We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Geat golf on a cool fall day

Staff as excellent and the course was in great shape. The greens fees are very high for the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Hopinpa
,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
???

I am a member of the GA Senior Golfers Assn. & we had a 3-day Golf Tourney at the ‘Historic... read more

Reviewed August 30, 2018
bbowdoinjr
,
Athens, Georgia
via mobile
Read all 11 reviews
  
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
6
3
0
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
3
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hall of fame tom watson white hotel famous holes tiger woods greenbrier resort west virginia tournament macdonald appleby tee charles fairways
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Staff as excellent and the course was in great shape. The greens fees are very high for the experience but the course is well worth the challenge.

Thank Hopinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

I am a member of the GA Senior Golfers Assn. & we had a 3-day Golf Tourney at the ‘Historic’ Greenbriar in WV. We played the Old White Course TPC two days & the Meadows Course one day! Both golf courses were beautiful but tough! If you got outside the fairways, the rough was very difficult to even ‘find’ your golf ball & it usually added 1-2 strokes per Hole to your normal score! Fore Caddies are required on the Old White Course but not on the Meadows Course! Also, the greens were faster & harder to ‘read’ on the ‘OWC-TPC’ + the Cours was 400-500 yds.longer but it was certainly worth playing...at least ONE time!!

The whole Greenbriar Resort is beautiful, w/lots of beautiful flowers & well-maintained grounds & the ‘Service’ is excellent, but the whole place is very Expensive to visit regarding food, drinks, ‘sporting activities’ & shopping!

A tour of the ‘Bunker’ is a ‘must do’...it’s very interesting & historical, but thankfully it never used!

Thank bbowdoinjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

The Old White, the first 18-hole golf course at the Greenbrier resort in White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia, was designed by Charles Blair Macdonald and opened in 1914. Macdonald was recognized as the father of American golf course architecture and modeled several holes after some of the most famous holes in Europe. The par 3, 234-yard eighth was styled after the "Redan" at North Berwick. The par 4, 492-yard 13th after the "Alps" at Prestwick. And the par 3, 217-yard 15th after "Eden" at St. Andrews in Scotland, the home of golf. Hall of Fame golfers Sam Snead, Tom Watson and Lee Trevino have served as golf pros at the Greenbrier in recent years. Watson said the par 4, 449-yard first hole is the best opening shot of any course he has played. Current stars Phil Michelson and Bubba Watson also have endorsed the course. In fact, they have purchased property and joined the Greenbrier Sporting Club. After buying the Greenbrier in 2009, Jim Justice, the current governor of West Virginia, persuaded PGA officials to bring a tournament to his resort. The Greenbrier Classic had its debut in 2010, replacing the long-standing Buick Open in Flint, Michigan, on the PGA Tour schedule. The Old White joined the TPC network of courses in 2011 and was extended to 7,287 yards from 6,663 in 2013. As of 2018, the event has been renamed A Military Tribute at the Greenbrier in honor of U.S. military involvement at the resort. In the final round of the inaugural tournament in 2010, Stuart Appleby shot a 59, the fifth in PGA history, to win by a stroke. The 2012 event was notable because Tiger Woods and Michelson both missed the cut in the same PGA event for the first time. The Old White, named for the Old White hotel which stood on the grounds from 1858 to 1922, hosted the Ryder Cup in 1979 and the Solheim Cup in 1994. My wife and I don't play golf--are we the only non-golfers who stay at the Greenbrier?--but we enjoy walking the course and admiring the beautiful scenery and the houses that line the fairways. Several years ago, we ran into Sam Snead on the golf course and followed him around for a few holes. You never know what you'll see at the Greenbrier.

Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have attended this tournament every year from its inception. This is the first year I have been disappointed in the pre organization and actual execution of the tournament. The course was in excellent condition and the grounds well kept. This is the first year I have felt you forgot to roll out the welcome carpet for your guests. The Greenbrier has always been a shinning star in
WV. This year the star is tarnished and many of your guests did not feel the excellence of your events. We have decided to give u one more year to redeem this year’s performance. Hopefully next year we and other guests will feel the hospitality of past years.

Thank Mountainsetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017

Beautiful setting. Disappointed the there was no disclosure that the greens were punched and top dressed when booking the tee time. Inconsistency made for a poor golfing experience. Course did not discount the rate for the poor conditions. Traveled a long way to be disappointed.

3  Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

This course was simply fantastic the holes were very challenging yet not impossible we played the blues the views on the course were breath taking our cadddie Jimmy was great helped us a lot to stay out of trouble when hitting he was simply very helpful and just an all around good guy. If your staying at the Greenbrier give this course a shot it's a must try you will not regret it. Everybody is so helpful and friendly.

Thank MPK440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017

I visited for the Greenbrier Classic and all I can say is I was blown away! The course is truly magnificent! Considering all the damage they had last year from the terrible flooding, I can't believe the work that was done to the course to almost it look like there was never a flood at all! It is also a very level course, which I wasn't expecting with the mountains all around, but it provides for some really good sight lines--especially for watching the tournament.

Thank cvon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

After all the damage from last years floor, they have made great repairs. It was a really bad floor, with loss of lives.

Thank jhais28374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2017

The first time I visited the Greenbrier resort in White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia, I saw the legendary Sam Snead playing a round of golf with a couple of paying customers and his dog. Later, I attended the first Greenbrier Classic, the newest event on the PGA tour, and got Sergio Garcia's autograph. And I attended a press conference where Hall of Fame golfer Tom Watson said, in his opinion, the drive off the first tee at The Old White TPC Course at the Greenbrier was the toughest of any course he ever played. Imagine, for the price of a good meal in the Greenbrier's main dining room, you can play a round of golf on the course that Snead, Watson, Garcia, Ben Hogan, Byron Nelson, Arnold Palmer, Gary Player, Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, Lee Trevino and Phil Mickelson have played. Stuart Appleby shot a 59 in the final round to win the Greenbrier's inaugural tournament in 2010. Opened in 1914, the course was named for the Old White Hotel, which stood on the grounds from 1858 to 1922. President Woodrow Wilson was one of the first golfers to play the historic course, which is known for its undulating greens, tree-lined fairways and holes that designer and architect Charles Blair Macdonald styled after famous holes at English and Scottish courses. Book one of the world-famous Greenbrier's 710 rooms and bring your golf clubs. Then see if Tom Watson was right. Can you hit the fairway off the Old White's first tee?

Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2016

this was our groups first stop on a week long group golf outing. we had set this up ahead of time with Jamie Hamilton, He made sure everything was ready when we arrived. We came down from the windsor/detroit area so this was the first round of the season for some of us. The great practice facility was much needed for most of us. If you come here to play b sure to arrive early so u can spend time looking at all the history that is on display.

Thank Hankhill007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews