We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Side Street Treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jen's Alpine Cafe & Soup Ktchn

Jen's Alpine Cafe & Soup Ktchn
Ranked #11 of 66 Restaurants in Baraboo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Side Street Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Alpine has great soups! The rest of the food is good also. In addition, they are reasonably priced and have a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkoPolo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reedsburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We need more of these places !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place hasn't changed in decades , Great service,good food,good value . The ONLY place in Baraboo to eat .

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Homemade. Breakfast like it used to be...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Went for breakfast 2 times while in the area. Old school diner. Seemed like you stepped back in time. The food was awesome. All homemade items. Not your typical canned corned beef hash, this was the real deal. Great food, good service, a must go place for breakfast at least. Didn't have time to stop in for a lunch. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Not as good as it used to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Being locals, we've been to Jen's several times. Normally we have a good experience, but the last few times there have been issues. Two weeks ago, we went there for Friday night fish fry. For whatever reason, they had closed at 3:00PM that day instead of 8:00PM. My husband and I tried again this evening. The waitress was very unfriendly. The whole time she took our order, she would not look at us. She was too busy watching some other people at a different table. Both of our dinners came with soup or salad, so my husband ordered the french onion soup. If the waitress would have told us that the french onion soup was an extra $3.50 charge, he would have ordered a salad. Instead we ended up paying extra for something that was supposed to come with the meal. We also never got the dinner rolls that came with our meal. Even though there were only 3 other tables with people (2 people each, no large tables), the service was very slow. While the flavor of the food was acceptable, the portions were quite small for the price. Tonight will be our last visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

A great place for breakfast and lunch. The pancakes including the apple pancakes & pecan pancakes are wonderful. Coffee is great. We eat at Jen's Cafe every time we are in the area. The soups are homemade and we have never had a bad dish. Since every dish is made fresh to order, the wait can get a bit long-but it is always worth any wait.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank packslysol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jen's Alpine Cafe & Soup Ktchn also viewed

 

Been to Jen's Alpine Cafe & Soup Ktchn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing