We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Nearby Hotels
Beachfront Inn(Baileys Harbor)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Square Rigger Harbor Motel(Baileys Harbor)(Great Value!)
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Breeze Resort(Ephraim)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkwood Lodge(Fish Creek)(Great Value!)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maxwelton Braes Lodge(Baileys Harbor)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
197
16
7
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
197
16
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbor housezahn housegranolacookiesb bhomemade muffinsmy husband and ihard boiled eggsdoor countyhammock on the balconypaddle boardslake michiganthird floorour honeymoonwhirlpool tubbed and breakfasthot cider
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 221 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2008

When you stay at the Inn, you will experience TLC with panache! They have missed nothing in their renovations, decor and attention to details on every level. The beds are fantastic, the location is perfect and the owner goes out of his way to accomodate any request. You will feel pampered, well-fed and well-rested as a result!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavvySweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

We selected the Blacksmith Inn on a whim-it can be a difficult choice with so many places available to stay in Door County. My husband and I weren't disappointed.

The Inn is a beautifully restored historic building with all the amenities. It sits on the main street of Baileys Harbor for easy access to shops and dining while the rear of the Inn faces the harbor. Each room has a private balconey to enjoy the scenic waters of Lake Michigan.

The continental plus breakfast including home baked pastries uses locally grown Door County cherries and is just right to start the day. Coffee is always on and the cookie jar is always full.

We loved this place and hated to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelinCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

My husband and I just spent three nights at the Blacksmith Inn for our first anniversary and loved every minute of it.

We were in Room 13 in the Zahn House. The room was, in a word, perfect. The decor was lovely, and even better than the pictures on the inn's website. It was just very inviting. The linens and bed were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was also great. We had a double vanity and plenty of space. We loved the fireplace -- it was really convenient just to flip it on and enjoy. It was also fairly warm one morning, and so we got to use the hammock on our balcony as well. The grounds are beautiful and the lobby was very nice as well. Everything was also very clean.

It was also extremely private, which you don't always get at a small inn. Everyone was friendly, but generally left us alone.

It was great to be on the "quiet" side of the county and just take a short drive over to the other towns.

I would highly recommend staying here to anyone interested in visiting Door.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Recently stayed four nights at the Blacksmith. We used it as a base of operations to go to a Packers game (just about an hour away), and explore Door County. This is a charming property!

First off, the inn consists of two buildings, the main inn, built in the late 1800s I believe, and the Zahn house next door, built fairly recently. Our room was in the Zahn house, in the far corner on the ground floor. This meant that we had very little water view. That was OK, but we had a chance to look at two rooms in the main inn and they are much nicer, IMO. All rooms have big whirlpool tubs and fireplaces, and our room had lovely wide plank wood floors and a nice queen size four post bed, but the bathroom was weird. It was almost institutional and although there was plenty of room, only one sink. The other rooms' bathrooms that we saw were nicer.

One advantage of being in the 'other' building, however, is privacy. A lovely, lovely breakfast is served in the lobby of both buildings every morning, and it's nice having that available with no innkeepers or a large number of guests milling about. The main inn has a large porch where guests can sit and I think the noise and activity there might have bothered me if I had been staying in the main inn.

The muffins, fresh fruit, organic yogurt, organic coffee, are all wonderful. The popcorn and cookies set out each night are a special treat. The gardens are beautiful.

The bed and linens were very comfortable and nice. But no bathrobes! This surprised us immensely as we stayed at two other inns in Wisconsin during our stay that were not as nice or expensive and they had robes. Also shampoo and lotion, but no hair conditioner, which was a little strange.

Room temp was a little bit of a problem. The fireplace causes the room to almost immediately get way too hot. But without it, the room is too cold. This left us with the option of keeping the fireplace on while opening the patio door, which was a little odd, but worked out pretty well.

We liked the bay side of door county, but found the lake side to be a touch warmer and more comfortable, and the dining options far superior. I would definitely return to the Blacksmith for the lovely rooms and breakfast, as well as the great amenities (bikes, kayaks), but I might consider the Whistling Swan in Fish Creek next time. We ate dinner there and liked it a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

If you're looking for a pleasant beautiful place to stay in Door County, consider The Balcksmith Inn on the Lake, in Baileys Harbor. We love the location because it's not in the heart of the robust tourist activity. But all of Door County is a short drive away, and we love coming back to the peacefulness and friendliness of Baileys Harbor at the end of the day.

All the rooms in The Balcksmith Inn are unique, full of antiques, and each has a spa tub. It's pretty romantic. I think every room overlooks the water, and most (all?) have an outdoor balcony porch. The staff are friendly, courteous, and unobtrusive. Located in the middle of town, we walk to any of several restaurants (full range of prices) on the main street.. It provided a great 'get-away'.

1  Thank mjleavitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews