We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Mirror Lake State Park
Ranked #6 of 45 things to do in Baraboo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rented a canoe, traveled all over the lake. No wake, easy travel, beautiful scenery. Well worth the price. Stunning rock formations, good fishing. Bring the bug spray, though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb41969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    60
    22
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rented a pontoon... It poured!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We rented a pontoon for the day on Mirror Lake, through the state park. It was very nice. A little fishing, a little swimming, and we stopped at every sand mound runoff to explore, it was a lot of fun, and saw some neat creatures.
We had a surprise hard down pour, but we mad it back out right away. The boats are very clean, run excellent, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Would definetly go back, very happy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for kayaking”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to kayak. Beautiful and calm, lots of wildlife. I've been here about 5-6 times. The kayak rental people have no personality and are not at all friendly or helpful. I've never had anyone actually help me get a kayak off of the rack or back up on the rack, I guess they don't do that. It is first come first served, so get there early if you go on a weekend. They are a little pricey, but occasionally there is a half off Groupon. The scenery is beautiful, and the lake is usually very calm. A great place to paddle!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flippyWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“RENT A KAYAK!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a gorgeous late spring day on Mirror Lake, thanks to Hunter at Mirror Lake Rentals. He was helpful, friendly, and had a charmingly positive attitude. We rented two double kayaks and one single. The five of us paddled around for three hours and had a marvelous time. Kayaking is not as difficult as one might think after watching the professionals. The boats are very comfortable and stable. We didn't tip over or even almost tip over. Some of the boats have padded seats and drink holders. Our five year old did just fine with the paddling and the lake is very calm and easy to navigate. We saw a variety of wildlife, including turtles, fish, tadpoles and great blue herons. It was quiet, expect for the birds, and not at all crowded. There's a sand beach with a swimming area and restrooms. This experience is highly recommended. (FYI-this attraction is located in a state park and requires a parking sticker, available for purchase at the gate.)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MFam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynette
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cross County Skiing”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great trails for cross country skiing. They do a great job of grooming and have both skating and classic trails. They have a nice range of trails to suit all levels of skiing. We ski here a lot since we are only 45 minutes away.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Needsmoretimeoff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirror Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Mirror Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing