We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Grand Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

I enjoyed my most recent stay at the Greenbrier.

We also enjoyed a pedicure at the Spa---it was nice also.

We received a room in the West Virginia Wing. The size of the room could not be beat. We had two closets, robes for two, two very comfortable beds, with down comforters. The bathroom had double sinks and make-up table. A sliding door separated the sinks from the toilet, bidet and shower. Nice light directly over the shower. Shower had good pressure and adjustable shower head. Lighting in bathroom and bedroom was good.

Decor is by the famous Dorothy Draper and very bright and cheerful. You go away saying I didnt realize those colors matched.

Mini coffee pot, and hair dryer provided.

Dinner and Breakfast in main dinning room was great.

  • Tips/Secrets — Take the Bunker Tour
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wvshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    459
    214
    94
    52
See reviews for
522
975
31
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
255 reviews
250 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

We stayed a year ago and went back, this time with our 8 month old girl. They valued our return visit and try hard to please young couples. and we got the same room as last time, a nice Spring Row Cottage toward the end of the line with quiet, a front porch and nice mountain views They accommodate you if you want dining room reservations on your schedule and if you want things in your room that are for babies. Babysitting at $8 an hour is a bargain and quite competent. We like the dining room for breakfast and dinner. Our main complaint is that outside the dining room there are not enough healthy and vegeterian options and they don't seem sensitive to this unless you ask them to make something for you (which they will). The nuclear bunker tour was fun and we enjoyed the various activities -- afternoon tea and concert, nightly dancing in the lounge, horse and carriage ride, golf buggy ride, bowling, cooking demonstrations, architectural tours on the property, and going on a holiday weekend is definitely a festival with various kinds of entertainment and free foodies all around. Often you return to a place and it is underwhelming second time around -- we were very happy and would go back again and we really had a wonderful time with our little kid and even our mother in law who came with us. Also very convenient flying in and out of Lewisburg, just a 20 minute shuttle from the hotel. Our main concern is that they are getting rid of the meal plan and going a la carte all the way -- it may drive people to pinch pennies and feel less freespirited overall unless they come up with packages that let people feel loose on their holidays. We really liked the meal plan aspect of the Greenbrier and will miss it. We also felt that service was really friendly and outgoing -- if anyone thought we wanted something, they went right out to try and do it for us.

  • Liked — very nice cheerful rooms
  • Disliked — duvets instead of sheets and blankets -- they changed it when we complained though
  • Tips/Secrets — if traveling with kids, ask when booking reservations what options are available
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

We went to the Greenbrier with great expectations. Obviously, this is a hotel that has rested on its laurels, or they have wilted by neglect. The entrance to the property was dull, overgrown with bushy plants and had a monotone garden.

It wasn't grand , nor beautiful , rather it was absolutely hideous in its decor. The putrid wallpaper has clusters of flowers more than a foot in width. The carpet was black, green and pink. The entrance is downstairs where you are received. Its under whelming, much like Penn station in New York.

It was a white elephant without doubt. The hallway to our room smelled like the boys lockeroom. It was foul and mildewed.

The bellmen were polite and helpful; they were the only staff worth a cent. The rest seemed to hate their jobs and seemed to grin and bear it. If you thanked them which we do as habit, they said nothing. I have yet to go to a place where the staff seemed to really dislike the guests.

Our group went to shoot and the staff again seemed to truly dislike guests and struggled to be civil. They made zero effort . The whole experience was such a let down. They ram the dress code down your throat and yet they DO NOT keep up their end of the bargain. They cut off coffee in the grand hall at 9:00. The grounds are neglected and the place is like a mangy fox thats better off put out of its misery. It needs a major overhaul and attitude adjustment. Never again. It was very expensive. I'd give it two stars . Don't go. Not worth the drive . I don't mind spending the money if its worth it. Save your money for the Homestead.

  • Liked — knowing that the Homestead is around the corner. And, leaving.
  • Disliked — Ugly , over rated, over priced and unfriendly staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the Homestead! THis place was so over rated . It has a loyal following . Let them stay there.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Citalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

I just returned home from the Greenbrier and can't say enough good things. The staff was unbelievable. They are genuine, friendly and amazingly attentive.
I have stayed in many of the top hotels and resorts in the U.S. and abroad. The Greenbrier is at the top of the list of my favorites. The hotel is old but impecibly maintained. It is unlike any other property I have visted. There are so many activities that it is easy to keep your schedule full. Plan ahead & don't over book your activities. Enjoy what truely is the Greenbrier experience. After 4 full days , we actually decided to spend the last day of the trip doing nothing but relaxing at the pool and getting our last massages. The meals in the dining room were excellent and the service we received was spectacular. The golf courses were beautiful and the pace of play was great. A place like this is not cheap, but it is worth every penny in my opinion. I am already looking forward to coming back. I will make an annual visit, and regret that I can't make it back more often.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank 894gfva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

This was our second visit to The Greenbrier. The decor is palatial, including the wallpaper with bright giant flowers. The outdoor landscaping is also stunning. Everything seems circa 1940s. Staff are cordial, spa is relaxing. At first I thought I would come back again and again, but our dinners were rather bland and not really worth the price, and dining room servfice was not attentive, so we probably won't return. It is a unique experience, though.

  • Liked — Building and grounds, staff
  • Disliked — Mediocre food
  • Tips/Secrets — Evening dress: jacket and tie for men, dress or suit for women
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Forsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

We just returned from a four day stay at the Greenbrier. I must say it was the most relaxing atmosphere I have experienced in a long time. The hotel is beautifully maintained, full of history, with gorgeous grounds. The staff was the most courteous I have encountered. Highlights of our stay were the beautiful infinity pool overlooking the golf course, horseback riding, bowling after dinner in one of the restaurants, and just wandering around taking in all the historic features of the hotel. It IS rather expensive; activities such as horseback riding, croquet, bowling, etc. come with a high price. In my opinion, it is worth it. It is a fantasyland of good food, beautiful surroundings, pampering, and a wide range of activities. We will return if our budget allows.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
12 Thank JWREHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2006

There is not a place in the world better than The Greenbrier Resort. We have stayed there twice (July 2005, July 2006) and plan to go back at least once a year, it never gets old! I have heard of many people that are worried to go to such a high class resort with teenagers, but trust me (I'm 15) they will love it. Sure there is a dress code, collared shirts and walking (Bermuda) shorts during the day (no jeans or t-shirts allowed), and jacket and tie after six, but with everyone else dressed like that, you dont feel like you are over-dressed(if you were in jeans and a t-shirt you would feel extremely under-dressed and would stick out of the crowd). I love the elegance in the decor of The Greenbrier, very high class, as if you were royalty. The food in the Main dining room is superb and breakfast in Drapers Cafe is the best anywhere! I love to golf and The Greenbrier has three courses for you to enjoy. I am also a competitive swimmer, so the indoor pool with a lane sectioned off is perfect. If you go. you will be immensly satisfied with the fantastic dining, recreation, and service found at The Greenbrier Resort!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
362 Thank lax592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
18.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
16.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing