospitalize him. PLEASE do not stay there. You will be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lee00042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpinningWheel, Owner at Spinning Wheel Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Hi,
First of all, I am really sorry that you have had a bad experience at our motel. I am owner of this motel and as far as I know, nothing in my motel is as bad as you described. Since last summer, The state of Wisconsin has a law that smoking is not permitted in any room in a motel. We tried to keep our motel as clean as possible. We tell our guests not to smoke inside the room but some of our customers don’t listen and they smoke inside anyways. If we find out that they do smoke inside the room, we clean it and make that room odor free.
I asked my manager and found that he gave you all you asked for. He gave you new linens and blanket He also gave you another room. Did you read our cancelation policy? He gave you a refund even though there is a no refund policy.
I will appreciate it if you change your opinion and I will happy to do anything else to make you feel better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Traveled with mother and sisters, stayed in "suite" for 4. Room was not prepared, hot and not furnished with amenities advertised. No fridge, broken lamp, not enough towels for 4 people, and the blinds were broken. Beds very nice, clean but bathroom fixtures old and disrepair. The bathrm could have been cleaner. No continental brkfst, coffee in room, though they did make a pot of coffee for us to pick up. We were told they were leaving at end of week, and new management would come in. We would stay there again, provided things perked up a bit, and they would revamp their policy of working with local police to open up to local displaced people. I see the need, but there seem to be no rules. Hope new management can pull it all together. The last ones were friendly, but very inefficient. I will recommend this to others, and we will stay there again, IF THE INFORMATION GIVEN WHEN RESERVATIONS ARE MADE ACTUALLY ARE THE CONDITIONS MET UPON ARRIVAL.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeCumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2007

I ranked this a 4 within this type of motel and price range. My room was clean and spacious, with a very comfortable bed, lots of hot water and good water pressure. Room had a TV with many channels and a refrigerator and small dining table. New carpeting definitely added to the sense of cleanliness. I will admit that the window didn't latch properly but I felt safe. It was quiet and convenient. And they remembered my wake-up call. I would definitely stay there again if in the area. I was referred to it by a local person I met in town. I paid $40 in mid-September with no reservation.

  • Liked — Price, convenience
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubuque
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2007

very nice and clean room,cus,service very good.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank mike2729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
1.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
2.0 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
1.9 mi away
Campus Inn Motel
Campus Inn Motel
#7 of 10 in Baraboo
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
6.5 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
152 reviews
6.5 mi away
Motel 6 Lake Delton
Motel 6 Lake Delton
#3 of 10 in Baraboo
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinning Wheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinning Wheel Motel

Property: Spinning Wheel Motel
Address: 809 8th St, Hwy 33, Baraboo, WI 53913-1719
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Spinning Wheel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinning Wheel Motel is located in Baraboo, Wisconsin. Very close to the Wisconsin Dells, Ho-Chunk Casino, Circus World Museum, and the Devils Lake Resort! We are also centrally near Cascade Mountain Ski & Snow Board Area and Devils Head Ski Resort. All 25 rooms have a TV with cable, fridge, a microwave and free Wi-Fi internet. Ice machine is located in office. Guests will be treated with free coffee on weekend in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Spinning Wheel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing