We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mason Jar Restaurant - CLOSED

The Mason Jar Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Formerly the Mason Jar Restaurant in White Sulphur Springs, we offer Homestyle cuisine and BBQ at the State Fair Cafeteria on the State Fairgrounds of West Virginia in Fairlea, WV. Cafeteria open to public during the State Fair in August and providing year-round catering services to the Greenbrier Valley and beyond. Let our team of chefs customize a menu for your upcoming event.
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
118 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We looked for casual dinner spot in White Sulphur Springs. Mason Jar had good recommendations on Trip Advisor. they were justified. good food at good prices. 'Mason Burger' is a great burger.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurelandbetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    37
    23
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
535 reviews
338 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great local lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

After spending a few days at The Greenbrier, we were looking for a quick lunch at a local restaurant before leaving town. The service was fast and friendly, the food was great, and the price was very reasonable. If you want a quick meal while in White Sulphur Springs or a break from the pricey restaurants at The Greenbrier, this is a good choice.

Helpful?
Thank ERFSU82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great dinner at a neighborhood gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Had a delightfully delicious dinner. Quaint atmosphere and the food was great! So glad we made the journey from Beckley. The next time I come in from Lexington, I hope we'll make the journey over to White Sulphur for another delectable meal! Our waiter was an added bonus - courteous and astute! Completely satisfied!
-Rebekah

Helpful?
Thank bekahbonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
1 review
“Catered Family Reunion Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We wanted to share the wonderful experience we had with the Mason Jar in White Sulphur Springs when they catered our family reunion this past weekend (June 21, 2014).

Adam was extremely helpful and accommodating in planning and preparation, making suggestions, and outlining the process (something we'd never gone through before). He was also flexible with subsequent changes we made as the final date approached. And I should emphasize that the price was very reasonable.

The meal itself was outstanding. Adam and his team very unobtrusively prepared and laid things out for the buffet. And the food was terrific. We had chicken and salmon filets along with scalloped potatoes and roasted vegetables, accompanied by rolls, a vegetable tray, lemonade, teas, and coffee. The clean-up afterward was as elegantly executed as the initial setup, with no intrusion on our activities. In the end, everone in attendance was highly complimentary of the meal.

I have reservations on reading overly effusive reviews, but I honestly have the highest opinion of this effort by the Mason Jar and recommend them for such activities to anyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Visitor662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
201 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not busy but not during season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel owner suggested this establishment. We thought it might be busy, but it was not at all (by the time we finished, we were the only ones there). They had a buffet, but we didn't eat from it. My husband had the brisket; he said it was THE BEST brisket he's ever had! I had the mountain trout; wonderfully prepared, cooked perfectly. Came with a salad bar, and 2 sides. Mac and cheese needed a different kind of cheese, but we were too full anyway so it didn't matter. Service was good, place was cutely decorated. If you're in the area, don't miss this place!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV-Chef, Owner at The Mason Jar Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
John & Jana,
Thank you for your review! Your comments about the slowness contradicts previous review and shows that in the restaurant business, you can not always predicts peak business periods. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal during your visit to our area and will pass your comments to our staff. Thanks again, Chef Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mason Jar Restaurant also viewed

White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 
White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 
White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing