We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Gordon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gordon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our daughter got married at the Gordon Lodge recently and everything here was top notch. Property is extremely well maintained, landscaping is very nice and the scenery was the perfect setting for a wedding. The staff is very attentive and aim to please - Rory (accommodations), Amy (wedding planner), Joe (food services) were all great. Food was excellent both for the reception (chicken divan) and at the Top Deck Lounge. The breakfast buffet which is included with your room was very good as well.
Many of our guests at the wedding spent 2 nights and enjoyed the bike trails, kayaks and tennis which is all complementary. The owner is present and involved with the operation and it is evident he pays attention to the details for his customers.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank jont34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 227 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just stopped by to have the brunch at Gordon Lodge. The native landscaping is gorgeous and well maintained. The brunch was hot, the bacon was crisp and the view was relaxing. Will be back to explore Top Deck Restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Gordon Lodge over Memorial Day weekend for a wedding and loved most everything about it. The grounds are very well maintained and the lodge seems to have been redone fairly recently. The staff was very friendly. My only compaint would be the bathrooms are rather small, but that is to be expected from an older property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevensonec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My son was recently married with the ceremony and reception at the Gordon Lodge. Anyone looking for a Door County destination site could not do any better than the Gordon Lodge. Great people, wonderful facilities, excellent food combined with a staff that really worked to make this an exceptional day for the bride and groom, their families and guests. Beautiful lakeside location with some of the most outstanding landscaped grounds you will ever see.

Room Tip: In addition to hotel rooms, they offer a variety of shore side cabins which have been totally update...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

First time back since the 60's to experience the wonderful experience of on the lake at Door County. Unless you have had the opportunity to compare the East Coast, Finger Lakes, etc. you will not be able to compare the beauty of one of Door County's fabulous secluded harbors. The new Elmhurst Illinois owners have refurbished and modernized a wonderful property keeping the affordability within the limits of most summer travelers. The cabins I remember bringing my now 40year old kids have been updated without removing the woodsy rustic feeling. Waking up to the new wild turkey residents clucking and enjoying the free coffee watching the eagles hunt over the harbor at 6:00 am reminds me of camping in the boundary waters of Canada.
We were the point delegation for a family wedding coming up in July of 2013 and am happy to say we will share this event with the friends of the owners on our 20th wedding anniversary. We like it this much. Staff and service are wonderful. Need an indoor pool!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose between adult only and family sides of resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tommyl024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The first part of our week was spent in Green Bay for the "Packer's Practice". We had a short drive up to Door County for the end of our week. Gordon Lodge is off the beaten path, so this meant Peace & Quiet. Our check-in was quick, pleasant and informative. We stayed in Cottage #7 it was small but decorated with updated colors and quality linens. They had paddle boats, kayaks and bikes for everyone to use. We also received a wonderful breakfast buffet every morning. We only ate once at the restaurant which was really good. On Saturday evening they had musical entertainment outside that you could enjoy while eating dinner or just kicking back. The grounds were very well kept and the landscaping was outstanding. I can't say enough about the Whole Staff. Everyone was happy and helpful. I would love to take the family next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rooney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

First time at Gordon Lodge. Short stay in a cabin on the "adults only" side. Roomy. Clean. Neat. Comfortable. Great view, including sunset. Outdoor live music one evening, so we attended and had dinner on the Top Deck patio. Very good food and selection of craft beers. Good music and views, too. Another night, we ate dinner inside the Top Deck. Again, better than good food, drinks and views. Breakfast buffet excellent. Omelet (or other styles of eggs) and pancakes to order. Buildings and grounds well maintained. Responses to requests are immediate and with a smile. Everyone is friendly (which is not the general rule throughout Door County). Would definitely return to Gordon Lodge.

Room Tip: If you are traveling without children, stay in a cabin on the "adults only" side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeeoMie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
406 reviews
8.6 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
240 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
805 reviews
5.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
406 reviews
5.7 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Lodge

Address: 1420 Pine Dr, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9421
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Baileys Harbor
Price Range: $75 - $794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gordon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a uniquely intimate waterfront resort that includes 300ft. private beach, 5-miles of nature trails, heated pool and hot tub, fitness center, tennis, fishing, kayaking, internet and buffet breakfast. Enjoy an award-winning menu and cocktails on property at Top Deck Restaurant. Select lodge rooms and cottages with water views, suites adjacent to a pristine forest, and coming soon a 5-bedroom house gracing the shores of Lake Michigan. Gordon House Event Center, an elegant venue for weddings and special events, seats up to 250 guests. Witness incredible starry nights and gorgeous sunrises and sunsets as you enjoy tranquility and beauty matched nowhere else in Door County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Gordon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Hotel Baileys Harbor
Gordon Lodge Baileys Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing