We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You're Looking For and Then Some!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything You're Looking For and Then Some!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon stay at the Blacksmith Inn, and I cannot tell you how many times we have joked about jumping back in the car to go back immediately! We've never stayed at a B&B and were hesitant about what it would be like, but it exceeded our expectations and it truly was the most amazing honeymoon spot. The owners are the most kind and genuine people you can meet, and they work diligently to provide a comfortable and private stay for their guests. We stayed in rm. #13 of the Harbor House and appreciated all the details of our stay. The house and rooms are impeccably clean, comfortable and cozy. The decor is perfectly reminiscent of a historic blacksmith house with all the modern amenities of a hotel suite. We particularly loved the extremely comfortable king size bed, jacuzzi, fireplace, his/her sinks, high quality soaps/toiletries, bathrobes and balcony with hammock. The B&B also has Wifi, although not the greatest connection.....this was not a huge issue. It was not the speediest, but still doable. Our plan was to stream movies through our AppleTV, however since we could not do this, we took advantage of the wonderful selections of movies to watch instead and were just as happy. I've read that other guests were not happy with the continental breakfast, but I have to disagree. My husband and I love our big breakfasts (ie, waffles, eggs, hash browns, meats, etc) and felt the items offered were more than enough! There's very wholesome granola, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, milk, yogurt, cheese, fruit, pastries, coffee and a wonderful assortment of juices (Door Cty Cidar and Naked juices). Additionally, you can take as much as you need and we felt it filled us up for several hours. We particularly liked that we could take it back to our room to eat in privacy on our balcony. The homemade cookies, and popcorn/lemonade in the afternoon was always an awesome treat to look forward to. Lastly, we took advantage of the free kayaks available to the guests and enjoyed a couple hours on the lake. I have to say, these are nice kayaks also and plenty for people to use ( I think 6 kayaks total). I could go on and on, but overall it was the most enjoyable stay we've ever had. I've already recommended this place to my family and friends and we look forward to coming back on our anniversary!

Room Tip: Harbor House Rm. #13! Quiet, comfortable, beautiful view, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    15
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
172
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

My husband and I just got back from our stay at the Blacksmith Inn. Normally we stay over on the other side of the peninsula but decide to try the Baileys Harbor side this time. I'm glad we did. I cant say enough wonderful things about our visit. We will definitely be back to the Blacksmith Inn!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Blacksmith Inn is a model of exceptional service and quality. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and shown the many amenities, including 24/7 beverage service and cookies. Kayaks and paddle boards are complementary and in excellent condition. And what a place to use them! A short boardwalk away is Lake Michigan and a protected harbor. The room was lovely - linens of fine quality, a hammock on a private deck, and chairs before a small fireplace. Quiet even though this hotel is just off the main street. The host provided restaurant recommendations -- all within walking distance. Breakfast on the patio was relaxing -- and the internet connection strong enough that I could quickly dispense with work so I could spend more time enjoying the Inn and the lake. And if all of this wasn't enough, we left with thermal re-usable coffee mugs! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room #7 has a lovely view and is very quiet though up two flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here while visiting friends in Sister Bay. Very convienent location to all the small surrunding towns etc.Visit the Door County Brewing Company just down the street. Lots of attention to detail at the Blacksmith Inn.Breakfast every morning consists of muffins, granola, juice, coffee, yogurt, cheese, fresh fuit. A nice continental breakfast which you can eat on your balcony or outside with others.In room fridge, small TV, which we never turned on. Plenty of free bikes in the shed .Nice surrounding roads to rde on as well. Nice touches abound here and you won't be disapointed. We stayed in room # 15, Harbor House which was quite nice and quiet. But I have to think all the rooms are nice here.

Room Tip: Look at all the pictures online. We were in the newer Harbor House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdlownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Blacksmith Inn on the Shore—we were sad to have only spent one night at the Inn. The inn itself is charming and located in the quiet town of Baileys Harbor. Located directly on the water, but set back behind scenic wetlands, each room in the Zahn house overlooked the water with spectacular morning sun. We stayed in room 3 and enjoyed the updated and spacious bathroom, whirlpool tub in the room, and the comfortable twin bed. The innkeepers were incredibly hospitable and friendly and made us feel at home instantly. The lobby area has delicious cookies and lemonade all afternoon and the morning coffee and continental breakfast included cheese, hardboiled eggs, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit and freshly baked muffins (yumm!).
Perhaps one of our favorite features of the inn were the bikes, kayaks and paddle boards they had available for guest use. We used both the kayaks and the paddle boards and as beginners to both, we had successful excursions on the calm bay off the inn.
I would recommend this inn to any couple looking for a fun and peaceful getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahR220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a quick trip to Door County. We were only able to stay one night, so we we arrived at 10:00 am the day of our stay to make the most of it. After parking, we went into the office to let the owner know we were there and riding our bikes for the day. Bryan was very helpful and gave us a more detailed map then we had. After spending the day biking in glorious weather, we checked in. Again, Bryan gave us a tour, and walked us up to our third floor room of the Zahn house AND carried my bag. Our room was spotless and had an awesome view of the bay. We hung out by the pier for awhile and took a little walk on the beach. It was pretty rough so we didn't venture out on the lake. After relaxing on our deck we went to a wonderful dinner with sunset included at Gordon's Lodge. Highly recommend! The next morning was peaceful, calm and quiet so we grabbed a tray from the main room....coffee and cookies (too early for breakfast) we went to the pier and enjoyed the sunrise! We used the kayaks on the gorgeous bay. Felt like we owned the place. We enjoyed the real breakfast later on our deck(fresh fruit, muffins, cheese, and granola with great coffee) and then relaxed on our hammock until checkout. We loved the bath products and bought some to take home. when we left we were offered tea or coffee to go and were presented with a cute car coffee mug to take along. Nice touch! Will be back and hopefully stay longer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed here for one night in Room #8, which is on the first floor of the Harbor House building, the red one. It was wonderful! There are 2 buildings. The original white one is called the Zahn house and is a restored original building. The red building is called the Harbor House and was built fairly recently by the innkeepers. There are 3 floors in each building with about 12 rooms in each. (?) All the rooms face the Lake and have private balconies with chairs. The balconies on the Harbor House have hammocks in addition to chairs.

The parking lot is in between the 2 buildings. The office is in the backside of the Zahn house. Each building has a "very charming" lobby/breakfast room where the breakfast food is served buffet style each morning. They also provide complementary "yummy" homemade cherry oatmeal cookies all day plus popcorn, lemonade and coffee as well. The breakfast is a very nice continental style with homemade muffins or pastry. We had delicious large soft rolls stuffed with cherry almond cream cheese! They also provided a huge bowl of fresh raspberries, bananas, homemade granola, cold cereals, milk, hardboiled eggs, cheese, butter, and envelopes of flavored oatmeal. Plus juices and coffee and choice of teas. This is an inn, not really a B and B. It is actually a nice change from a B and B since you don't have to get dressed and be at breakfast at a given time. We really enjoyed being able to just put on the nice robes provided, go to the lobby in our socks, choose our breakfast items and take them back to our room on the tray, to enjoy them on the balcony. Very relaxed and private!

Room #8 is on the first floor of the Harbor House (red). Like you see on their website, the decorating is done to perfection! There is a pretty queen bed, a large dresser, a desk with chair, a wingback chair, table and a wood sitting chair with a rush seat, plus the nice whirlpool tub and gas fireplace! Everything is antique except the bed and plumbing fixtures! We realized that Room #8 is wheelchair accessible. There is only one sink (I think most rooms have 2) but it had plenty of shelf space next to it. The bedroom was a tad smaller than other rooms due to the large bathroom but it was still very comfortable. The queen bed was firm but very comfortable. Behind the cabinets surrounding the fireplace were the TV with dvd player, plus a small fridge! I took a quick peek at Room #9 (next to #8) and it had 2 sinks, and a bit larger bedroom with a king bed. So I am assuming most of the rooms in the Harbor House are more like #9.

One small warning about our room is that the air conditioner units are just outside the wall, behind the bed. I could slightly hear the a/c unit go on and off through the wall. It was not loud or annoying but you can "just" hear it running. I have really good hearing though, and my husband did not notice it at all. (I assume it was the a/c unit, but not sure why anyone would have used the a/c that night since it was a chilly night.)

Overall, we loved our short stay here. Beautiful, comfortable, and relaxing! We left the balcony doors open all night! Love the decorating, the food, the room, the balcony, and the view of the lake! Also, the soap is great - botanic shea butter soap from Greenwich Bay Trading Company. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Room #8 is on the first floor of the Harbor House and is wheelchair accessible. The bathroom is lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
7.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
368 reviews
6.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
755 reviews
8.6 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
#5 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
44 reviews
18.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blacksmith Inn On the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmith Inn On the Shore

Property: Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Address: 8152 State Highway 57, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Baileys Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the sound of waves lapping the shore. Linger over breakfast as the morning light glistens on the water. Kayak the harbor, bike to a lighthouse, stroll the village or just laze in your hammock. Fifteen deliciously private guest rooms each with in-room whirlpool, fireplace, private balcony, view of the harbor, satellite TV/DVD, ipod hook-up, wireless internet, complimentary use of bikes and kayaks and bottomless cookie jar. Romance & relaxation are yours in the heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Hotel Baileys Harbor
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Baileys Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing