We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have been coming to the Rushes for 25 years now!”
Review of The Rushes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rushes
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“have been coming to the Rushes for 25 years now!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have been coming to the Rushes since I was 9 years old, and it has been great every time! We go over New Years, so it is wonderful to have a few of the locations open to keep things interesting, but have all of the usual vacationers gone so it isn't packed and stressful. Such a wonderful place to get away from it all. Beautiful maintained trails for walking or cross country skiing, pool and hot tub are wonderful, movies to rent, so great having a full kitchen so you don't have to go out to eat for every meal. The Rushes provides a clean, nicely maintained place to get away from it all in a duplex that is like a large condo. It is not a fancy, modern hotel, but if you just want a nice place to unwind and snuggle in this is definitely the place to do it. We haven't been up in the summer, but the reservations are almost always booked so that must be a good sign. The lake frontage is gorgeous and I know they have lots of boat rentals, etc. We just love going in the off-season!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shafer, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We had purchased a voucher for a time share stay and selected The Rushes for it's proximity to our home in Minnesota. Close enough to drive, but far enough away to make it a getaway. It was perfect! Grounds were beautiful with the new snow we got during our stay. I took advantage of the work out room almost daily. Having it to myself each time was great. I enjoyed some of the other activities-the water exercise class was a hoot. I was the youngest one in the class and it was so much fun. Bingo was fun, the selection of craft activities was excellent too. My husband rarely left the condo and enjoyed every minute of it! Condo was clean, comfortable, roomy. They supplied everything you could possibly think of--a high chair was even in one of the closets! We enjoyed the fireplace everyday-you would never run out of the firewood they supply. We liked that quiet peacefulness of The Rushes immensely. It was just what I needed after a very long winter.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kabmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny P, General Manager at The Rushes, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. Sorry to hear your comments regarding the firewood. I will take to our wood supplier to correct that issue. See you again in the spring ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The Rushes is a decent property although severely outdated in some aspects. With it's dusty pink jacuzzi tub and washer and dryer from the 70's you know you are not in a 5 star property. We appreciated the size of the unit, but most of the space is wasted in the master bedroom and bathroom. The bed was extremely hard and old. There was no outlet on the whole wall where the headboard was. We had to purchase an extension cord because the resort did not have any to loan out. We had problems with the jacuzzi tub, but of course it was probably installed in the late 70s or early 80s so who can be surprised.
Since March is definately not the prime season we were dissapointed the resort offers NO activities on weekends. They seem to gear everything towards the long time owners. The pool closed at 9pm which is pretty early when on vacation. Our internet cable (no WiFi) did not work and neither did our DVD player remote. So every time we wanted to pause a move we had to do it manually. Whenever we called for help the front desk's answer was "check your binder". Well we read the binder and the instructions in it didn't work. Even so it was annoying to be told by someone basically hired to help people to "check the binder" for every single question we had. If I want to do some reading on vacation it won't be a three ring binder all about the resort I am staying at.
We did appreciate the hiking trails and the nice supply of wood. We ran out one day early, but we had a fire burning pretty much the whole stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwithkaufy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

The Rushes is a GREAT place! The townhouse has an attached garage which is especially nice in the winter! The garage was stacked with enough wood for our entire week! Everything worked great and had been updated with flat panel TV's and front loading washer and dryer. It was a GREAT week and we were able to enjoy a very relaxing time which we both needed!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmasheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We stayed at the Rushes in early Feb with our 2 sons ages12 and 4. The unit had everything you could want,even a flashlight, plastic wrap and bandaids. They had full size detergent bottles for the laundry and dishwasher. We stay in timeshares 2-3 times a year and have never seen a place so well stocked. They also had all the equipment for cross country skiing, snowshoeing and ice skating in an array of sizes so everyone of us could participate and it was all complimentary!! We all had fun learning new winter activities and we enjoyed the trails thru the woods. The pool and hot tub were nice after the outdoor activity and we played board games in front of the fireplace at night. There is an attached garage that was well stocked with firewood and had we forgotten our games, the front desk had an assortment that could be checked out. The staff here thought of everything, we had a wonderful time and would like to go back sometime.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilibret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

A member of our family owns a time share at the Rushes so we usually go every winter. It's a wonderful place for a vacation. The units are all two-story townhouses, most with one large master suite upstairs and a bedroom downstairs with two twins (and optional crib). There's a complete kitchen (full stove and oven, microwave and dishwasher, large fridge), a dining room, a two-story family room with flatscreen TV (cable included), sleeper sofa and wood-burning fireplace. There are a few three-bedroom units that have a different floor plan; these units don't have a volume ceiling in the family room. and I find them more cramped-feeling than the two-bedroom units. Each unit has sliding glass doors leading to a private deck with grill. Units have either a wooded view or a view of Kangaroo Lake. Oh, and each unit has a one-car garage and a washer and dryer. Towels and sheets are included; you don't have to bring your own. The furnishings are comfortable - not upscale or fancy, but pleasant and suitable for a family vacation.

There are plenty of activities on site, which makes this great for a family trip. You can go for a hike on the nature trails, go sailing, boating, swimming; go geocaching; play tennis or volleyball - I don't even know all the outdoor activities offered; you can probably find them on the Rushes' web site. There is a recreation center on site (an easy walk from your townhouse) with an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, workout room, great room with fireplace. There are planned activities such as bingo, ice cream social, wine and cheese party, craft classes, etc. You can get to know your neighbors -- or not. The units are very private, and there aren't too many of them, so this isn't a busy, noisy resort.

The Rushes feels very secluded, but it's actually in a great location in the middle of the Door Peninsula. You can quickly get to Baileys Harbor or Egg Harbor using the back roads. You can't walk to town, though.

If you are looking for a place with plenty of room for a family (not a large family -- a family of 4 or 5 would be ideal) to spread out and feel comfortable, and you want peace and to be close to nature while still enjoying all the modern comforts of home, The Rushes is a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maenad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin IL
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at The Rushes in Door County WI in April 2009. It is such a beautiful area! If you love to relax, hike, or spend time in natural surroundings, this is the place for you!
This time of the year not all businesses are open yet, but we found plenty of restaurants, art galleries, shops, etc open and wonderful to spend time in.
It rained a few days when we were there but the Rushes resort has an indoor pool, exercise rooms, game room etc. Our unit was well maintained and well equipped with all we needed (dishes, pots and pans, etc) and has it's own washer and dryer. We spent quite a bit of time just relaxing in the unit because it felt very home-like.
In the summer there are a lot of water activities both at The Rushes and in the neighboring towns.
We love the relaxing atmosphere of Door County and the many artists who have galleries and/or stores and are very friendly.
We will definately go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank MAMAJSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
5.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
368 reviews
9.6 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
233 reviews
14.3 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
5.8 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rushes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rushes

Property: The Rushes
Address: 3014 Rushes Rd, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Baileys Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is a timeshare resort with 48 two bedroom condominiums with attached garages, wood burning fireplace, full kitchen, one king bed, two twin beds and a queen sofa sleeper. We have 2500 feet of shoreline on Kangaroo Lake. We also offer 4 miles of groomed cross country ski trails for hiking, snowshoeing or skiing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rushes Hotel Baileys Harbor
The Rushes Baileys Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing