We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend with friends camping” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Oak Campground

Red Oak Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baraboo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Oak Campground
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Weekend with friends camping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The sites are large, the bathrooms are clean, the pool was fun, and the hot showers are nice. Firewood just down the road was a great deal. Would of been a great trip with friends but we had a crabby neighbor that wanted quiet time to start at 7pm. Just sitting around the campfire made them upset. This is by no way the campgrounds fault. Just kind of put a damper on our camping trip. I would however say, this is more of a party campground. We did hear the load music on the other side of the campground, but it was turned down by 11pm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torgy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We are freshly back from the Dells and our camping trip. While it's a great value, it's a poor rule system they have when they cannot enforce them. Several sites away there was a LARGE and LOUD group with music pumping into the wee hours of the morning and SCREAMING, SHOUTING and insanity going on. Their rules state that EACH PERSON would be fined 15.00 after 11 but NOT ONCE was this group spoken too, nor kicked out on the multiple nights we were there. Way to ruin what was supposed to be a great camping trip in the QUIET outdoors.

Room Tip: Site 217 is close to the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichellesCharmWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a terrible experience, We were camping with 8 adults and an infant...We experience loud bass booming until 4 am and pot was being smoked to the point where we could smell it 4 sites away. Supposedly they kick people out and fine them. We never once saw security. We came home tired and our family enjoyed what we could but how sad that the owners think so little of their camp ground. Worst part was we were so happy to see the site it was large and nice..then reality hit..sadly will not return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here with a group of about ten young adults in July 2013. Check-in was fast and the lady at the desk seemed nice. The price is pretty good but not great for camping. In the past I have been to state parks like Devils Lake which is much nicer. But this is a private campground with what appears to be very loose rules. I saw a security person at the front entrance one night but besides that never heard or saw their presence for enforcing rules. The campground itself isn't very pretty or nice, just an area with some grass and trees, not a lot. It is pretty close to the highway so you can hear the traffic noise from there all night. Between that and loud music at other campsites this is not a quiet getaway. But it is very close to the main strip of the dells and only takes few to several minutes to drive there. The bathrooms were decent for a campsite but pretty dirty and not maintained the weekend we were there. The pool looked nice but our group didn't use it. No other amenities besides picnic tables and garbage cans. I prefer campsites that are a little more tucked away in the woods as opposed to these which are out in the open. I would stay here again if that's what the group wanted because of it's price and proximity to the main tourist areas but it would not be my preferred choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smoothrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Read mixed reviews and had concerns. Smooth check- took 5 minutes. Site was a few minutes and close to main office/restroom/pool. I had requested a pull through so options in more wooded sites not available but site was large enough to have some privacy. Security was not very visible as noted but larger groups sites were not close to our location and noise was minimal. Each site had a garbage can- nice touch. Bathroom was large and relatively clean. Did not use pool or other emnities. Overall great value for our group of 4.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huntil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at the campground for a Friday and Saturday night. Emailed Gus to book site 280, which he said would hold up to 15 people depending on size of tents and # of cars. We had 9 people : 5 tents and 4 cars, and could have fit more no problem! Great size. Nice having the 3 large trash bins provided. Only different thing was that there was no fire ring around the fire pit... just a hole in the ground. Bathroom and showers were nice, you can tell they are new. Pool was great. We went into the Dells one of the days and it was much closer than I thought it was going to be. Really enjoyed out stay, would recommend to others, and visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staceyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Many reviews on here talk about lack of security to quiet people down, but this is one of the reasons I love staying here with a group of friends. Private campgrounds are different than State Parks in that security aspect, and if you sit around the fire in a State Park talking after 10:00, you're kicked out, so if you want to be asleep that early, stay at Devil's Lake. If you want to stay up around the fire and not get warnings from a security guard, this is a great place that let's you and your friends enjoy your camping weekend. It is right on Hwy 12 and a short drive to Devil's Lake, so it's fun to camp here and then spend the day at the State Park or in the Dells. I can't speak to any of the sites except the group sites in the far back, but I love those, they're quite private and heavily wooded/shaded. You can fit about 8 tents and 5 cars, a canopy or two, and have a fire going with 15 chairs around it where you can actually stay up talking and laughing after 10pm without being bothered by a security guard. I have been here about 5 times and love it every time. The lady in the office has always been great, and it's only $10 per person per night. There is a pool that looks well kept, although I've never been in there since it's usually crowded, and there's also a basketball court and a volleyball pit, so we had a great time rolling a cooler down to play volleyball with all our friends, met some nice people and played several games against them. They have clean bathroom facilities and free showers, and even from the distant group sites, it's not that far of a walk. I was here on Memorial Day weekend last year and as expected, it was packed and yes, there were a lot of idiots that were too drunk, but that was Memorial Day weekend, so a few sites had a few people out of control. However, if you have a group of 8 - 14 people and want to spend a weekend tent camping on one of the group sites, have drinks and good food and never be bothered, assuming you don't get too out of control, this place will be awesome for you and your friends. I wouldn't recommend it for kids. I wouldn't recommend you pull up with a huge camper and I don't even know if they have water or electrical hook-ups on some of the sites, but if you like tent camping and don't need electricity and water at your site, ask the very kind lady in the office for one of the back group sites, they're the best. Every time I want to camp in Baraboo with a group of friends, I always go Red Oaks.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
13 Thank kf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
0.3 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn
0.2 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#20 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Oak Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Oak Campground

Property: Red Oak Campground
Address: S 2350 Highway 12, Baraboo, WI 53913
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Baraboo
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Red Oak Campground Hotel Baraboo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing