We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Wyndham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Glacier Canyon
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Baraboo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dubuque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time at the Wyndham”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We took our 3-year old twins to the Wyndham Glacier Canyon lodge last weekend. Overall it was a great experience- a little crowded due to Spring break. Our room was great! Fantastic view from the deck, and what a bonus having a washer/dryer, dishwasher, plates, utensils, etc. The indoor skywalk to the Wilderness Waterparks is not that far of a walk, as some people have complained about this in the past. I'd recommend the Cubby's Cove for little ones under 3, smaller waterpark and a manageable crowd. Sales pitch right at check-in was pretty annoying- even when it was clear that we were not interested (both my kids were crying/irritable from the car ride) the saleswoman persisted in her pitch. Overall great experience, will go back again!

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floor rooms are ideal- less noise/traffic in the hallways!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinK3954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    49
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
129
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
628 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We have stayed at the Wilderness, Glacier Canyon and the Wyndham section of Glacier Canyon. Our most recent visit was the Wyndham section. I will focus on comparing the regular Glacier Canyon to the Wyndham section of Glacier Canyon.

The Wyndham GC section is a tad bit fancier. Wyndham GC has wider halls with nice lighting and fancier furnishings within the room itself. Wyndham GC also has a washer & dryer. The regular GC has a more woodsy feel. We loved the murphy bed & bunk bed in the GC room. The Wyndham beds were fine, equal to the regular GC. The Wyndham room was very clean. The pillow were top notch. Our rooms were 15 minutes from the waterpark. (8212 & 8214) They were the farthest end rooms possible. I suggest asking to be on the closest end to the waterpark. Even with this it is still a long walk.

The customer service at the regular GC was much friendlier than that of the Wyndham.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MinnesotaRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed in the 3 bedroom/2 bath resort, rented off craiglist.I was a little leary of doing it that way, but it all worked out. Explanation at check in could of been better, we were not explained to us that we had to wash our own towels to get extras, that the resort did not supply more. We had 9 people in our resort and probley only 9 towels total were provided. Information was not provided to help make our stay a little more understandable. Staff at Check in was way friendly... Explained time share, but we did not go for their presentation. This resort is very spread out. 3 seperate waterparks. Nice bonus was free shuttle to their restaurants! I would stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kt1980_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I love this place. My family and I come here at least once a year if not more, normally always in the off season. This year we scored a sweet deal over Christmas week through a Wyndham owner who was renting his unit out last minuet. I have Rented many of these units, I have also done a 3 bedroom Deluxe room that I have wrote a review on as well.
You can find many people on Craigslist and Ebay who rent these units out, but let me give some advice on this make sure you can use pay pal as that is the common form of payment for these transaction, if you don't know the person and its your first time going through someone give half down then after you call the resort to confirm reservations made in your name give other half, I have never been scammed before going through TS owners for Glacier canyon.

Wyndham Glacier Canyon is different then Glacier Canyon Lodge and so you are well aware this review is NOT for a glacier canyon lodge (they are owned by wilderness not Wyndham).

Room: The rooms are immaculate, when you walk in your mouth will drop, especially if its a presidential suite, these places are nicer then my house, I could live here all year long if only I could afford it :-) They have beautiful hardwood floors, high vaulted ceilings lined with wood. They also have a large kitchen with stainless steal appliances, marble counter tops, they have all the amenities you would need to cook with. There is a lovely fire place in living area, the furniture makes you feel like your filthy rich :-) Like a king you sit at this huge wooden table with these chairs that are way way big. One room is a master suite with a nice king size bed and a white jacuzzi tub. The tub will clean itself 15 minuets after use for 1 minuet making loud annoying sound, so if you plan to use it at night so you don't have a heart attack remember it will make lots of noise so best to use not to late at night. The shower is also huge...lets just say the whole thing about the room is huge, even the doorways are like 3 feet higher then my husband who is 6' tall. the other room has two queen beds and its own bathroom too....you wont be disappointed.

You do get free water park passes too.
They have a kids club for the kids with bingo and other craft related things. Wilderness also has a kids club which Wyndham guest are welcome to use.
They have a list of games and movies which are available on a first come first serve basis for Wyndham guests, you check them out free and when you bring them back 1 at a time no more then one item at a time then you can get another one...that is a nice feature.

Walmart is about 5 minuets away.

Suggestions on things to bring
Some type of cleaner for the kitchen as they have nothing to clean with except water and soap...I bring Clorox wipes
If you want to bring like a electric skillet and maybe a electric pan if you plan on making big meals for your group as they only have 1 of each type of pot or pan and nothing like that.
games from home as they do have a dry park that is like a huge play indoor McDonald for the kids and they have chairs and tables and often times we like to play cards while the kids go play.

they do have hair dryers in the room to so no need for those

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caramelnsilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had a fantastic time staying here. As owners we had some points to blow before the year was up and decided we would stay in a Presidential. We spent three nights here and enjoyed the place completely. That is not to say the stay was without issues. The place was dirty. Dog hair in a pet free building was strike one. Strike two was actually out of Wyndhams control; they only had two watermarks open during he day.....which was more than enough as the place was dead. Unfortunately they decided to do repairs to the Hurricane while they had the park open causing a noxious fume to stay in the park. My wide and kids got headaches from the smell. The workers were wearing venilation masks when they exited the slide.....I asked a worker is this smell safe? I got the shrug of the shoulders! Nuff said we were done at the pool. The indoor playground saved the day and prevented the strike out. I will try it agin someday, probsby just in a regular unit as I was not at ll impressed by the presidential!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4babygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We've stayed at the Wyndham Glacier Canyon at the Wilderness twice- in two and three bed room units. The resort is wonderful- so much to do and so many conveniences built in- like the shuttle bus that drives you from the door to the waterparks. The rooms are spacious and have all the amentities you need. Not always the cleanest though. The carpets badly need cleaning. I want to take the master bathroom home with me- it is beautiful and the kids love seeing how high they can get the bubbles in the whirlpool to go. We'll be back- might make it a winter and spring trip annually.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is a very nice facility and definately has more options for indoor waterparks in comparison to other indoor water parks in the region. Provided they have most of the indoor waterparks open...they open more waterparks depending on the volume of guests they have. There is plenty to do we happened to be there before Halloween and they even had trck or treat stations set up. What I like is that there are tunnels to get everything you need to get to so if you like to walk - you will get it here. There is horseback riding, trail rides, the Canyon is great. The only negative is the food is expensive at most of the places on site. They do have a pass that you can buy for around $17 and you get to try many of their extra actitivies one time lazer tag, 3D golf, hauted house, the mirror maze. We bought the coolest Angry Bird hat at the gift shop...cost a little more than the others but has definately been a conversation item since leaving the resort.

  • Liked — Temparture for the waterparks was great.
  • Disliked — Price of some of the food.
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delrio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
0.1 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#15 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
864 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#13 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
660 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
898 reviews
1.0 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#12 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Glacier Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Glacier Canyon

Property: Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Glacier Canyon
Address: 45 Hillman Road, Baraboo, WI 53913
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Glacier Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Glacier Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At Glacier Canyon Hotel Baraboo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing