We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check the cliff sites!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyalusing State Park

Wyalusing State Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bagley
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Check the cliff sites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This park is very nice but if you camp, you must check out the cliff sites that overlook the Mississippi! WOW. what a view.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pikadophin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yellowstone state park, WI”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've noticed the main picture for this page isn't anything to do with Wyalusing. The picture is actually of the dam at Yellowstone State Park in Blanchardville, WI.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Nolan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stopped in for quick visit the other day as I passed through the area. I remember camping there as a kid. The sites on the ridge are wonderful. You can buy an hour's pass for $5 if you won't be spending all day there. Head down to Point Lookout and take in the view of the intersection of the Wisconsin and Mississippi Rivers. Take a short hike down below to check out Treasure Cave. My kids (6,9, and 12) really got a kick out of it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Khannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome spot to view the rivers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nice scenic vista spot to view the Mississippi and Wisconsin rivers. We got to hear the ice cracking on the rivers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WinstonB261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
176 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Amazing camping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Camping with a view! The spots on the bluff edge are amazing. There were turkey vultures and even a bald eagle soaring so close we felt we could reach our hand out to them. Not much space between the camp site and the edge of the bluff. I would hesitate bringing young children on one of these camp spots. There are actually two campgrounds in this park. The area away from the bluff is the Homestead camping where there is much privacy. The bluff camping area has you perched 500 feet above the confluence of the Wisconsin and Mississippi Rivers with expansive views of both Wisconsin and Iowa. Many trains and barges are going by in this Mississippi River valley. Great night view of the Prairie du Chien Municipal Airport. We did not have a campsite reservation, and for a week night in September were able to get our first choice...spot 143E. It is the only campsite on the edge of the bluff with electricity. All spots are relatively level and a decent size with a picnic table and fire ring. The restroom/shower house in the bluff camping area is very large and modern, as well as clean. Keep in mind that atop a 500 foot bluff, it can often be windy.The negative thing for us was in the evening the breeze switched and the pit toilet across the road from our campsite emitted a horrible odor. The many walking trails are nice...we especially enjoyed the one along the bluff that becomes very adventuresome when the trail actually turns into steep stairs/ladders on the bluff! There are plenty of effigy mounds in the park also. I do remember seeing a play ground, basketball courts and tennis courts. A dump station is offered and a boat ramp too! Everything was well maintained. Keep in mind that it is not free to get into Wisconsin State Parks. Their web site has maps and details.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Iluv2travel059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wyalusing State Park also viewed

 
Prairie du Chien, WI
 

Been to Wyalusing State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing