We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something For Everyone To Do”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baraboo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baraboo Hills Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2010

My family and I are repeat visitors to this campground for a variety of reasons. The staff at this campground is friendly and very helpful and the campground itself offers a load of activities for everyone. My kids sleep well at night after a day filled with mini golf, the skate part, pedal carts, jumping pillow, spaceball, arcade, swimming pond, etc. Our weekends there are just very relaxing and enjoyable after a long week at work. They also offer special themed activities that change each weekend. We look forward to taking a break and getting away from the hustle and bustle when we plan our camping weekends at Baraboo Hills.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomOfBoyz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 80 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2010

I would highly recommend this family friendly campground to everyone who has children! Very knowledgable and caring/friendly staff. You can eat off of the floor of their bathrooms. The activities (jumping pillow, spaceball, mini golf, fun bicycles, swimming pond with beach and heated pool) and including the themed weekends and planned activities are enough so you do not have to leave the facility if you don't want the hustle and bustle of the crowded Wisconsin Dells attractions. The prices are high but that is to keep the rif raf out of the private park and the security down to a minimum. Highly recommend it !

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreggerWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Reservations were made for a three night stay understanding that two nights would be in a deluxe cabin and the third in a basic unit. We have two young children and anyone who understands the needs of a 7 year old and a 2 1/2 year old will see the reason for the frustration.

Not truly knowing the layout of the facility we made the reservations hoping that when we arrived at Baraboo there might be an opportunity to stay in the deluxe cabin for the third night. We were advised on arrival that staying in the deluxe was not possible because of bookings. We were told that we would have to move to the basic unit and were given the number of the basic cabin. The next day we checked out the location of the basic and realized that we were moving from the quiet area of the deluxe to a basic unit right next to the play ground and center of other activities. It just didn't make sense that we stay two nights in a unit that meets the needs of the family and then pack up our stuff and move to a unit that would have been uncomfortable for us and just unpack-sleep and repack to leave. We asked to cancel the final night and were met with the most negative response and attitude from the manager.

We didn't even want a refund for the cancelled night, just a credit for a return trip next year. The manager's customer service skills made an otherwise great experience come to an abrupt negative end. A follow-up call to the manager met with additional negative customer service skills; even to the point were the manager was told that this will prevent our family from returning next year and her response "don't threaten me-you can threaten me all you want."

When we first arrived and spent the first day there we were already looking to next year to have several family members meet us there for a three to five day camping trip. That will not happen and our hope is that this message will prevent other families from having there vacations that are suppose to be stress free happen.

It's not about the money-Its about the way the manager handled the situation.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
5  Thank Family4Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2004

We just returned from our first trip to the Dells, and had a great time. We highly recommend Baraboo Hills Campgroung in Baraboo. The camping Cabins were great....clean, easily accomindating the 5 of us. Bathrooms and showers were keep clean. Heated pool, pee wee golf, bikers, basketballs, baseballs & mitts, volleyball, horseshoes....all at no charge. It's only 10 minutes from the Dells, and better yet only minutes from Wal-Mart for the camping items your forgot at home! We hope to go back next summer.

11  Thank jjlafink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2004

This is a very nice campground for families with children. The wooded and separate sites are great for privacy-seekers (and a welcome break from the sardine-like lots of many campgrounds). There are many activities for the kids, almost all free with the site.

It's about 10 miles from the Dells, but that's a blessing to be far away from the madness downtown and the noise of the interstate.

If you're into bicycling, there's a great ride through the town of Baraboo and around Devils Lake. Be ready for some hills.

The wooded sites have some necessary drawbacks. They don't dry out well, so be careful when parking your big rig after a few days of rain. And bring DEET for those pesky mosquitoes.

All in all, this is a really nice campground.

11  Thank N0t_a_C0wb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baraboo hotels
3.3 mi away
Fox Hill RV Park & Campground
1.7 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
1.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Motel 6 Lake Delton
Motel 6 Lake Delton
#4 of 11 in Baraboo
118 reviews
3.7 mi away
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Thunderbird Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Baraboo
45 reviews
3.6 mi away
Spinning Wheel Motel
Spinning Wheel Motel
#7 of 11 in Baraboo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baraboo Hills Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraboo Hills Campground

Address: E10545 Terrytown Rd, Baraboo, WI 53913-8972
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Baraboo
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Baraboo Hills Campground Hotel Baraboo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing