We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beantown Campground
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our usual campground was full. So we selected Beantown as their website showed an attractive campground. We were told check in was anytime. We arrived to meet a gruffy sort of fellow asleep in a chair and I had say hello a couple of times to rouse him, finally he woke up. He had our reservation on a slip of paper and printed us a receipt from a compter. Showed us to our site and never explained any quite time rules, where the trash was located, or the bathhouses. The sites were small and dog poop was everywhere no seemed to pick up after their pooch. The ladies bathrooms were filthy and the showers ran cold too soon. There was a cabin across the street from our trailer that had an obnoxious light staring right into our trailer. Worst were the roudy tent campers that drank into the night. I will never got there again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aablomenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

On a recent trip to Door Co we decided to find a "cabin" for my husband and 2 small dogs. Even though I was going to make the reservation early, my 1st choices of cabins were filled already. So I choose the Beantown becasue they were available and my dogs wer free. When we arrived, the owner checked us in- not very friendly or informative- pretty gruff. We went to check out out cabin- 1st we see it is a trailer that looks like a cabin. When we went inside it wasn't very clean- deah flies everywhere so I had to sweep the floor. The futon (the only place to sit) was broken and the bed was a mattress about 6 inches and then it was on a plywood base. The bathroom was so tiny that my husband could only put 1 hand in the sink at a time, also had to dry off and dress in the bedroom because there was no room in the bathroom. I todl the owner twice to fix the futon and bring us something to sit on (we were sitting in our lawnchairs) Finally he brought another futon- this one was not much better- so if you are looking for a no frills trailer/cabin this is for you- me, I won't stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Barb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Its a great place for familys and friends. We are here for our 6 or 7 th season and will be back. Grounds are well kept, nice staff, great bathrooms/showers very clean and the pool is the perfect temp. I would recomend this camp ground..The owner is always around to make sure he has very HAPPY CAMPERS.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tassie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at Beantown. The staff is friendly, and helpful. When we arrived late in the evening we had trouble finding your sites, the owner quickly helped us locate the sites. Because we had several sites reserved, and were traveling with friends we asked to be moved to sites next to each other and he was very flexible, letting us pick out the sites we preferred. The showers and restrooms are CLEAN!! The pool is CLEAN!! and the perfect temperature. The staff keeps the rest of the grounds picked up and looking very presentable. The office store has just about anything you might have forgotten. Ice and firewood is also available. Beantown is only 2 miles away from Baileys Harbor and 15 minutes away from all the tourist shops on the bay side of Door County. Baileys Harbor is on the lake side of Door County. It has some small shops but is not the trendy tourist trap like the bay side. Check out the Fish Market for a great formal dinner, (casual dress). Cornerstone Pub has great pizza. Make sure to stop at the Sunday morning farmers market.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike and jen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

we stayed here for 2 nights in july 2011. i found this place on the door county official website, judging by the pictures they had and reviews, i thought i would be a good, reasonable choice to stay at , if your on the budget. this is a very clean camp ground. looks like its fairly new. all of the little roads are marked real well. bathrooms are impecably clean and spacious. there is a very nice pool, belive it or not its shaped as a bean. there is very nice playground for kids. the staff is very friendly and welcomed us as soon as we walked in to check in. my impresion of this campground, that its geared more toward campers with pop-ups and RV's. not very many sites with trees. we like this place for its location as well, its not too far for the center of the peninsula so it was easy to get to every thing. would recomend this campground to any one, and will stay here again.

Room Tip: make reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olgeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

This review is specifically for Beantown Campground in Baileys Harbor, Door County, WI.

he campground has a 4 night 5th night free deal. When I made the reservation online I made it for four nights. The campground operator called me to confirm the reservation, and I changed it to 5 nights to get the 5th night free and we extended our vacation to 6 days/5 nights. When we showed up, we only had 4 nights reserved, and our cabin was unavailable for the 5th night. The employee there put us in a different cabin for the 5th night, and charged us for our stay. The owner came into the office and learned what was going on, and told us the cabin we were switched to (for the 5th night) was possibly unavailable because he was waiting on a call back from someone who "may" rent it. Rather than honor his "5th night free" deal he opted to wait and see if he could get an extra $98 out of someone. When I attempted to get a refund, he refused (despite the fact that we weren't getting the 5th night we were promised when my card was swiped.) When we got to the LOG cabin (made entirely of wood, mind you), I found that the smoke detector was GONE. In addition to that, some woodwork was broken, and the air conditioner leaked one of the nights it rained. Also, my debit card number, along with SEVERAL other debit card numbers, along with card holder names, security numbers, and card types, were laying in plain view on the office counter for anyone to see. And finally, the operator knew we were staying in the cabin for our honeymoon, and he put us in a cabin with BUNK BEDS. I will absolutely not be staying here ever again, and will make sure no one I know stays there either.

9  Thank jmur5074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnricoSebnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baileys Harbor hotels
5.2 mi away
Gordon Lodge
Gordon Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
235 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beachfront Inn
Beachfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
198 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maxwelton Braes Lodge
Maxwelton Braes Lodge
#4 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Square Rigger Harbor Motel
Square Rigger Harbor Motel
#3 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
23 reviews
1 mi away
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
#5 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baileys Sunset Motel & Cottages
Baileys Sunset Motel & Cottages
#3 of 8 in Baileys Harbor
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beantown Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beantown Campground

Address: 8398 County Road F, PO Box 433, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9203
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Baileys Harbor
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Beantown Campground Baileys Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing