We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, Needs attention to detail”
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historic, Needs attention to detail”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

If history is up your alley then The Greenbrier is for you. This antique is a a mega resort. Think Nemacolin for comparison. It is basically a self contained resort town with all kinds of activities like golf to 4x4 trails. The fried chicken was insanely good as was most of the other food so high marks there. I suppose you can look at the Greenbrier in of of two ways nostalgic (in a grandma's house decor) or American historic. I was a little let down by the cleanliness of my room for instance, the fire sprinkler was so badly covered in dust that I thought "that would work in a fire..."). All in all a cool place you should not miss. Oh, don't forget there is a casino as well

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to The Greenbrier. Unfortunately it was very disheartening to read about the lapses in housekeeping in your room. The Greenbrier Hotel opened in 1913 and we are proud of the century of service associated with The Greenbrier Hotel. However, we are even prouder of the 236 years of recorded history surrounding The Greenbrier Resort. There are very few institutions in America that have, like us, been basically in the same business for two hundred years; other examples might be Harvard, Yale, Congress, and the U.S. Army. We hope to welcome you back to The Greenbrier soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,643
    515
    236
    106
    54
See reviews for
604
1,140
36
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I actually felt transformed when I went there. The staff and ALL the amenities are wonderful. I was fortunate enough to play The Old White course. There aren't words to describe how beautiful it is. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjnc1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Wow! We are simply humbled by your gracious review. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to The Greenbrier! Our goal is for every guest to leave anticipating their return to America's Resort, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back for years to come! We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Every room and area in the hotel including the bathrooms are very nice decorated with busy wall papers and beautiful chandeliers. The rooms are very nice but the beds are very uncomfortable.
This is a very expensive hotel from the rooms to the food and every activity. The kids enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pool and also the bowling. For the people that play golf the views are beautiful. The bunker tour was interesting. There is nothing interesting to do outside the hotel

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grilaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The Greenbrier is a luxury resort, and we pride ourselves on offering an unparalleled range of amenities and activities as well as exceptional customer service throughout our 10,000-acre property. Enjoying this world-class experience does come at a cost, and so we do our best to publish all rates, fees, gratuities and menus on our website so that there are hopefully no surprises upon arrival. The Greenbrier has over 700 guest rooms and no two are exactly alike. We look forward to welcoming you back to America's Resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is a terrific historic property with fabulous service. Many of the rooms need updating, but are well maintained nonetheless. The dining was excellent and the sports facilities were the highest caliber. Particularly good was the Café Carlton for light dinner and cocktails (we went for Friday night wine flights and had a tableside tasting lesson from the Beverage Director). Willis at Kate's Mountain Gun Club was fantastic; blending shooting tips into a round of sporting clays.
We will come back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADK46er10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
We are so happy to hear that The Greenbrier far exceeded your expectations and thank you for mentioning Café Carleton. Café Carleton features over 50 wines by the glass or bottle as well as small plates, salads and sandwiches. Comfortable seating and painted murals surround the room to create a warm ambience overlooking the Casino Club.

Light fare with wine flights and fortified libations offer a casual, fun, and fast experience. Whether coming in for a meal or an afternoon drink and snack, Café Carleton offers unique tastes from the golden coast of the Mediterranean along with a wide selection of wines from around the world. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

What an outstanding resort. So easy to enjoy all the amenities. Just walking through the trails is a beautiful experience. Jim Justice and his team have created a feeling of ownership for guest. The rooms have a classic southern charm and the room staff makes your stay very enjoyable. My wife and I were there for a few days and plan to return for a much longer stay next year.
Also enjoyed watching the New Orleans Saints training camp at a fantastic facility!

Room Tip: Make sure to enjoy all the art and history in the halls. The bunker tour is highly reccomended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobby k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
We are so happy to hear that The Greenbrier far exceeded your expectations! We have been welcoming guests since 1778 and have had 236 years of experience in providing exceptional customer service. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Greenbrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Greenbrier is in a beautiful setting and the rooms are very nice, as is the staff. The one downside is that there is virtually no off-site dining, and all on site dining is very expensive - more expensive than warranted by the quality of the food and dining service. There is a mandatory 22% tip, and a number of our servers didn't come close to earning it, One night they completely forgot my wife's entree at Sam Snead's.

Yes, it's historic, and yes the site is beautiful, but if I'm looking for a mountain golf resort in that part of the country, I'd go to the Homestead instead.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abd1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The Greenbrier is a luxury resort, and we pride ourselves on offering an unparalleled range of amenities and activities as well as exceptional customer service throughout our 10,000-acre property. Enjoying this world-class experience does come at a cost, and so we do our best to publish all rates, fees, gratuities and menus on our website so that there are hopefully no surprises upon arrival. Of course the lapse in service that you experienced as Sam Snead’s is unacceptable; I assure you that is not in keeping with our traditionally world class service standards. We look forward to welcoming you back to America's Resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have been visiting the Greenbrier for many years and are big fans. You must enjoy it for what it is. An historic hotel on magnificent grounds with plenty to do for all ages. The golf is wonderful and a must for an avid golfer. However, I feel that a few things a in need of attention. We checked in at the Windsor Club.....room decor is lovely......very Greenbriar, but the Bathroom is a small closet. Not what we expected at this level. Very very disappointed. I would say that the Windsor Club is not necessary. The pool area is not sufficient for a hotel of this size. No guest should ever be turned away because there are not enough chaises. We had no place to sit or have lunch on a magnificent day just last weekend. I would say that asking specific questions about your bathroom is essential. Ask for a room with a renovated one. By far the best place to stay is in the newer cottages.

Room Tip: Do not choose Windsor Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank That'sMyOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Greenbrier! The Greenbrier is proud to offer five championship golf courses including the Old White TPC (host to The Greenbrier Classic, a PGA TOUR FedEx Cup Event) and Oakhurst Links (the first golf course designed and built in America. We look forward to seeing you out on the golf courses again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
444 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
197 reviews
18.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
18.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing