We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend get away”
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend get away”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have been to The Greenbrier and another resort with similar facilities. The Greenbrier wins hands down! The service, atmosphere, dining and activities are by far superior to other places nearby. We have been visiting since 1994 and have never had anything but the best experience.
Great for family vacations as well as that personal weekend spa retreat- which is what we enjoy the most. We have many wonderful memories of The Greenbrier and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp9b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We love to hear from repeat visitors such as yourself! The Greenbrier is proud to offer an unparalleled range of activities and amenities which makes us the perfect destination for family vacations, romantic retreats, girlfriend getaways and more. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,643
    515
    236
    106
    54
See reviews for
604
1,140
36
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

at the Greenbrier, I had experienced 100 years of excellence for 2 days this December at the Greenbrier. The Greenbrier had FAR exceeded my expectations, and I couldn't find ONE complaint... ONE!!! well, I had truly enjoyed my stay at the Greenbrier.

Room Tip: pick the main building, with rooms that were just recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are so happy to hear that The Greenbrier far exceeded your expectations! We have been welcoming guests since 1778 and have had 235 years of experience in providing exceptional customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stopped in here for lunch and it was very good. The chili was excellent! Also, some raved on the red velvet cupcake! Nice service and pretty inside. Wish I would've tried the home made ice cream!

Helpful?
Thank AroundNAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We visited here again for Christmas season. The lights are absolutely beautiful. The resort has so much history, just so interesting. Comfortable beds. Had breakfast in the main dining room and it was very nice. Casino nice. Lunch in Drapers, it was good. Carolers sang, hot chocolate then Santa arrived to turn on all the lights!

Room Tip: Our room was near the elevator, but right outside of a ballroom where they were unloading equipment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AroundNAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Welcome back to The Greenbrier! We are excited to soon be launching our new Loyalty Rewards Program to demonstrate our true appreciation to repeat visitors such as yourself. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stopped at the Greenbrier for several hours and lunch on the way to The Homestead. Very attractively decorated for the Christmas Season. The upstairs parlor and ballroom were elegantly decked out even beyond the normal beauty of The Greenbrier. The daytime restaurants have been moved to the lobby of the new casino - suspiciously placed to attract gamblers to the same. We missed the more elegant location of Draper's with an attached patio.
The shops are quite good and my wife loves the kitchen store with live cooking demonstrations several times a day. Great to stay for several days but also just for a passing-by lunch!

Room Tip: Drive around to the resort on the right and find free and accessible parking along the resort or eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit! Christmas is truly a spectacular time to visit The Greenbrier with our 10,000 acres fully decorated to celebrate our "60 spectacular days of holiday cheer." We look forward to welcoming you to The Greenbrier on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akron,ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Clearly the Greenbrier is one of the premier hotels in the United States. As you enter the drive , the absolutely stately white sprawling complex surrounded by tastefully decorated conifers highlighting the winter season reminds the guest that countless hours have been spent defining the importance of glamour. Once again the staff , their friendliness , desire to be helpful, was another reminder that this resort was special. Poinsettias dotted the interior as did a festive display of gifts that were to be given to the disadvantaged. Terry the tennis pro, a former West Virginia University coach, was a terrific instructor, correcting forehand and backhand flaws with the same helpfulness as the other dedicated staff.
The primary problem with this grand hotel was some of the hidden costs that seemed like a "nickel and dime" practices that may not be bothersome to those with unlimited financial resources, but left a sour taste in what would have been an otherwise exquisite experience. For example, upon arrival we were asked if we like the valet to park our car. It was not until the next day that we learned from several individuals attending a seminar that there was a fee of $20.00 per day for the "privilege" of our car sitting in a parking lot that was located next to a free lot if we had parked it there ourselves. Or the " free" coffee offered in an area 50 feet from the main dining room. What was never stated was that if that free cup was refilled in the dining room $4.00 would be added to the bill. Or the $4.00 that was added to the bill for an order of toast that you would expect would be included in the $17.00 fee for an omelette. How sad it is that what otherwise would have been an absolutely delightful experience had to be dampened by a couple of silly business practices that one would expect from a less than dignified business manager than a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is old. Ours lacked a bathroom fan, so you might want to inquire about that. The bedding w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aandpkurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your stay. The Greenbrier is incredibly proud of our wonderful staff and the exceptional customer service that they are able to provide our guests. During this time of year we also applaud their community spirit as they hand-wrap 38,000 gifts that will benefit 86 children's charities in 4 states. Thank you for recognizing their efforts, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Greenbrier is a magnificent property and you'll ooh and ahh your way around the many sitting areas and shops in the main building. It was nice to be greeted with sparkling wine and we were very pleased with our Spring Row Cottage ~ we especially enjoyed the fireplace.

Also, we did have top notch meals in the Main Dining Room, where the chef prepared us some epic scrambled tofu in the morning. However, at The Homestead the chefs had actually come out in person to speak with us about our vegan meal preferences ~ and that kind of personalized service is hard to beat.

The Greenbrier's gym could use some renovation and could definitely be cooled down, and while we did enjoy our spa treatments, the facilities are underwhelming to say the least ~ especially once you've discovered the life-changing Aqua Thermal Suite at The Homestead's spa.

The glass-blowing demonstration was fun and the shops really are pretty fantastic. Dinner at The Forum was slow and a little disturbing ~ when they brought my mom gnocchi swimming in oil and drenched in cream and cheese and kept promising it was vegan.... Well, we didn't really know whether to laugh or cry.

Room Tip: Spring Row Cottages are centrally-located and it's wonderful to have a real fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay. Thank you for pointing out that The Greenbrier is able to accommodate a variety of special diets including Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-Free. We apologize for the confusion in The Forum, but we appreciate you sharing your experience so that we can make sure to correct it for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
444 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
197 reviews
18.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
18.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing