We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice at the Greenbrier” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slammin Sammy's

Slammin Sammy's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Delaware
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A good choice at the Greenbrier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

An easy casual place next to the golf course & tennis courts. We ate outside - which was not fancy but had good food.

What's good:
- the food was quite good
- fried chicken sandwich
- the burger menu where you can sub in grilled chicken for the burgers.
- wait staff were friendly
- it has an outdoor seating area

What could use some improvement:
- the outdoor seating area tables needed a bit more attention in the cleaning arena and could benefit from some new placemats..
- our waitress although friendly needed some coaching, forgot things and was slow to take orders and bring things.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuitcasesPacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Two more great meals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had both a dinner and a lunch at Sam Snead's at The Golf Club during our recent stay at the Greenbrier.

Once again we had excellent meals. We had dinner our first night and chose to be seated at the small bar facing the open kitchen. From here we could see and hear the chefs at work as well as ask them questions. The golf course view is very nice, but we were here for the food, and our seats were perfect.

For starters we had the Lump Crab salad and the grilled Caesar Salad. Both were excellent, the crab was first quality and very tasty. The Caesar Salad was first rate with the expected excellent dressing of a made to order dish.

For our entrees we had the Cedar Plank Salmon which was roasted in their wood-burning oven and finished to perfection with a corn, bacon, cabbage puree and a mustard vinaigrette. It was delicious.

For sides we had the corn pudding and the mac and cheese both of which were perfect.

For desert we had the Strawberry cake and a serving of the Greenbrier peach ice cream. Yum!

Our server was excellent, and fulfilled our every need. The chefs are all first class here.

On our last day we had a final lunch at Sam Snead’s. Once again we asked for seats at the bar facing the kitchen. Once again the chefs were first rate and we were able to not only see them at work, but also speak with them.

We had the Crab cakes which we had on a previous visit. They were every bit as good if not better this time. We also had a delicious pizza from the wood-fired oven.

Once again all the wait staff and the chefs were outstanding and really made this a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
420 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Good sandwiches, attentive servers, great view of the golf course. Would definitely come back. Really enjoyed club sandwich and companion said chicken salad was excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AVGTXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
255 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Our favorite place with the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Best place to eat if you have young children... you can order from the bar menu as well as from the menu from Sam Snead's.... kids can play pool while they wait... great service

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PMFANDME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Memorable fun lunch experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

What could be any better than a great lunch with a view of one of the truly great historical golf courses. Just being at Old White is fantastic but to enjoy a casual meal makes it that much better. I love a great burger and the Angus beef loaded with cheddar and sautéed onions met my expectations. My wife was also pleased with the quality and taste of her club sandwich. It was a really pleasant touch to our quick stop at the Greenbrier. Some may feel lunch is pricey but this is an priceless experience. Regardless of what you try for lunch, the experience and view is well with the time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimmyC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slammin Sammy's also viewed

White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 
White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 
White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 

Been to Slammin Sammy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing