We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was lured by the reviews”

Log Cabin Family Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Baraboo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I was lured by the reviews”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

...and made a mistake to go there. Even though I shouldn't expect much from a family restaurant, the dinner was disappointing. We ordered fried cheese curds -they keep them frozen and then deep fry them like in a sports bar. Fresh-squeezed lemonade turned out to taste of chemicals (lemonade mix) and had really artificial yellow color. Then our main course arrived -their signature steak -I ordered medium and got a well done, hard and dry piece of meat. My boyfriend ordered bbq ribs -also dry and meat was not coming off the bone easily, probably they freeze ribs too. Everything tasted very sweet (meat too) and was not edible so we left hungry and later on had stomach problems. After this visit, we officially decided that no matter what we would never go again to a family restaurant. In this case a fast food chain is a safer bet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    100
    38
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Il
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food at The Log Cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the slow cooked turkey dinner. It was like having a Thanksgiving dinner. The turkey was so tender and moist. The stuffing was delicious as well as the mashed potatoes and gravy. It's also served with a cranberry sauce and your choice of a vegetable. There is quite a variety on the menu. They also have delicious pies for dessert. We had the peanut butter cream pie. We've eaten there several times. The food and service have always been great. The price is very reasonable. It always tastes like a homemade meal. They also serve rolls, or each person can get choose a small loaf of warm bread. Our choice that day was a lemon berry bread. The food has always been excellent there. It's a restaurant for the whole family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stopped at the Log Cabin restaurant by chance, after a long day at Devils Lake. I'm so glad we did. Although it was crowded, we were seated immediately. We were very hungry, but we left stuffed. The portions are large and everything is homemade-from the breads, to the gravy. The only bad thing, is that I didn't have room to try the desserts. The place is beautiful, inside and out and although it's quite a drive, I will definitely be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best breakfast place in Baraboo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Come here for lake breakfast and you won't be hungry till dinner! Omelettes and freshly squeezed orange juice are especially recommended. The place is very family friendly and the kids will love the inside decor.

We generally like visiting new places when taking trips, but have bent our rules for the Baraboo area - have driven here from Chicago at least 8 times in the last 12 years. And each time the meal at Log Cabin Restaurant is one of the highlights of our visits.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vlad043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Drove down for breakfast to escape chaos of Dells. Good quality breakfast for good price. Good service. Had to wait for a table, but they handle the crowds and large parties well. I recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Log Cabin Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Log Cabin Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing