We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall colors- awesome!”

Devil's Lake State Park
Ranked #1 of 41 things to do in Baraboo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Devil's Lake has great hiking trails.
Wales, WI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fall colors- awesome!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The park is clean and there are many types of trails to walk and enjoy the scenery. We chose to walk up the bluffs and it was very challenging, but fun. The fall colors are amazing right now.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    726
    168
    21
    4
    2
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Just got back and decided to drop a line about my weekend. Simply amazing! Beautiful park, it's definitely worth the visit. Make sure you hike all the way to the top. Amazing view!

Helpful?
Thank ana_van_pelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great place for holiday weekend. This is the one of the best park near madison wi for a family get together. Recent trip I was there for trekking and swim

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mssrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome hiking!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stop at the park office and you will receive a guide park with your registration and do a self auto tour if you only have a day to spend in the park. We drove to the nearest pathways and then hiked to the point of interest and still hiked at least 5-6 miles. When we came to the east side we unloaded bikes and biked around the lake, then loaded up and drone to the ccc trailhead. We spent a couple hours hiking up the rocks...if you are scared of heights don't look down or go prepared to hike out a different trail! The views are well worth the climb, the sky was perfectly blue and the lake sparkled! Was hoping to see an eagle but settled for a black squirrel instead! The combo drive, hike and bike took us about 5 hours. Was too windy to enjoy kayaking. Would like to come back and mountain bike the Iceland trail.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Legeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is one of those gems any time of the year. The hiking trails are endless. The facilities and grounds are very clean and well-maintained. Climbing to the top of the bluffs and walking along the trails is a must. We would make the drive from Milwaukee / Racine and it was worth every minute of driving. Fall is probably the best time of year just when the leaves are beginning to change. The weather is just warm enough that you don't need a jacket but cool enough so you're not sweating. Enjoy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing