We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Shrimps!”
Review of Coyote Roadhouse

Coyote Roadhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
TINLEY PARK
Level Contributor
244 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Fantastic Shrimps!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Been driving right by this place for over 33 years---finally tried it last week. My wife had the best shrimps of her life, and we have dined in Florida at hundreds of restaurants on our 40 vacations over the years. They are very large, lightly hand-breaded & deep-fried to perfection. I had the Jambalaya that was to die for---just as good as any to be found in NOLA!! It came with a giant, buttery jalapeno corn muffin. I love spicy & this Jambalaya was spicy! Kind of small interior, with the locals at the bar---plenty of room on the outside beer garden, overlooking Kangaroo Lake. Also, plenty of free parking out front. About 3 miles SW of the town of Baileys Harbor. Very reasonable prices. Lots of families with children, enjoying themselves. Onion Loaf looks scrumptious---we'll try one on our next visit. Nice Brandy Old Fashioneds, too. Everything on the menu looks delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mathgenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    128
    23
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Comfort food done well”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Wife and I searched the reviews for a casual dinner spot near where we were staying in Bailey's Harbor and the Coyote Roadhouse caught our attention. Bit off the beaten tourist path but worth the effort to get there and see where some of the locals eat. Arrived at 5:30 and got caught up in the Happy Hour rush so we needed to wait 35 minutes to be seated - worked out well as we used the time to listen to the local happenings as related by others waiting as well. We noted that many folks were opting for the Onion Loaf so we ordered that as an appetizer - whoa was that good and hot and very rich. Wife ordered the Half Rack of ribs with beans and I ordered the prime Angus steak with the German potato salad. She won as her ribs were tender, juicy and flavorful. The steak was a bit tough for a prime Angus but the German potato salad was great. All in all I would return and order the ribs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rd55127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windy city
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food was great - service just good”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stopped at this quaint location on our recent travel to Door County. They have a good menu and the food was very good - but the service was not what we were hoping for - took what our party of 6 thought was more time then expected both on the greet and the serving of our food. The place had a nice crowd but not overwhelming and I would return as the food would justify the return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WindyCityRipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool place!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is the only place in Door County that has grouper - which we love. And it's one of the few places with all-you-can-eat fish fry on Friday. The place is kind of small, but it's got a lot of character. And the staff was working really hard and keeping everyone happy on a busy Friday evening. The location is excellent - on Kangaroo Lake - and has a nice volleyball net set up and a bags game is set up, too. We loved it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PPMF1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Kitchen closed at 9:00 pm on a Sunday evening at peak season?”
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were shocked at our greeting upon entering the restaurant/saloon on a Sunday evening at 9:00 pm. The place was packed inside and out with patrons drinking. We were told that if are looking for food, the kitchen was closed. Needless to say we turned and walked out. Really? With all the folks drinking, not even appetizers served. A little concerned and shocked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Roadhouse also viewed

 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Coyote Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing