We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the water, lovely meal, good service”

Harbor Fish Market and Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Distinctive waterfront dining in the heart of Door County. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner seven days a week spring through fall. Outdoor, garden, waterfront dining in season. Healthy kids' menu. Full bar with exceptional wine list. Creative menu using locally sourced ingredients. Great gluten free and vegetarian options. Wonderful historic building right on the water in downtown Baileys Harbor, Door County, Wisconsin. Reservations encouraged and can be made on our Facebook page or on our website.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“On the water, lovely meal, good service”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very nice dinner selection of seafood, well prepared and presented - scallops in blood orange reduction and blackened whitefish were delicious. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Lovely view of moonlit water in Bailey's Harbor. Building has an interesting history and character. They also do breakfast and lunch. We'll be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OlGreyMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you'll be coming back! Reviews like yours are so important to us -- thank you so very much for taking the time to write one here! We sincerely look forward to seeing you again -- for breakfast, lunch and perhaps once again for dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    125
    65
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast Bonanza”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wife had the Cherry Stuffed French Toast, and I had the Tower Of Power “Benedict”. Both dishes were excellent. The service (Mary) was the finest we've experienced in many many years. Great coffee. What else can one say? We'll definitely be back next time we hit Door County.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WadeMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Coffee and breakfast with a lovely Lake Michigan view. Yup, that's how we love to start the morning also! I will share your wonderful comments with Mary -- and thank you so very much for sharing them here! Hopefully, we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing soups and an awesome view”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a very picturesque little town. reminds me of a fishing village in Maine. And they have amazing soups. We were a little disappointed with the lobster rolls. It is a cold lobster salad in toast. They said it is ordered a lot, but probably by people like us that have had Maine Lobster Rolls and then leave disappointed. But the service, the building, the view, and the soups were fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RTG-travlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hello there! Baileys Harbor is a very cool little town -- we agree! And we are so glad that you enjoyed our soups! It sounds like you are familiar with lobster rolls! We experimented quite a bit when we decided to serve lobster rolls. First of all we found that we had to prepare and bake our own traditional lobster rolls because the "correct" ones weren't available here in Wisconsin! Where I grew up (Connecticut) our lobster rolls were simply lobster and butter, served in the traditional lobster roll. But, that doesn't translate well to a kitchen like ours and serving hundreds on a summer day could be challenging! So we tried the currently popular "spicy" lobster roll sandwiches served in some areas of Maine -- but that wasn't very popular with our customers. Finally we decided on the traditional Maine lobster rolls with fresh celery, sweets onions and cucumber -- with light mayonnaise. I would love to hear from you if you have a different recipe that you think would work well for us! So far, our current lobster roll recipe is hugely popular but we always like to try new things! So, please drop me a note at berndt.karen@gmail.com with the recipe! Thanks again for the lovely comments -- and for taking the time to write a review here! Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

First of all, we had a few drinks in the bar. You HAVE to try the Cherry Bounce! It's great and its been aging for 14 years! Ask Carl? to tell you his story about the Cherry Bounce! Once seating in the dining room we had the Maytag salad. I don't think salads get any better than this! Delish! I ordered the Chilean Sea Bass special any my BF ordered the tuna. Both of our meals were super super good!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TripSeekerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We loved reading your review! Thanks so much! Carl will be so happy to hear that you enjoyed his fabulous Cherry Bounce! As always, the support of our customers is hugely important and necessary to our business -- and we love the fact that you took the time to write a review here. Thank you! Please come and see us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What Happened here???”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stop by to have lunch which we had done a few times before over the last year. They were very busy which we thought was great for their business until we got served. My wife asked for no extra seasoning or salt on her chicken salad. The item was the special for the day to be served on a piece of grilled lettuce stalk?? Yikes! The chicken strips were bone white, rubbery and were not grilled. They were microwaved! The lettuce stalk was like seaweed you could not hope to cut or eat.
We called the waiter over, explained the problem in a nice calm and friendly way, and he had to check with management to see if anything could be done?? After checking, he said they would take it back and give her chicken pieces in a regular salad mixture but we got the impression they really didn't want to do it. The new salad still had the same type of chicken in it which we are 99% sure is microwaved making it tough and certainly not grilled.
I will say my hamburger was very good as were the fries. The huge disappointment was, after dropping a fair amount of money for the "special of the day", we got the cold shoulder. Not a good idea in our book.
Nevertheless, we wish them well but will no longer return. That's a shame since they were once a really great place to get great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl - Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review here. It certainly does not sound like you had the type of experience we would want you to have and I apologize for the difficulty you encountered. I will find out who your server was and discuss how we could have better handled your concerns. Also, we don't use a microwave for the chicken or for any of our foods here. They are grilled strips but the other day our executive chef noticed that the day kitchen staff was not grilling them to the golden color that we like -- rather they were grilled the chicken breasts quickly and then sauteing the strips in a chicken broth/oil mixture in order to cook more of them at a time. We all decided that it was not a good idea -- and that we like them better grilled as previously -- so they have returned to that. The salad you originally received was something they created including grilled romaine lettuce and fresh vegetables and was well received by our customers overall. But, I will take an extra look at that salad before we serve it again -- and will reinforce the need to grill the chicken breasts to a more golden brown. I am really glad that you enjoyed your burger entree. It is disappointing that you enjoyed many meals here before but will not be returning. I sincerely hope that you will reconsider. And, please be assured, that your comments have been discussed by all of us. I would be happy to discuss this further with you -- if you desire. My personal email is berndt.karen@gmail.com. Again, thank you for helping us to improve our service and food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Fish Market and Grille also viewed

 
Fish Creek, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Harbor Fish Market and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing