We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island All By Ourselves!”

Cana Island Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Baileys Harbor Lakeside Shipwreck and Lighthouse Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Island All By Ourselves!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went 30 minutes prior to sunset and we had the island to ourselves. This is a spot I wouldn't want to miss. We loved being able to walk directly to the island having parked our car on the mainland and taking the short walk over the causeway. There was no one at the entrance hut, so we just helped ourselves. Really amazing... there are several beaches to explore and lots of pictures. Bring your camera.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Cana Island Lighthouse, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit! Cana Island is truly a unique and beautiful spot, especially at sunset. There is an admission charge to visit when the lighthouse is open (10-5 daily from May through November). As you discovered the island is accessible from dawn until dusk year 'round and is free of charge when the lighthouse is closed. We welcome donations and all funds go toward the ongoing restoration of the lighthouse and other historic buildings.

Thanks for the great review...hope you can visit again when the lighthouse is open. The view from the top of the light tower is extraordinary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    156
    49
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Must See in Door County”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

If you enjoy lighthouses, this is a must see. We were greeted in the parking lot by a lighthouse volunteer. Gave us the history of the lighthouse and told us what to expect during our visit. Everyone else we encountered was just as helpful. It's a fun visit and the view of the lake is amazing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MargaretIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Cana Island Lighthouse, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Ahoy! Thanks much for the wonderful review...we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the historic Cana Island Light Station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great view from the top, even in the rain!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

There's a reason why they say this is the most photographed spot in Door County. Even through the rain we were able to get some beautiful pictures. I loved the climb to the top, and even my husband (who is afraid of heights) climbed the tower and then poked his head out the top to check out the view. The museum portion in nice, but if you want a real authentic tour of what a keeper's house was like, check out the Eagle Bluff Lighthouse in Peninsula State Park in Fish Creek. This is nice for a self guided tour, but the guided tour at Eagle Bluff gave much more insight into the life of the keeper. However, the view from Cana Island can't be beat since you can't climb all the way up Eagle Bluff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Cana Island Lighthouse, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Cana Island...the view from the top of the light tower is indeed spectacular! Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cana Island Lighthouse, Bailey's Harbor, WI”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This lighthouse was off the beaten trail, but worth the hunt. We loved walking on the causeway, climbing up to the top of the lighthouse, and getting the 4 star tour from our charming guide. The cost to go to the top helps maintain this tidy lighthouse. A fun stop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mak5361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Cana Island Lighthouse, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Ahoy! Thanks much for the wonderful review...we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit to the historic Cana Island Light Station. We hope you can visit again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Small but fun to explore”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I love this small area with the lighthouse and area to explore. Lots of places to get pictures. Try to see it in the different seasons, especially in fall.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Cana Island Lighthouse, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Ahoy! Thanks for the great review...wonderful to hear you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cana Island Lighthouse also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Washington Island, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Cana Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing