We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Baraboo
Alexander City, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. We stayed five nights this time and the staff was very nice. It is clean and in a good location. The rooms are a good size. The decor is a little tired, but overall the hotel is in good repair. I was not impressed by the breakfast. They served boxed pastries, oranges, and instant oatmeal. I expected more because they serve it in the attached restaurant. On the weekend they do give you a voucher for a few dollars off the restaurant breakfast, but not during the week.

The hotel was also a quiet place to stay unless you are on the bar side on the weekend. The patrons from the bar hang out behind it smoking and talking loudly.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter on the side away from the bar on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4boys2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    74
    61
    20
    12
See reviews for
70
65
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My room was clean and hotel staff friendly. The continental breakfast had amazing-looking doughnuts (that I did not dare touch) and there were calorie-conscious alternatives available as well. They had a work-out room, it was on the small side but the treadmills were nice ones. If I were in the area again for business I might stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Lake, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed 1 night 1/20/13. The room was very clean as was the hotel itself. We were in a first floor room but was not bothered by noise from above. The continental breakfast served in the restaurant was more than ample. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlenet36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Booked a room for new years eve 2013. When we arrived we had asked the girl at the desk named Sara some questions about the shuttles from the casino. She then became flustered and brought someone else up to help us. Then throughout the process of checking in she did nothing but give me and my fiance dirty looks and alot of eye rolling. when we finally got into our room it didn't even have a fridge. for $122.00 a night i would have thought at least we would have a fridge in the room. that ended up being an extra $5.00 charge. i mean even motel 8 gives you fridges in the room for $80.00 a night. When it became time to go downstairs to wait for our driver, i continued to recieve dirty looks and stares from the little girl behind the counter. to me it's very unprofessional. Needless to say i will NEVER EVER spend my money at the clarion hotel in baraboo ever again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baraboo hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I booked 3 months in advance- when I got thre thy had only 2 nights rserved, not 3. The bar and restaurant( one of the reasons I booked ther) was closed for 2 of the 3 days. The casino was closed 1 day( first time ever) The elevator was broken 2 days. The outside door key wouldnt open th door whre our room was- had to walk around the building in 15 degree temp. The outside sign advertised heated pool was ice water. Steam room was broken. Breakfast was NASTY- dried up rolls. Hotel is outdated. Showr pol in bathroom was broken- so all the water went on the floor. Screaming kids down the room floors at 8am. Trip I expected wasnt up to what I expected- only vacation in a year. Staff wasnt very good or caring. Okay for a over nite stay.

Room Tip: dont get a room by the elevator- its loud and I was woken 2 of the 3 days at 8am
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karyn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I booked this hotel online at a low rate and was impressed with what we got. There is a good restaurant and a nice pool/hot tub area and the room was nice. Also can't go wrong with free breakfast. We stayed because it was near Devil's Head and a much better price than staying at the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is an older facility, but very well maintained. Everything is very clean and the service is good. The location, just off of Rt. 12 is a short distance from the Wisconsin Dells. If you need something more elaborate, and certainly more expensive, go to the Dells. However, the Clarion is more than adequate and has a very nice swimming pool. There is a complimentary continental breakfast with a hot breakfast option on the weekend. Rates probably go up in the summer.

Room Tip: All rooms are non-smoking, so that is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentucky1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
0.1 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
3.6 mi away
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
8.1 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Campus Inn Motel
Campus Inn Motel
#8 of 11 in Baraboo
42 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
931 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 626 W Pine St, Baraboo, WI 53913-1039 (Formerly Park Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Baraboo
Park Plaza Baraboo
Baraboo Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing