We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I found this place after a bit of searching online, looking for a place to get away with my fiance'. Never having been to a B&B before I was hesitant that it would be too 'flowery', but was very pleasantly surprised that it was a comfortable place for the both of us. The owners were helpful and treated us like visiting family.
Hot tub was incredible and the beds were hard to get out of!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlerjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 217 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

I can think of several words that accurately describe the Blacksmith Inn: quaint, lovely, and welcoming are the first words that come to mind. Attention to detail is evident everywhere at this romantic inn. As others have mentioned, some of the memorable touches are lemonade and popcorn made fresh every afternoon, the endless cookie jar, and the light yet fresh and satisfying continental breakfast. In addition to hot coffee available all day, the cupboard is also stocked with high quality tea and cocoa (as well as Starbucks singles in the rare event the freshly-made coffee runs out). Our room was warm and inviting, immaculately clean, and had the comfiest pillows I've ever laid my head upon. Bryan, the owner, is friendly, accommodating, and extremely knowledgeable when it comes to what to do/where to go in Door County. I recommend the Blacksmith Inn to anyone looking for a romantic, peaceful getaway where no detail is overlooked. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 1, on the first floor of the Zahn house had a pretty water view. The newer building doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelinchickk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed for two nights while we were in town for a wedding. Our room was on the second floor in Harbor House. The room was attactively appointed in a northwoods motif. We used the balcony in the morning and evening which was very good sized. The weather for the first half of our trip was cloudy and damp but we still walked out to the pier and checked out the kayaks etc. The contintental breakfast we picked up at the bottom of the stairs was very good. Our bed and pillows were very comfortable. The location was excellent, as Baileys Harbor in high season is not so congested as Fish Creek or Sister Bay. The inn keeper was very friendly and attentive to our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsmithkra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Lot's of brilliant parts, not many bad! We stayed in room 2 and the ONLY criticism is that there is no full length mirror which isn't really a problem for the men but us girls do like to look at ourselves before we go out!

Other than that, the place is delightful - full of antiques and knick-knacks and we particularly like the binoculars and bird identification book in the room as, being Brits, were not familiar with a lot of the birdlife around. We had a beautiful view of the lake and visited every day, stopping by the bottomless cookie jar on the way (that jar could be the death of me!). You walk along a pier through the reads to the private jetty where there are kayaks to borrow or chairs just to sit in the sunshine and relax. I took a book every day but didn't open it once too busy was I watching the boats and the birds. The lake water is clean, clear, warm and shallow (not very warm in the winter though I expect!) - lovely for a cool off.

Breakfast is simple but beautifuuly done - the home-made muffins are to die-for (don't forget to pick up your pack of recipes on the way home). Berries, cereals, eggs and cheese could all be loaded up with your juices and coffee and either taken back to your room or to the outside verandah if you want to be a bit more sociable.

Bailey's Harbor has some good places to eat within walking distance - Harbor Fish Market & Grille - outside dining if you wish in the very pretty flower-filled garden, Restaurant Saveur - bit more upmarket but delicious very interesting menu, good service and different wine choice.

The owner Brian was on hand to advise regarding restaurants, things to do etc - try the Door Shakespeare Company - great fun outside with a bit of culture. All the staff were great, special mention to Mary who went out of her way to be more than helpful. You won't go wrong if you choose this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaynePiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here over the new year, and then again in the spring. It's private and romantic, and perfect for a soft start to the new year!
It's a little pricey, but worth it.
The staff is incredibly attentive, and the breakfast is delicious.

Homemade peach cobbler and oatmeal cookies, hot apple cider, and freshly popped popcorn, are just a few of the things to look forward to while visiting this B&B.

We stayed in room #1. The hot tub is awesome, and the fireplace was a well-received bonus, given the freezing cold stay in January.
The view over the snow covered lake from our room was truly something out of a magazine, and during the spring when we were able to utilize the deck, was a perfect place to catch some morning sun and enjoy a quiet breakfast.

The only downside of room #1 is the proximity to the main deck off of the entrance to the B&B. The front door could really benefit from a pressure hinge, to avoid slamming.

We appreciated the proximity to all of the fun door county to-do's, and will definitely frequent this place again the next time we're looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laleh084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This place is expensive, but they deliver everything a pricey Inn should provide. I call it an Inn, not a B&B, because it is really a small Inn. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Each has a balcony with a view of the lake. Breakfast was simple but nicely done; fresh muffins and fresh berries for your ceral or yogurt. Eating on the front porch overlooking the lake was a treat each morning. My wife took a kayak out and had nice trip, and the Ridges is in walking distance. If you want to treat yourself to an upscale Inn, this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We booked 4 nights in this beautiful Inn and felt it would be the perfect home base from which to enjoy everything the area had to offer. Each night we enjoyed sitting out on our own deck overlooking Bailey's Harbor with an amazing waterfront view and each morning we appreciated the same view out on the breakfast deck surrounded by perennials galore and an incredible amount of bird song.
Joan, Bryan and their staff were so friendly and very helpful in recommending the best restaurants, including Saveur just a short walk from the Inn, wineries and suggesting highlights in the surrounding shopping areas as well. We also enjoyed the Door Shakespeare outdoor Theatre just a few short miles from the Inn.
Everything about this Inn was a perfect fit for us. Free Wi-fi; whirlpool tub for two; hammock out under the stars, Adirondack chairs out on the dock & on our private deck; cookies & popcorn for late afternoon snacks and breakfast with a view, complimentary use of kayaks and bikes, etc...
We had pretty high expectations of this Inn and chose it based on its beautiful website and great reviews. Every expectation was met beautifully and they graciously delivered a wonderful getaway in Door County! We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room at this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladyofthecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
6.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
839 reviews
7.9 mi away
Scandinavian Lodge
Scandinavian Lodge
#10 of 17 in Sister Bay
141 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Chanticleer Guest House
Chanticleer Guest House
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
165 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Eagle Harbor Inn
The Eagle Harbor Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
391 reviews
7.2 mi away
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blacksmith Inn On the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmith Inn On the Shore

Address: 8152 State Highway 57, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Baileys Harbor
Price Range: $145 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the sound of waves lapping the shore. Linger over breakfast as the morning light glistens on the water. Kayak the harbor, bike to a lighthouse, stroll the village or just laze in your hammock. Fifteen deliciously private guest rooms each with in-room whirlpool, fireplace, private balcony, view of the harbor, satellite TV/DVD, ipod hook-up, wireless internet, complimentary use of bikes and kayaks and bottomless cookie jar. Romance & relaxation are yours in the heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Hotel Baileys Harbor
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Baileys Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing