We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Yep it is a barn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Farm Kitchen

The Farm Kitchen
Ranked #41 of 63 Restaurants in Baraboo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yep it is a barn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Dont get turned off by the red barn. This is a hidden gem. Parking can be a pain sometimes because the locals keep coming back. At the end of the day that is a good sign though.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cazenovia, WI
1 review
“Heavens NO!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We moved to the Wisconsin from the east coast 12 years ago and love its people and landscape. Its food however is always a challenge for those of us who love fresh vegetables, gently prepared meats and healthy eating (my husband is a chef). We understand that this area loves fried cheese in any form, that the average Wisconsinite hasn't met a cream based soup it doesn't love and have developed a sense of humor about many of the items even the best of restaurants feature.

While the Baraboo area can be an especially difficult place for a vacationing family to find a good family restaurant, we do have some options that are reasonable but this "buffet" is bottom of the barrel and not worth the higher prices it charges.

We were shopping in Baraboo and rather than waiting to get home (outside Reedsburg) we decided to try something new in the area. The Farm Kitchen is currently advertising 2 for 1 evening buffet so we went in during a weekday lunch to check it out in advance of trying it for an evening meal. Although the restaurant was only moderately seated the tables were so slammed together it was uncomfortable. The wheelchair ramp had a 4-top sitting immediately at its base (!), very shocking in that ramps are regulated for movement and uncomfortable for everyone as people in the larger dining room were forced to climb over the men sitting there to get to the buffet.

The buffet was an embarrassment: Dumplings of flour and water with no flavor; chicken simmering in over-salted "gravy" with mushy peas; dry, flavorless cod; portobello mushrooms stuffed with dried bacon bits and mealy cheese; baked chicken in a greasy "sauce" and, to finish this horror: Instant mashed potatoes and runny chicken, well, maybe/gravy.

Clearly this is a popular place given its proximity to Devil's Lake State Park but honestly, why other than people not knowing their options? If you are a family try the Log Cabin; not great but much better than this place. A couple? Try the Broadway Diner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No lame ducks in that barn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were force to abandon our campfire dinner when a thunderstorm rolled in while we were camping a Devil’s Lake State Park. We found the Farm Restaurant just down the road. We were skeptical about eating in a barn, but the parking lot was full (a good sign.) The variety of food was amazing. Even my teenaged picky eater was pleased. The staff was friendly and the food came quickly. We were quite pleased.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Grim at best”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just outside Devil's Lake this place looks friendly from the outside but the inside was very dirty. The floor heater along the outer wall was filthy as well as the carpeting just dark with dirt. They offer a buffet but we chose to order off the menu. The plate with the garlic toast had a large black grease stain that the toast covered up. Grossed out we asked for the check within 4 bites of the food. The waitress didn't ask if there was a reason we were leaving full plates. We got out of there very quickly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank forestcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy food, Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We choose the Farm Kitchen based on the recommendation on the owners of the Willowood Inn. When we first walked in I was worried. The place was empty and it could use a new coat of paint on the inside. But the service was great and the food was better. Our waiter was unflappable even when our over tired toddler started acting up. We will visit there again next time we are in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SpazPantzMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Farm Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing