We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place, but Toft Point is Great”

The Ridges Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Chciago
Level Contributor
431 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice Place, but Toft Point is Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Off the Ridges Sanc. Road you will find a dirt road named Toft Point Road and there is a street sign for it. Drive to the end and park. Then walk the trail which is close to a mile through beautiful forest. You will come to an old settlement area with the small preserved houses of the immigrants who lived here. Beautiful to see and visit. The visitors Center in Bailey's Harbor can also direct you. Very worth your time and effort! Gorgeous setting and this place is not well known; so the secret is now out. Property is owned by the U of Wisc. Green Bay. Keep it clean and nice!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Boystowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    28
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful nature area with nice hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The Ridges is fascinating to learn about, the area is gorgeous and the hiking trails are easy. We stopped pretty spontaneously and were glad we did. I will recommend it to our friends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a really great time walking the trails at the Ridges this past August. We took one of the shorter routes that led us down to the beach. I would love to come back someday and cover all the trails. The women working in the information center were super helpful. Great place for kids of all ages!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chicagophotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quiet Place to Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We decided to go to Ridges to hike instead of Pennisula State Park and we weren't disappointed. It was quiet, the paths were easy to follow and you can even walk to the beach. Grab a map and enjoy a couple of hours in this sanctuary. We went in July and I will agree the mosquitos were active on the humid day we were there, but with some bug spray you are good to go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJ539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful sanctuary with so much diversity. The trails are easy to navigate with lots of great spots to stop and take it all in. We came around a corner and came face to face with a doe! This place is filled with mosquitos, so don't forget the bug spray!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ridges Sanctuary also viewed

Baileys Harbor, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
Egg Harbor, Door County
 

Been to The Ridges Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing