We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and tucked away with great views of Lake Michigan!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gordon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and tucked away with great views of Lake Michigan!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I decided to take a trip up to Door County to enjoy the fall colors and have a nice relaxing weekend. We got exactly what we needed! The grounds are beautiful with miles of easy hiking trails. They also have a great bar/restaurant on site with sweeping views of Lake Michigan. Their breakfast is served buffet style and all of the food was quite tasty. We are looking forward to going back in the summer!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    44
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
80
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The lodge was beautiful. Everything was very well maintained. The staff was very helpful, and inviting. The food was amazing at both the Top Deck restaurant, and the included brunch. It was so nice to have on site trails to go running. The room was very clean.

Room Tip: We where in the lodge not one of the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place with great views of Lake Michigan from your room or cabin. Second visit for us, both happened to be weddings. Perfect place for that, never need to leave for the weekend. Top Deck bar and restaurant had great food and nice staff.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JnDtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just returned from Bailey's Harbor where we spent the weekend for a family wedding. We were in one of the quaint cottages flanking the main lodge. We had the rehearsal dinner at the Event Center on Friday and enjoyed the fire pit later in the evening. Since it was a small wedding, we enjoyed dinner in the boat house for the wedding reception. The food was excellent both evenings and the rooms included breakfast buffets. The property sits on 100 plus acres and is far enough away from the touristy areas of Door County to be relaxing. They have kayaks, bikes, tennis courts etc for guests use along with hiking trails. For a truly lovely vacation or possible wedding/reunion venue, Gordon Lodge has a lot to offer in Door County. If you are a fan of mid-century modern design, the lobby area has a real Mad Men vibe.

Room Tip: Cabin #1, Linden, has great water views, a small living room with fireplace, two bedrooms and one ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We found this pretty much by accident, and after reading the positive reviews, decided to try it. Being a little off the "beaten path", it was a risk I'm glad we took! It's beautiful, quiet (at least when we went), clean and service is excellent. Had dinner two nights at their Top Deck Restaurant, and couldn't have been more pleased (our server, Avery, was top notch!). I'm partial to a nice dinner with CLOTH napkins - lol! Would recommend this to anyone

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cabins, and it was clean and fully equipped (GLASS beverage glasses too).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac du Flambeau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My daughter and I just spent an idyllic weekend in Door County at the Gordon Lodge. Our room was a bit dated but very clean and on Lake Michigan with views that defy description. The grounds are beautifully manicured with many flowers and shrubs, pool and hot tub, tennis courts, and 4 miles of walking trails through a pine forest. How you get every single person on your staff to be so customer focused is amazing. Lovely restaurant and bar, kayaks and bikes to use. Lots to do in neighboring towns - lots of spas too. We will return! There were a couple of weddings this weekend and they are exceptionally well set up to manage these events beautifully. What a gem.

Room Tip: All of the lodge rooms have water views. I did not see them, but it looked like the cottages have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieG823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I got married at Gordon Lodge in July. Amy, Rory, Joe and the rest of the staff made our wedding weekend a very memorable experience. The whole staff went out of their way to accommodate our guests. You could tell that everyone really loves their job. They were all very genuine. Even the owner worked the bar during cocktail hour at our reception. He is such a nice guy.

We hosted our rehearsal dinner/welcome party at the Boat House of Top Deck and wedding reception at the event center. Because of the thoroughness of the staff, the parties went without a hiccup.

The only complaint I have is on our DJ Lars from Music Master Entertainment. He failed to bring our introduction music, his photobooth staff member was rude and he didn't play a lot of the music we requested. I emailed him a week later regarding my disappointment and instead of trying to fix the bad service with a response, he failed to communicate back. I would have been satisfied with response apologizing for his lack of detail, but why would he if he already had our money???

Anyway, that is a different review. Gordon Lodge and Music Masters Entertainment have NO affiliation. If you are thinking about getting married in Doory County, Gordon Lodge is the place. Actually, if you are thinking about visiting Door County, Gordon Lodge is the place to stay. The premises is absolutely beautiful. All our guests said they felt like they were at an island resort. The kids had a blast biking, canoeing and hiking!

I would not change anything about Gordon Lodge and our experience with them. Amy is the best wedding planner, Rory is very friendly and accommodating and Joe is one of the nicest people I've ever met. The chefs are great, too — forgot to mention that our food was delicious! Not your typically wedding food. The rest of the staff were also awesome — Zach, Gunner and Moi are the three I remember most. You guys are amazing.

I kind of wish I didn't have to write this review so people won't find out about our secret resort in Door County! Every time I see a guest from our wedding, they can't stop talking about how beautiful Gordon Lodge was and want to go back.

We are hoping to go back next summer with a few friends! Thank you, Gordon Lodge for making our wedding weekend very special.

Room Tip: If you are traveling without children, the Bayside cottages are great. They have large windows overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachD110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
6.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
5.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
8.6 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
11.7 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Lodge

Property: Gordon Lodge
Address: 1420 Pine Dr, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9421
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Baileys Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gordon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a uniquely intimate waterfront resort that includes 300ft. private beach, 5-miles of nature trails, heated pool and hot tub, fitness center, tennis, fishing, kayaking, internet and buffet breakfast. Enjoy an award-winning menu and cocktails on property at Top Deck Restaurant. Select lodge rooms and cottages with water views, suites adjacent to a pristine forest, and coming soon a 5-bedroom house gracing the shores of Lake Michigan. Gordon House Event Center, an elegant venue for weddings and special events, seats up to 250 guests. Witness incredible starry nights and gorgeous sunrises and sunsets as you enjoy tranquility and beauty matched nowhere else in Door County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gordon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Hotel Baileys Harbor
Gordon Lodge Baileys Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing