We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“many extras make a worthy indulgence”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you love historic inns, but not Victorian "frufru," The Blacksmith Inn On the Shore is a wonderful treat/ retreat. I always love having a water view. Our room had a nice balcony with chairs overlooking Lake Michigan. The architects/ decorator did a fantastic job keeping a rustic look with ALL the modern amenities. It has many "green features" too. Everything was super clean and top notch.

The Blacksmith Inn is more expensive than other B&Bs, but there are MANY extras: soft robes, a whirlpool tub, bath salts and NICE shampoo, soaps, etc., gas fireplace, always available popcorn (the real kind, not the microwave stuff), homemade cookies, always available coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cider, and fruit. They even have bikes and kayaks available for "free", but we did not have enough time to use (plus it was too chilly.)

The host is very welcoming, but never intrusive. Breakfast, in our suite, was delicious. I wouldn't have minded seconds ; - D

Because of the price, we could not stay here often, but it was a wonderful indulgence.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 211 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights over our anniversary. It's a wonderful inn! Very clean and tastefully decorated, but not over the top. We stayed in room12 in the Harbor House. The room had a nice deck with hammock and chairs, whirlpool tub, and gas fireplace. We had everything we could have needed available to us. The breakfast was a buffet in each building, but we liked that and could take our tray up to our room. It was a cold breakfast, but fresh, healthy, and filling. Tasty cookies, coffee, and tea are available all day and popcorn in the afternoon. The staff was very friendly but not overbearing. It's just a great place! Baileys Harbor has a bit less for shopping and restaurants, but it's a quick drive to the west side if needed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNgirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Blacksmith Inn during our honeymoon. What a beautiful place! Our room was perfect and the owners were so nice and accommodating. We stayed at the Zahn house in Room #2. We had a perfect view of the bay and enjoyed spending peaceful evenings on the balcony. We also enjoyed spending time by the fireplace. Breakfast was so good! The homemade granola was very tasty and the oatmeal cherry cookies were fantastic too! The Blacksmith Inn made our honeymoon top notch and we would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Blacksmith Inn for five nights for our honeymoon in June. We stayed in Room #4 and it was absolutely wonderful. We chose the Blacksmith because we knew we wanted to go to Door County, and this seemed like a very inviting, homey inn that would be perfect from their website, and we were right. This place exceeded our expectations in all aspects. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were beautiful and comfortable, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. Although it was simple, the baked goods were wonderful, and they even had recipe cards for us to take back home. It was the perfect start to the morning, especially because we enjoyed our breakfast out on the deck overlooking the water each morning. The Blacksmith has thought of everything--they have beverages and snacks all day, and their lemonade is incredible!! We would suggest this place to everyone, and we will absolutely be going back!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I and his family just enjoyed a weekend at Blacksmith Inn. We hadn't been to Door County before but had heard good things. We were impressed with the area (reminds us of Cape Cod) and had a great stay in Baileys Harbor. The Blacksmith Inn was wonderful - we stayed in the Zahn House (the main house) set back from the shore of Lake Michigan. We were in Room #4 on the 2nd floor of the Zahn House and loved our room/balcony, its location and the house. A charming, inviting room with fireplace, large whirlpool tub, king size comfy bed, nice bath and patio doors onto good size deck with adirondacks chairs/table overlooking the shore and lake. Perfect! Add to that - kind hospitality, yummy snacks of cherry oatmeal cookies, popcorn in the evening and a large, delicious relaxed continental breakfast and we were very happy! More of our family was up on 3rd floor of the Zahn House and they enjoyed the evening stars from their hammocks on their decks. As much as I love hammocks I still liked our 2nd floor room best! The Harbor House is also on the same side of the road as the Zahn House but rooms don't have quite as clear a view of the lake. The Orchard House is across the street (Hwy. 57) and some of our family stayed there too but not all rooms have private baths and breakfast, snacks, etc. are not included.

We look forward to coming back again! Next time we hope to use the Inns' bikes and kayaks - such a relaxing, peaceful area! We strolled through a Bailey's Harbor craft fair and took in a wonderful "fish boil" at White Gull Inn in Fish Creek (cute town with lots of charming shops to amble through) - wish we'd had more time to explore!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julespro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlacksmithInnkeeper, Owner at Blacksmith Inn On the Shore, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

We thank this guest for the wonderful compliments but do want to clarify that the Orchard House is not part of the inn. The Orchard House is a 4 bedroom/3 bathroom home with living room and full kitchen that we rent to a single party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I had our third stay at the Blacksmith Inn On The Shore in August. Bryan and his team never fail in exceeding our expectations. Everyone we encountered was so friendly and helpful no matter what we needed. Bryan recommended great restaurants for us which further enhanced our experience in Door County. We will back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in May. What a wonderful place. We stayed in room 13 and the room exceeded my expectations. It was very roomy and comfortable and the spa tub was awesome. We had a wooded view but we could still see the lake and it was very relaxing. Loved the breakfast that was set out each morning and really liked that we could take it up to our room to enjoy it there. Plus they leave popcorn, cookies and beverages out all day to enjoy. The innkeeper was super nice, and we can't wait to go back. Such a gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer building, our room was very nice!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toritravels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
7.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
393 reviews
6.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
#5 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
215 reviews
18.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Inn
Beachfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blacksmith Inn On the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmith Inn On the Shore

Address: 8152 State Highway 57, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Baileys Harbor
Price Range: $145 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the sound of waves lapping the shore. Linger over breakfast as the morning light glistens on the water. Kayak the harbor, bike to a lighthouse, stroll the village or just laze in your hammock. Fifteen deliciously private guest rooms each with in-room whirlpool, fireplace, private balcony, view of the harbor, satellite TV/DVD, ipod hook-up, wireless internet, complimentary use of bikes and kayaks and bottomless cookie jar. Romance & relaxation are yours in the heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Hotel Baileys Harbor
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Baileys Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing