We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weathered the storm”
Review of Gordon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gordon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Despite losing power and water, the staff at the Gordon Lodge did everything they could to keep us comfortable and happy. As guests of a wedding at the Lodge, our needs were accommodated and we were treated with so much kindness! The wedding went off without a hitch and was absolutely beautiful! And the guest rooms, restaurant, event center and other areas were all beautiful and well maintained, even with almost 100 wedding guests milling around all weekend. Plus, they have bicycles, kayaks, games and several beautiful trails available to guests that make for a fun time! Thank you to the staff of this wonderful hotel. We will most definitely be back and can't think of a better place to stay in Door County!

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view of the water!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SRD11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Gordon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 219 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

We just returned from our whirl-wind wedding weekend at the Gordon Lodge. We had big plans for a gorgeous ceremony on site and fantastic reception there as well. They surpassed our expectations! There was a freak storm on Thursday that knocked the power out to most of Door County. Our wedding was Saturday! The staff, especially Rory and Joe, worked their magic to make sure our wedding went off without a hitch. Somehow, we had power to the rooms and the event center. They were fantastic to our guests, making sure that everyone was taken care of despite this crazy storm. The ceremony could not have been more beautiful and the reception rocked.

We can't wait to book our anniversary trip, year after year!

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The property and accommodations are outstanding. We stayed at Gordon Lodge for destination wedding. The wedding was absolutely beautiful and the staff did their very best. On September 29th, a wind storm hit Door County knocking out power to Gordon Lodge as well as much of the surrounding area. The staff worked tirelessly to restore power and water to the guests. We would like to send a very special note of gratitude to Melanie who works at Top Deck. She went above and beyond to take amazing care of our family, especially our daughter. Her kindness and sense of humor will long be remembered. Melanie, our heartfelt thanks!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank em c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Gordon Lodge is simply magical. Even though I’ve been going to Door County for years I only discovered it while wedding planning in 2008. We couldn’t have picked a better spot for our wedding. People are still talking about what a fantastic location Gordon Lodge is and how much they enjoyed themselves. We’ve been going back every year since with family and friends. It almost feels like we’ve arrived home when we get there. All of the rooms and cottages are so comfortable and all have amazing views of the water. Everything you could want in a getaway is right here, there’s no need to leave! There’s tons of activities for all ages; canoeing, kayaking, tennis, hiking, biking, lawn games, pool, hot tub….. The Top Deck restaurant has great food and the patio is one of the best spots to watch the sunset. They also offer an incredible breakfast buffet that is included w/ your room. The staff is wonderful and really make you feel taken care of and welcome. We hate to leave Gordon Lodge and can never wait to get there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The first time I stayed at gordon lodge with my best friend. I loved it so much this year I traveled with my husband and 3 year old. We all had a wonderful time. Both my husband and I have traveled many places and are very picky about where we stay. Nevertheless, we both agree to come back to gordon lodge every year from now on. My 3 year old absolutely had a wonderful time swimming in the pool, riding on the bike with us thru the trails that are onsite and also went out on the paddleboat with us. To top it off the buffet breakfast is always delicious. The only thing that prevented this from being a 5 point rating were the bathrooms. Seems like everything was renovated except the bathrooms. They are functional and clean, but just didn't have the overall modern feel of the rest of the room. But the views make up for it, the bathroom wouldn't prevent me from coming back. There was a bit of a drive from the lodge to Egg Harbor and Fish Creek, but it was all worth it.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms lakeside, much quieter and nicer view than bayside.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

If you want to recharge and reconnect this is a must stay. Ask to stay in the bayside villa's

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SilverfoxStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My family spent Labor Day weekend at Gordon Lodge and loved it! The kids loved the pool, hot tub, beach and fishing while the adults enjoyed kayaks, great views and fun biking trails. We rented 2 cabins and both of them were very comfortable. They were very cozy with great amenities, and we loved the Pottery Barn decor!! The complimentary breakfast buffet was wonderful and had a lot of good options, even for the vegetarian in our group. While there were many other guests at the resort it never felt crowded and there were plenty of amenties to keep us busy. You really can't beat the lake views and curling up with a book with a fire in the fireplace. It was wonderful family weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KristineMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
393 reviews
8.6 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
6.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
174 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
215 reviews
5.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Lodge

Address: 1420 Pine Dr, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9421
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Baileys Harbor
Price Range: $87 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gordon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a uniquely intimate waterfront resort that includes 300ft. private beach, 5-miles of nature trails, heated pool and hot tub, fitness center, tennis, fishing, kayaking, internet and buffet breakfast. Enjoy an award-winning menu and cocktails on property at Top Deck Restaurant. Select lodge rooms and cottages with water views, suites adjacent to a pristine forest, and coming soon a 5-bedroom house gracing the shores of Lake Michigan. Gordon House Event Center, an elegant venue for weddings and special events, seats up to 250 guests. Witness incredible starry nights and gorgeous sunrises and sunsets as you enjoy tranquility and beauty matched nowhere else in Door County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gordon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Hotel Baileys Harbor
Gordon Lodge Baileys Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing