We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of Pewit's Nest Gorge

Pewit's Nest Gorge
Ranked #9 of 41 things to do in Baraboo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Worth the trip to visit this beautiful area. We were lucky enough to go when there were very few people, and because this area is not highly advertised, I cannot imagine it would ever be really crowded. Pleasant and beautiful!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank remmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    39
    8
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful but BE CAREFUL!!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beautiful little slot canyon but while we were there, a woman slipped from the top, fell into Skillet Creek at the bottom and had to be gurneyed out and choppered to a hospital in Madison. BE CAREFUL people! It's beautiful in there but darn slippery due to always being damp/slick.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage,WI
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Senery, we love being here!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place is a hidden gem. We love being outside, when a co-worker told me about this place.....we go all the time! It is great for photography, walks, watching crazy kids jump off the cliffs into a water hole, swimming, it has two little waterfalls one you can go behind. Fun!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ronna1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscoda, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Un-Glaciated Wisconsin”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This place is hard to find, if you ask a local for directions refer to the place as Pee-wees nest, no local will know what you mean if you say Pewit's nest.

Pee-wee's is a tiny glen in a remnant of one of the earth's oldest mountain ranges - The Baraboo range.

It is located west of Baraboo (turn west off hiway 12 @ the Wal-mart).

For much easier access to similar scenery on a grand scale visit Devil's Lake State Park, the crown jewel of WI parks, within 10 miles of Pee-wees nest.

Helpful?
3 Thank LtObvious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden park”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was just country road driving and noticed some cars at the unmarked trail head and on the return pulled in to check it out. We took the lower trail and found the waterfall and the stream. It was a lovely nook of nature and had I brought other shoes I would have wandered deeper.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank forestcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pewit's Nest Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Pewit's Nest Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing