We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Worth the visit if you are in the area. Great Circus Memorabilia!

A wonderful history of Circus's from the late 1880s on. Many exhibits, examples of shows, and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Greg P
,
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Very well run

Very clean inside both inside and outside exhibits the circus wagons are wonderful I highly... read more

Reviewed January 16, 2019
mem1957
via mobile
Read all 597 reviews
  
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveler rating
359
177
39
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
359
177
39
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big top magic show elephant ride ringling brothers pony rides all ages winter quarters animal acts face painting wisconsin historical society live shows merry go round cotton candy big tent off season great history wagon tour
Filter
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 597 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This has been an annual stop on our annual trip to the Wisconsin Dells. This year we went to the Tristin Crist Magic Show. It was wonderful. Tristin is very good and he is funny. Children of all ages were in the audience and all seemed to be having a great time.

The Circus is held twice a day and is great. Great way to introduce a small child to a circus. One ring and lots of talent. You can easily spend a whole day here with all the activities.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

great day in the heat at circus world. All staff was super nice. I just wish we could have seen all the acts. The 92 degree heat drug us back to our hotel.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stopped there in late August 2013. Not busy as many kids back to school, made for more intimate visit but did miss some of the excitement that a crowd in a circus environment would capture.

Saw the magic show with Tristan Crist. Loved it - especially his jokes which are time worn but delivered in such a way that you feel it fits perfectly with the magic acts. Don't miss this. Also saw the big top acts - The Afghan dogs, the human rubber band, the "trampoline" act, the clown, the family unicyclists, and of course the elephants. Each act was unique in its own way, but all were done with love and professionalism. Many of the performers doubled in some of the other acts, and are clearly very talented. A tremendous counter-point to the You-tube world in its simplicity and elegance. Tremendous.

The grounds are smallish and therefore one can see most everything in 4 or so hours - in between shows visit the wagon barns and such. You will feel like you have been brought back to a different time and place and leave with a smile on your face.

Well done.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank pc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stopped in Baraboo to break up a long drive to our fishing lodge and thought we would see Circus World. As it is near the Dells, I thought it might be a plastic, kitschy version of American circus history. Boy, was I wrong. This is the real deal. This was the actual winter home of the Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey Circus in the heyday of all the great circuses. Two-thirds of the world;'s historic circus wagons are housed here in one great building. The gift shop actually occupies the old camel barn. Another large building holds spectacular, truly spectacular, circus posters, with grand scale drawings and vivid colors. My husband, a professor of art, says that posters are the ignored gems of popular art, and nowhere more than here. There are lots of things for kids to ride, and a big tent show that is very entertaining, but you almost have to be an adult to appreciate the history here.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank MariannenJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have lived in Wisconsin for 20 years and have never visited Circus World Museum. We are glad we finally took a day trip there! Such great history and my husband remembered the wagons from when the Great Circus Parade was in Milwaukee. We took our 21, 18 and 13 year olds with us and they all enjoyed. There's a fund illusionist (magic show) and a great one ring hour-long circus! So much rich history from the early days when the circus was brought to town via the train. We spent about 4 hours, which was about the right amount of time.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank mrscold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews