We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You will feel as if you stepped back in time.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“You will feel as if you stepped back in time.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a wonderful family weekend together. The place was still decorated for the holidays even though we left by January 6th so that was an extra treat. Members of our group enjoyed bowling, hiking, the spa, dining, the bunker tour, ice skating....... plenty to do... we never even made it to any of the shops.... I guess that's what happens when your group includes 10 kids under the age of 10! (They enjoyed the Kid's Activity area too) According to the staff there is still train service to White Sulfur Springs.... right across the street from the hotel. Our trip from the Virginia Beach area took 5 hours, but it was an easy highway drive. Several different dining options available too....

Room Tip: We enjoyed the cabins... close to the main hotel, but a little extra room for the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay! The Greenbrier is proud of the unparalleled ranges of amenities and activities available for guests. With over 55+ activities ranging from falconry and fly-fishing to spa treatments and swimming, there is something for everyone to enjoy at The Greenbrier. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    459
    214
    94
    52
See reviews for
522
975
31
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We are in our mid 30s and were celebrating our 10th anniversary at the Greenbrier. The golf, the fly fishing, the abundance of amazing outdoor activities made this property special. The grounds are truly amazing. You could walk for hours taking in the scenery.
The hotel itself wasn't our style. Beautiful on the outside but rather an odd and eclectic choice of decor on the inside. Bright colors everywhere. One room didn't match the texture and style of the next. The wallpaper in the rooms a little too busy. We were expecting something a bit different, more subtle, not so loud and ostentatious but to be honest it really didn't detract from our stay. We definitely enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

The service was as you'd expect in a hotel of this stature - excellent. The manager assisted us with checkin and he was incredibly gracious.

The food for us was just ok. We both are vegetarians and the choices were rather limited. We ate in both the Main Dining room and the Forum for dinner. Both were good but we would have expected a little more. Each morning after our workouts we wanted to grab something quick to enjoy the day, however the breakfast sandwiches to go from the small sundry shop only had 2 choices both with meat. When asked if they could make one without they said they were unable to do so and we were forced to grab bagels each morning. We even went to the concierge to ask them if they could recommend something else and they said the only choice would be to have a sit down breakfast. I know this is a tad bit nit picky but we've been to plenty of hotels of this caliber and they tend to be a tad bit more accommodating. Nevertheless, we didn't come to this property for the food.

Did I mention how great the golf was? Got the chance to play the Greenbrier twice and the Old White. Played by myself on the Greenbrier in just over 2 hours each round which was perfect. Both were spectacular courses and in excellent condition. I could have spent hours at their amazing practice facility. If you like to fish or heck even if you don't - I wouldn't miss out on the fly fishing. We asked to be taken a bit farther up stream away from the traditional deep pool to a more secluded location and it was really amazing. Our guide was a true gentleman and was incredibly knowledgeable and accommodating.

Overall an excellent few days. It seemed to us that the clientele was much older. We would definitely come back to this hotel especially for the golf, just maybe in a couple decades!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmangum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 10th anniversary with us at The Greenbrier! We appreciate your feedback regarding vegetarian dining options and apologize that breakfast was so limited. Our food and beverage department is continually working to refine our menus, and your comments will be very helpful. We look forward to your feedback on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent two nights at The Greenbrier over MLK weekend and it exceeded our expectations. We were particularly impressed with how kind and thoughtful everyone was towards the children (3 and 6). They loved the complimentary teddy bears. They also enjoyed taking their "VIP cards" to the shops for little treats. The large rubber golf balls were a huge hit. Even the woman who was doing a cooking demonstration paid special attention to the 6 year old and this was appreciated. The kids loved all the activities -- skating, bowling, swimming, movies and the carriage ride. One of the children was celebrating a birthday and he was given a huge sundae at Draper's, which really made his trip. He has already informed us that he is going back next year for his birthday. Tyler at the skating rink was very patient with the 6 year old who can be cautious and she ended up really enjoying the lesson and her confidence increased. While we had a great trip, the downside, in my opinion, was the food. We ate dinner at the Forum and, for the price, we thought the pizza was not very good. The food at Draper's, aside from the sundae, was pretty average. The afternoon tea is a wonderful idea, but as other reviewers have mentioned, it is a big free for all. When they bring out the cookies, there is a stampede. The mini cupcakes go quickly and were not replenished. There was a long line to get hot tea. They needed more food and more stations. The overall experience of the resort was wonderful, but some attention should be paid to make the afternoon tea a more special, relaxing event. We would highly recommend this as a wonderful long weekend especially if you are traveling with children.

Room Tip: We had a superior room and it was very large. There was plenty of room for a roll away bed. The cl...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank first_replay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for noticing our emphasis on creating a family-friendly environment here at The Greenbrier! Children 12 and under receive a "VIP Card" upon check-in that is redeemable for daily prizes and can participate in our "Kids Play Free" program for a variety of activities with a playing adult. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Greenbrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We ate here for Christmas with our family. Food was at beast average and certainly not worth money.
We first noticed that my glass was dirty before they pored wine. Waiter appologized and got another one.
My salmon was good but my son got really fatty piece of lamb. We complained and they offered not to charge us for his meal as well as they offered free desert. Unfortunately waiter forgot to bring desert for my daughter.
So overall it was not a very memorable experience. We will go back to greenbrier resort but not to this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Slobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a one of a kind hotel property with all the trimmings...bowling alley, pool, casino, theatre, bunker....on and on. The staff is friendly and nice (Champaign at check in) and the rooms are spacious. We stayed on January 2 and the rates were reasonable and the hotel not over booked. If you are in this area this is a must experience. I would have liked to see more $5 or $10 tables for black jack. There was only one and folks were waiting while other higher tables unoccupied.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Airstrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Some guests may not realize that The Greenbrier now offers an elegant Casino Club described as Monte Carlo meets Gone with the Wind. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The service and the food was delicious. Truly great service. I enjoyed a delicious steak and the mac and cheese was so good the kindly sent me the recipe.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This over the top colorful resort is truly a feast for the eyes. We enjoyed our 3 nights from when we arrived and were greeted with a glass of champagne to all the spa and dining we enjoyed.

It is an old hotel and they have kept it up nicely. The only complaint I had is that the room smelled like smoke and the mattresses are very soft. The cleaning lady was so kind and flipped our mattress and placed a pad on top and voila! great bed. In reference to the smoke smell. I believe it was from years and years of smoking in the past. The bathrooms have been renovated and are very nice. I bought a candle and that helped the smell.

The staff is truly amazing! They take pride in offering you the best service they can. It is a must to go and enjoy.

Room Tip: I was told by the cleaning staff that the 4th floor (the floor we stayed on) used to be a smoking fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thank you so much for pointing out that our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service! Housekeeping routinely adjusts mattresses and pillows according to guest preference. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Greenbrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
18.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
16.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing