We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mason Jar Restaurant - CLOSED

The Mason Jar Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Formerly the Mason Jar Restaurant in White Sulphur Springs, we offer Homestyle cuisine and BBQ at the State Fair Cafeteria on the State Fairgrounds of West Virginia in Fairlea, WV. Cafeteria open to public during the State Fair in August and providing year-round catering services to the Greenbrier Valley and beyond. Let our team of chefs customize a menu for your upcoming event.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The food was good on the lunch bar. The BBQ chicken was awesome. A really nice waitress helped us in finding some shopping.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cybillVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    37
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotts Valley
Level Contributor
135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Popular and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had an early lunch there during the first week in October. Their $8.99 lunch buffet looked intriguing. The soup was worthy of seconds and the fried chicken excellent. The salad bar was about average. There are a limited number of selections in the buffet, but there were more than enough to satisfy me. Everything I tried was well-prepared and tasty.
The restaurant started filling up while I was dining and looked to be all locals. Always a good sign for good food at a reasonable price. The service was both efficient and friendly. I would happily return the next time I'm in WSS.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must try the fried tomato sandwich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Great cost effective lunch. Walk into town from the Greenbrier (easy walk) and enjoy this little spot.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Level Contributor
171 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Food ...Reasonably Priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After enjoying the Bunker Tour at the Greenbrier, we looked for a place close by to get some lunch. It was late afternoon so there was no wait; however, tables started to fill up as we approached dinner time. There was a buffet offered but we ordered off of the menu. The cobb salad was fresh and tasty with plenty of chicken. The Philly Cheesesteak was also very tasty. Others in the group had the chicken & dumplings and loved them. The portions were plentiful and we even brought home a nice portion of the cobb salad.

Our server was pleasant and efficient. She readily refilled our drink glasses.

We wanted to order Coconut Cream Pie but they had just served the last two pieces to another table. We opted for warm apple pie with ice cream. A great way to finish a very satisfying meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glendawpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had lunch here and found it to be a great spot for lunch. All drinks are served in mason jars which is kinda fun. Their fried green tomato sandwich is delicious and so are the burgers. Whether you are passing thru White Sulphur Springs and need lunch or need to leave the beautiful Greenbrier it is a good lunch with great service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mason Jar Restaurant also viewed

White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 
White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing