We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed!!”

Jose's Authentic Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Baraboo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are proud to share our authentic Mexican recipes with you. Only the best ingredients are used to ensure your meal is perfection every time. We hope that when it is time for you to leave, you walk away with memories of a wonderful meal, a smile on your face, and a desire to come back again – soon! Jose Louis Parra Vera
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Have always been servered an excellent meal when visiting this restaurant. Recently I tried the Fajita Del Mar, plate arrived filled with large portions of shrimp crap and scallops, had to take half of it home. When ever I have visited Jose's I have never been disappointed. The Burritos Norteno is to die for. Wash everything down with a Mango Margarita,,,

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aurora98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    61
    23
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wish I lived closer; delicious Mexican food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wow. I love this place. The guacamole is perfect, the salsa is excellent, the entrees are crave-worthy. I love the cheese enchilada and the bean burrito, both served with their own delicious sauces. They use Mexican cheeses and don't rely on salt and garlic as the main spices. The menu is large and there are plenty of vegetarian options. The front room is a little quieter than the area near the bar. While the offerings might be seen as typical, as someone else mentioned – it is Mexican, so expect burritos, enchiladas, quesadillas, tacos, etc. – the food quality, selection and combinations are anything but typical. Service is prompt and friendly, and prices are reasonable. I wish I didn't have to drive an hour to get there, but you better believe I will go any time I am in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letrips66
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A typical Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Based on reviews, we decided to try Jose's. We liked the service - people checked in on us consistently and were fun and personable. We thought the salsa was pretty good too. Unfortunately, two of the three entrees were not warm when they were served. And while they were typical Mexican fare, there was nothing special about it. We would go again knowing what to expect, but not expecting anything special.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank letrips66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food Excellent Service”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is by far the best Mexican restaurant I have ever been too. Jose’s is locally owned and the staff is very friendly. You are served chips and salsa while you wait for your meal and the second you run out they refill them without you even having to ask. The menu has lots of choices and the food comes out hot. Your drinks never stay empty because when they become low the staff is there to refill them. If it’s your birthday they sing, clap, put a sombrero on your head, and take your picture. When you enter the restaurant you can see the hundreds of framed photos of customers with sombreros on their heads. The restaurant has a small dining area that is always packed but it all adds to the great atmosphere, and even when the place is packed the food still comes out fast (about 10 to 15 minutes) hot and delicious. If you are looking for a friendly atmosphere with good food and good service Jose’s is for you. One you eat there you will defiantly want to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank madcityjesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hungry for Mexican Food Jose's in Baraboo is the place to go!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We live in Baraboo and we go often to Jose's. Food, drinks and excellent service what more can you ask for. The menu offers lots of options only Mexican food is offered. Jose and his staff go out of their way to give the best service. Tried the other Mexican restaurant and did not enjoy the service they don't even ask if you enjoy their food or if you want anything. The other place just stand around and speak Spanish to each other and ignore their customers. Hungry go to Jose's.
Great food and affordable!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobnPenny59686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose's Authentic Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jose's Authentic Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing