We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as impressed as I thought I was going to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Baraboo
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for two night on the first weekend of May. We rented a large two bedroom suite so the kids could have their own room. The room was nice and big and had a very large hot tub that separated the two bedrooms. The pool on the 4th floor was very nice and had a nice overlook of the town. Now for the things that were not so good. Both the vanity by the front door and the bath tub had very slow drains. We had to wait for a good 10 min between showers for the water to drain. I suspect they were clogged with hair but I was not about to open them and find out. The other big issue I had was our room was skipped for maid service after the first night. We left for a few hours in the morning expecting our room to be mad up and our towels replaced. When we arrived none of this had happened. I called down to the front desk and they said they would send someone up but by this time I figured what was the point. I just had them give us fresh towels and sent the person on their way. This was very disappointing. Overall the value and location were good and even the restaurant was decent and I would probably stay there again

Room Tip: The two bedroom unit is a great value if you have 4 or more people traveling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aguilara01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 209 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here during a hunting trip near devils lake state park. We typically stay in the Dells but decided we wanted to be a little closer to the hunting land. This hotel was very nice and much cheaper than the hotels in the Dells. Its close enough to the casino and even the Dells that it would be convenient to stay here if the Dells is your destination. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom is TINY but that's typical of hotels. You do get breakfast coupons but we didn't use them. One thing that was really great for us was how quiet it was, granted we did stay during the week but there were lots of other guests and we heard no one all week. The pool area was nice, we were the only ones in there and the hot tub is quiet large. The pool is on the 4th floor and the hallway does smell of chlorine (so try to get a room on a different floor). Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

A real surprise for us - we stayed here because the normal 2-hr drive from here to home looked bad from snow and ice - delightfully surprised and will definitely do this again when travel gets late. The restaurant (Glacier Rock) seems to be "affiliated", not a part of the hotel, so breakfast was either Continental (free) or sit-down ($4 off per person).....that said, it was extremely pleasant, with a terrific waitress and oversize plates that were most welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClearWater62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at your hotel April 6 th , 2013 . We enjoyed every minute of our stay . LOVED THE POOL .
The hotel staff , the bartenders , the waiters , every treated us royally .
The shoppes in the cute town of Baraboo, well , a womans shopping dream .
Many antique stores , great shoe store , loved the music store , every where we went
we truly enjoyed

We will be coming back this summer to stay and experience Devils Lake Campground .

Thank you for being made to feel very special as a hotel guest .

Sincerely , Mary

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meverc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. We stayed five nights this time and the staff was very nice. It is clean and in a good location. The rooms are a good size. The decor is a little tired, but overall the hotel is in good repair. I was not impressed by the breakfast. They served boxed pastries, oranges, and instant oatmeal. I expected more because they serve it in the attached restaurant. On the weekend they do give you a voucher for a few dollars off the restaurant breakfast, but not during the week.

The hotel was also a quiet place to stay unless you are on the bar side on the weekend. The patrons from the bar hang out behind it smoking and talking loudly.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter on the side away from the bar on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4boys2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My room was clean and hotel staff friendly. The continental breakfast had amazing-looking doughnuts (that I did not dare touch) and there were calorie-conscious alternatives available as well. They had a work-out room, it was on the small side but the treadmills were nice ones. If I were in the area again for business I might stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed 1 night 1/20/13. The room was very clean as was the hotel itself. We were in a first floor room but was not bothered by noise from above. The continental breakfast served in the restaurant was more than ample. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arlenet36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
0.1 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
3.6 mi away
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Campus Inn Motel
Campus Inn Motel
#8 of 11 in Baraboo
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
158 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
981 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#27 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 626 W Pine St, Baraboo, WI 53913-1039 (Formerly Park Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range: $56 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Baraboo
Park Plaza Baraboo
Baraboo Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing