We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect in every single way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Fairmont, WV
Level Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect in every single way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This is the most wonderful resort I've ever enjoyed. We've been here three times and it's still amazing! The staff are just wonderful--they make you feel welcome and pampered. The resort itself is a "trip back in time"--very rare these days. Everything is very well-maintained and inviting. Yes, it's expensive but well worth it! We were there for the Business Summit--really enjoyed the food, the atmosphere, the wonderful, caring staff and our whole experience!

Room Tip: We were in a corner room on the 2nd floor; very private, very quiet and spacious, too. Be sure to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebra71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. Your kind words for our staff members are greatly appreciated; we believe they are our greatest asset. We could accomplish nothing without the dedication of over 1800 team members. Thank you for the pictures that you posted. The Greenbrier has over 700 rooms; each one is so unique that no two are exactly alike. We were proud to once again host the West Virginia Business Summit and we look forward to welcoming you back for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    450
    213
    91
    51
See reviews for
512
957
30
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
479 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Attended a convention at this resort that had been built up as being the best of the best. I left feeling as if my pockets had been picked and bewildered as to why it had such fame. Service was good. Room was below average. Torn carpeting in the living area and closet. A closet with one bar for clothing and hooks around the walk in closet. Very outdated decorating and bathroom. I was bothered by the costs. 2 drinks delivered to our room $65. Breakfast buffet $35. Cereal and yogurt $28. Never again. My first and last time at The Greenbrier

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; from your comments, it is evident that we failed to provide you with the impeccable service and memorable experiences our guests have come to expect. It is our belief that our first priority at The Greenbrier – no matter one’s official duties – is to sincerely care about our guests and their enjoyment of the resort. This is the essence of ladies and gentlemen serving ladies and gentlemen. Your atypical experiences concerning your room accommodations are disappointing, and I am following up with the teams involved to ensure that issues of this nature do not recur in the future. I would be happy to discuss in detail your stay, concerns and disappointments. I may be reached at 304-536-7830 or robert_mickey@greenbrier.com. We remain at your service and we hope to regain your faith in The Greenbrier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Greenbrier truly is "America's Resort". The staff are friendly, accommodating and kind. The restaurants are terrific and delicious. My wife and I particularly enjoyed 44 West steak house and the restaurant Sam Snead's and Slammin Sammy's. The Forum is also very good!

The pool staff were great and always quick with a fresh towel or a cold refreshment on a warm day. We enjoyed the hiking trails and the shuffle board area.

This was our 4th stay in the last 5 years. I hope to be back again soon!

Room Tip: Stay in the Spring Row cottages. They cost a little bit more, but they are private and close to eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent return visit to The Greenbrier! Our goal is for every guest to leave anticipating their return to America's Resort, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
237 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I’d long heard of the grace and beauty of the Greenbrier Resort, and of the top-notch service afforded there. As I attended a business meeting there recently, the resort certainly lived up to its reputation. My room was brightly and exquisitely detailed, the bed was super comfortable, the shower piping hot, and even the internet service was fast. For some reason, there was no coffee maker in my room (a must in 4- and 5-star hotels now), and there was a phenominal amount of clutter on every surface of the room. I had to move magazines, papers, and a make-up mirror to place my laptop on the desk, and then climb under the desk to plug it in. While the bathroom was well-detailed, there was no counter space to place my modestly sized toiletry bag.

Décor throughout the resort is bright, bordering on gaudy.

The attentiveness of the staff brings back an era long-forgotten in most of today’s hospitality establishments. Prompt valet service, attentive front desk service (and a glass of champagne at check-in!), quiet and well-executed housekeeping, and a bell staff always immediately available, all made for a great stay.

We toured the bunker, which was a very interesting aspect of the visit, although at $32+ per person, it’s pricy. Our guide was excellent, and very engaging. You must leave your camera and other electronics behind while you tour, and unfortunately, the book that provides details on the bunker and a history of the resort is no longer available, and we were told that the book “might” be available in November or so.

Food & beverage service was great; we ate in Slammin’ Sammy’s and Sam Snead’s, and enjoyed happy hour in the lobby bar – all nicely executed, and the food in the restaurants and at our banquet meals was very tasty.

All of this said, the once considerate resort, steeped in southern manners, now forces itself upon you in fees, similar to a stay at a Las Vegas or Orlando hotel or motel. There is now a MANDATORY Historic Preservation Fund fee of 6.5% on EVERY purchase at the resort, even food, beverage, and items in the shops, along with rooms. Further, a 20% SERVICE charge is levied on every food & beverage item, regardless of the size of the party. The Southern elegance of respect for their guests is gone, and they’ve now sold out to the “let’s fee them to death” syndrome, which is very unfortunate.

Hotels, resorts, and other establishments fully understand that the cost of upkeep is a cost of doing business, and should not be passed along to the very guests who have elected to pay dearly for the privilege of staying there. Tips should be left to the discretion of patrons who receive good service, or not. Guests should continue to protest the now-mandatory Historic Preservation Fee, and urge the Greenbrier to roll actual costs into the room and related charges, as other businesses do. Can you imagine how you’d feel if your local automobile dealership assessed a 6.5% fee on your car purchase, and told you it was for upgrading their dealership???

Enjoy the stay, protest the annoying fees…

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are honored that overall you had a wonderful visit and enjoyed your stay with us. The Historic Preservation Fund (HPF) of 6.5% is collected to preserve and protect landscapes, buildings, and amenities that have played a meaningful role in The Greenbrier’s past while carefully planning the continuous improvement for the future. The Justice Family is dedicated to not only preserving The Greenbrier, but also to its continual improvement for the enjoyment of generations to come. While allowing us to accomplish these goals, the proceeds from this fund will also have an important economic, environmental, and educational impact on the resort, its surrounding communities, and the state of West Virginia. Our goal by being transparent with the HPF was to involve our guests and members in the importance of preserving The Greenbrier for future generations and to show our appreciation to you; knowing fully that we can not preserve The Greenbrier without your support. We apologize that we obviously did not accomplish this goal during your recent visit. Your goodwill and patronage is extremely important to us. We are hopeful that upon reflection you will agree with the absolute necessity of this fund and accept the appreciation of over 1800 members of Team Greenbrier and their families for your contribution to the continuation of The Greenbrier for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Can't recommend enough. Without a doubt The Greenbrier Hotel is my favorite in the world. Like stepping into a warm embrace it is a special place unlike any other. The Greenbrier is full of history and you shouldn't miss the hotel tours or a visit to the "shelter." These are not to be missed. The grounds are exquisite. Everything is immaculate. This is a "grand old lady" to be appreciated. The rooms are warm and comforting with every amenity provided. The shops are unbelievable! The golf courses are treasures and you can play where the pros play The Greenbrier Classic every July. There is tennis, croquet, horseback riding, skeet, trout fishing, bowling, afternoon tea, too much to list. Don't miss the indoor pool. Holiday decorations are beautiful. Many "event" occasions are planned during the year. The Greenbrier Hotel should be on everyone's "Bucket List."

Room Tip: Each room is different. Ask for a room close to the amenities that are most important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We are so happy to hear that The Greenbrier far exceeded your expectations! WOW, it was simply amazing to read your review. Thank you for all of the gracious compliments. We have been welcoming guests since 1778 and have had 236 years of experience in providing exceptional customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is my first visit to the greenbrier and hopefully not my last. The hotel is a historical experience of days gone by. The service was top notch. So far all the food has been excellent. The outdoor pool is gorgeous with views. The locker room at the pool is equipped so that you can clean up, shower and dress for your next activity. The casino makes you feel like your are in Monaco with a 10pm toast of champagne. Be aware men have to wear pants and jacket in there. The grounds are stunning. Also nearby is the greenbrier river trail for biking or walking. Well maintained with very nice camping spots. Just another activity to do while here. The decor is just fun inside the hotel, bold Dorothy draper colors.

Room Tip: The intermediate standard is nice and large. Try to get a corner room for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVLME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review! We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your first stay with us. Thank you for pointing out that we do have a dress code in the evenings as part of our 236-year history. Gentlemen are asked to wear a jacket and tie in the Main Dining Room for dinner and a jacket in the Casino Club after 7:00pm. Casual dining venues as well as room service are available for those that prefer a more relaxed atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Greenbrier soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We have visited the Greenbrier 10 times over the last 22 years. We always have a wonderful stay. We had not visited in about 6-7 years yet many staff members remembered us and gave us a warm welcome. Every other time that we visited, we were able to check into our rooms as soon as we arrived and our accomodations were just as reserved. This time, the hotel was very crowded- the New Orleans Saints had their training camp there- team members, (who were very friendly) their families, and fans filled the hotel to capacity. We couldn't check in for a long time & our children's room was not as close to ours as expected. Surprisingly, our first room also had a houskeeping issue (the housekeeping had always been excellent) After checking in, I went down to the front desk to ask for another room on that floor. The desk person found another room across the hall & I moved into it. Based on previous stays I was surprised by this bump in the road but I liked the new room. The next morning I received a call from the asst. manager who apologized for the service failure- I said it was surprising but ok. He insisted that the check in should have been less stressful and treated me to a massage in the spa. I was impressed that the front desk person thought to tell the manager that we had some difficulty checking in and that he was so concerned about it. My children said, "What do you expect? It's the Greenbrier!" The massage was the best I have ever had and so relaxing. (I want to go back just to have another massage!)
We ate breakfast in the Main Dining Room each day- what a treat! We had dinner in the Main Dining Room 2 nights and Sam Sneads one night. All of the food was great. The night at Sam Sneads, one of my sons who had just turned 21 ordered a beer and was carded. The server saw that he had just had his birthday and she made him feel special the whole meal.
My children enjoyed many of the activities including shooting, off-road driving, bowling, going to Saint's practice and playing many games of shuffle board with us. My husband and I enjoyed the pool, taking long walks, and the fitness center. We thought that we might just see our children at meals but we all spent a lot of good quality time together- that was priceless!
The casino (which was new for us) was very nice and tastefully done. As with the rest of the hotel, the employees there were top notch.
As we were leaving to drive home, a doorman who we have seen for years remembered us. As he tucked us into our car with bottles of cold water for the trip he said, "We don't want you to go. We'll miss you. You're like family to us." That summed up how we feel at the Greenbrier. We have visited in the spring, summer, and winter- all seasons are special at the Greenbrier!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeDe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We are so happy to hear that The Greenbrier far exceeded your expectations! Thank you for all of the gracious compliments. For over 236 years The Greenbrier Resort has taken great pride in “ladies and gentlemen being served by ladies and gentlemen”. It is our sincere belief that our first priority at The Greenbrier – no matter one’s official duties – is to simply care about our guests and their enjoyment of the resort. We are so honored that you think of us as family, because we certainly feel the same way about each and every one of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
18.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
16.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing