We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds are better than the Best Western.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Baraboo
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
560 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Beds are better than the Best Western.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We've now stayed at the Clarion and the Best Western in Baraboo. We prefer the Clarion. The beds at the Clarion are much better. It also seemed to have been updated more recently, and it seemed cleaner. The Clarion is a good choice in Baraboo.

The hotel is located close to restaurants and stores. Devils Lake State Park is maybe 5 miles away. There is an attached restaurant. The room we had did not have a mini fridge or micro-wave. The staff was ok. There were no big negatives. If you want a quieter room ask for something in the back or rear of the hotel. When we go back to Baraboo, the Clarion will be our first choice.

Room Tip: Again, for a quieter room ask for one in the back or rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photoguywisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    73
    56
    20
    11
See reviews for
65
63
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
368 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went up for a week-end tour with the car club. This was a good place to stay because they would allow pets (of course for an extra fee). Parking was more than adequate and room was clean. Attached restaurant was decent and you could get a reduced cost meal (breakfast) with your room.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a microwave and refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PROF_CONSULTANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Indiana
Level Contributor
190 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel has about all the amenities you would desire in hotel truthfully. It is on a main thoroughfare, has a restaurant, close to other restaurants, bars, gas stations, pharmacies and banks. The main entrance was difficult to get out of because of traffic, had to turn right and do a U turn. Later I discovered the road behind the hotel was much easier to use to get in and out of the parking lot. The main reason I wouldn't stay here again would be their no guns or weapons allowed policy. Its a matter of principal I guess as a hunter/sportsman. My stay was fine, I wasn't hunting on this visit, but I remember things like this, and I do travel a bit to hunt.

Check in was easy, no problems, I called the day before and made reservations. We stayed in room #115, it was on the lower level, non smoking like all their rooms. This room was just around the corner, 2 rooms in from the door. Vending machines and ice were at the entrance. The bathroom and the toilet in general seemed a little small. The light in the bathroom was slow to come on, but not a big deal. The tub drained slow as well. On a bright note, good water pressure, and plenty of hot water when we needed. There was a bit of paint peeling in the corner of the bathroom, and some rust and water stains on the drop ceiling in the bathroom as well, but this really didn't effect the stay in any way.

The main room was fine, had two queen beds, a nice flat screen tv, small desk/table to sit at, a chair with ottoman, and a closet like thing with full length mirrors, the down side to closet thing is that the air conditioner is partially blocked by it. We didn't notice much noise from other patrons until the morning when a dog was barking from a room across the hall and down one door. The hotel is pet friendly, but not gun friendly. They did have wifi, it worked fine, but I didn't understand why the front desk personnel didn't give me the password and instructions upon checking in. I had to call front desk once I got into the room to get this information. As long as you aren't on hunting trip in Baraboo, WI this isn't a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3duckdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I just returned from a conference and spent 3 nights in Baraboo. The first night I did not stay at the Clarion because an earlier review described strong smells from room cleaners or fresheners, I came to the Clarion the second night because the smoke in the hotel hallways at Ho-Chunk was awful. We also had constant milder smoke smell in the hotel room (see that review which gives more detail including efforts by the hotel to help). I never experienced any problem at the Clarion from odors/scents. And my asthma makes me very susceptible to these..Maybe the earlier reviewer's room was near the pool and experienced chlorine smells (I don't know this exists) but I wasn't aware of anything in my room. The staff at the Clarion was very friendly, although somewhat inexperienced. They had a great recommendation for a good restaurant. I will definitely stay at this hotel if I return to Baraboo.

Room Tip: The last day we found out that they allow pets so ask to have a pet free room if you're allergic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie33945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked and stayed the past weekend in the family suite. We shared the room with our family. We had 4 adults and three young children. The suite has two rooms with a king bed in one and a queen with sofa sleeper in the other. It worked very well for sleeping arrangements. We liked having a tv in each room. Would have preferred two bathrooms but the one was spacious and worked for us. It was a quiet stay. We had other family members also staying there. We were close to all the events we had planned together. The only recommendation is that the pool seemed to have too many chemicals. Our youngsters were affected by it and some adults could feel the effects in the air. The pool and hot tub area was clean and well lit with plenty of towels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
444 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

As a corporate 100 night a year traveler I use a pretty strict review system. Check in was ok, 1 person working the desk and phones at peak check in 6:00 pm. Had reserved the standard 2 bed room and was never offered any upgrades even though I am a gold member. Was actually given a room 1 door away from the swimming pool and behind the elavator. I can only think of how many families asked to be close to the pool and were placed elsewhere, I was going to call down and ask for another room but the phone did not work....Room was nice size, T.V. was a 32" flat panel, bed was ok, room was clean and air conditioner was located behind the closet so it took forever to cool off. Overall rating 6.5

Room Tip: I usually ask for a upper floor end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIOUXFANFOREVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a very good experience at this hotel. The staff were extremely polite and the room was very clean. We got the suite for 3 adults and one 3 year old and it worked out perfectly--there's a queen bed in the main room, where my mom slept, and my husband and I had the double bed in the other room, where our son slept on the pull out couch. We didn't go to the restaurant. The hotel is in a great location for the North Freedom Railway Museum and for the International Crane Foundation, and is a quick drive from downtown Baraboo. The rooms have window AC, and the units are noisy but functional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIBigH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
0.1 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
3.6 mi away
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
8.1 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Campus Inn Motel
Campus Inn Motel
#7 of 10 in Baraboo
39 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
867 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#17 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 626 W Pine St, Baraboo, WI 53913-1039 (Formerly Park Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Baraboo
Park Plaza Baraboo
Baraboo Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing