We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Friendly Alternative to Greenbrier”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White Sulphur Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The James Wylie House
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly Alternative to Greenbrier”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed the weekend at the James Wylie House to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. We wanted to get away to a quiet, relaxing place in the beautiful West Virginia mountains, and this place did the trick! At about half the cost of the cheapest room at the nearby Greenbrier, we received personalized and friendly service, a comfortable room, and delicious homemade breakfasts! We spent the day sightseeing in nearby Lewisburg (tons of nice shops, restaurants, and historical landmarks) and taking a bunker tour at the Greenbrier (a must). We went back to Lewisburg to eat dinner at Food & Friends, a great recommendation by innkeeper Monica! Our breakfast favorites were the mixed berry pancakes and peach cobbler! Both nights we were there, the weather was so perfect we were able to turn off the A/C, open our windows, turn on the fan and enjoy the cool mountain air!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TaylorAllison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Terrific Find!!!! Our first stay to the white sulphur springs area,had a business meeting at the nearby Greenbriar Inn. Would not have stayed anywhere but the James Wylie Inn. We stayed in the cabin a must!!!! Very comfortable, clean, and inviting. Monica the innkeeper and her father are a delight, wonderful gourmet breakfasts on the main porch of the house were amazing, we could have stayed on the porch the whole day, great conversation and and the feeling we have made 2 new friends!!! They are very knowledgable about the area. Used their guidance for area restaurants. We are for sure planning to book another stay,The greenbriar is completely overrated and overpriced and very dated. There are much better choices in the area to stay, also in the neighboring town of Lewisburg .

Room Tip: The cabin is wonderful adjacent to the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tmschneider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Lucky for us, we were able to reserve the entire main house when we needed to be in the area for a wedding. If the cabin had been available, we would have booked that too. Unfortunately, our overflow had to stay at a nearby motel.

The rooms were great and the breakfast was over the top! No one went away hungry, that's for sure.
We enjoyed White Sulphur restaurants and Lewisburg was close by and we explored its many interesting shops and historic sites. The James Wylie house was a perfect "base camp" for our two night stay... We just wish it could have been longer!

(We had five couples in the main house and it worked perfectly! We will long remember this wedding weekend.)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JetTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern IN
Level Contributor
251 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This easy to find B&B is a great old home with wood floors and feels like you go back in time to the old south. Our room was very nice with a private bath and small shower. The bed was a bit hard for my taste, but we had a very good stay. Breakfast was very good in the morning and Monica is a gracious host and full of information. Less than a mile from the Greenbrier and very close to charming Lewisburg. I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karensSouthernIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

A group of three of us visited in September, 2011 while in the area for a conference at the Greenbrier. It was about a mile to the Greenbrier, which made it very convenient. Breakfast was wonderful with a great assortment of fruit, banana walnut pancakes, etc. I stayed in the 1792 cabin which is for lack of a better term, rustic, cute! It was beyond charming and I intend to bring my husband for a weekend get away. Both the main house & cabin were very clean & well stocked with absolutely anything you could want. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are a tall person the main building may be a better choice as the doorway & stairs in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allons, Tennessee
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this historic home. The innkeeper, Monica was very friendly. We all enjoyed our talks with her. The breakfast had a very good variety of items to suit everyone's taste. I would highly recommend you staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TennesseeReiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The James Wylie House is a nice alternative to staying at The Greenbrier for those without limitless funds. The location of the bed and breakfast is very close to the Greenbrier and also to the surrounding towns such as Lewisburg. Monica, the innkeeper, and the friendly Wylie cat greeted us upon arrival, and Monica was very knowledgeable about the area and helpful with restaurant choices. The 200-year-old inn was very clean and well kept. The fruit, vegetable frittata, and homemade toast for breakfast were delicious.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank CasualObserverMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
18.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
7.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Wylie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Wylie House

Property: The James Wylie House
Address: 208 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2214
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in White Sulphur Springs
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing