We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Vacation Spot on the East Coast!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Spot on the East Coast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My family traveled 7 hours from South Carolina just to experience the history and ambiance of the Greenbrier. This was a once in a lifetime experience and we are considering returning in a few weeks because there is so much to do that we were unable to do & see everything in 3 days. Our trip was over the Thanksgiving holiday & we had dinner in the Crystal room, complete with a piano player, crystal chandeliers, it was like something you would only see on TV. Yes, dinner was expensive, but what most of the negative reviewers fail to realize is you are paying for much more than just the food. Its the experience as a whole that makes the Greenbrier more than worth the cost of dining and activities. My 7 year twin boys loved the bowling alley and the indoor swimming pool. Which by the way looks like it should have been in a Jane Russell movie. We were fortunate enough to ice skate while it was snowing, absolutely beautiful! A hot chocolate station and gas fire pit were wonderful touches! The staff, where do I even begin. They were amazing! My background is in HR and I had a chance to speak with some of the staff about working at the Greenbrier. One gentleman had been there for 20 years after serving in the military! That almost unheard of these days, and that says to me that not only is it a beautiful place to visit, but a great organization to have such happy employees working at the Greenbrier. Happy employees will always provide better service!
I tend to over plan, research down to the last detail and I'm disheartened by some of the comments. Perhaps Tripadvisor should categorize their reviews for like minded travelers. This property is not owned by Hilton or Holiday Inn, thank heavens!! The decor & presentation of this hotel is a piece of American history and without it the Greenbrier would just be another Ramada Inn. If thats the type of vacation your family is accustomed to then this is not the place for you. The Greenbrier exudes elegance of another time and should be appreciated and admired not ridiculed. I personally hope the new owner does not change anything about this grand hotel. This is one family that will be returning again and again!!

Room Tip: Our options were limited because it was Thanksgiving and I booked 2 weeks prior. We stayed in a sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJ0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to celebrate Thanksgiving with us at America's Resort! We truly are a family here at The Greenbrier, and we are proud of the number of employees who have been with us for 20, 30, 40 and even 50 years! We look forward to having you and your family join us on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    457
    214
    92
    52
See reviews for
520
973
31
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, KY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I always wanted to stay at the Greenbrier and when I had the chance to attend a convention there I was totally excited and rightully so! This is an absolutely fantastic place with service and accomodations that can hardly be rivaled. The level of service is what you would expect from a 5-star resort. The hotel and surrounding grounds are pristeen and every employee greets you with a smile and conversation. Additionally, we were very impressed with the town of Lewisburg, WV (9 miles down the road). It was recently named the "Coolest small town in America" by a national publication. It is very well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the North side of the Hotel have much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HustonsBloomfield_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you finally had a chance to stay! The Greenbrier is fortunate to be located in one of the most beautiful regions of the country surrounded by many wonderful communities. We hope that you have another opportunity to visit West Virginia and America's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean VA, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Greenbrier is one of these wonderful places that you always dream of going to, and when you arrive, are treated to a majestic setting, gracious service, very good restaurants, and a smorgasbord of things to do (horseback riding, skeet shooting, fly fishing, carriage rides, tennis, golf, hiking, pool, bowling, casino, high tea, fitness, jeep rides, etc.). I brought my family (kids in 20s, couple grandchildren) and we took full advantage of almost everything the resort had to offer. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves for Thanksgiving, and the place looked resplendent in holiday cheer and decorations.

The only problem, and it's a big one that can keep you from coming back, is the price tag. From room rates to wine, "$35 resort fees" to "22%" gratuity for parties over 7, I felt taken to the cleaners. I also moved reservations from the main dining room from one night to the next, and they tried to charge me $530 for a "cancellation" fee, which in all fairness they removed quickly and with pleasure when I challenged this item, but why would they try to fleece their guests like this? The over-the-top floral designs in decor also start getting to you, but the classic Greenbrier stripes on bags and walls are great. The relatively new casino is nice, with a cool bar and free champagne toast at 10:00p.m., but then they charge you for drinks even when playing multiple spots at decent stakes.

Bottom line? This is a beautiful, historic, classic resort with activities for all, but they would earn my loyalty and return trip(s) if they lowered their prices--way too expensive.

Room Tip: Junior suites are spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kquinn714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your Thanksgiving stay! The Greenbrier is excited to offer an our unparalleled range of activities and amenities on our 10,000 acre playground - particularly during the holidays. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to America's Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have stayed in many 5 star properties but the Greenbrier beats them all. See my review of the Hotel Del Coronado. My special needs daughter, wife and I took a $99 special after Thanksgiving. The people are fantastic - and believe me- with a special needs daughter you find that out pretty quickly. The room was excellent and the food fantastic. Everyone should visit here at least once and spend the day exploring the history and beauty of this unique place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YesAC4858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that we deserve five stars! The Greenbrier takes great pride in our wonderful staff and the exceptional service that they provide our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivy, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We enjoyed a great lunch over the Thanksgiving holiday – simple food perfectly prepared and excellent service. Don’t miss the desserts and the exceptional ice creams!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandPdineout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivy, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We wanted a relaxing Thanksgiving, where everything would be predictably excellent – The Greenbrier was a perfect choice. The newly refurbished rooms are beautifully done, and the beds more comfortable than ever. Food and service were excellent as always (see separate reviews on the restaurants), and everyone from the moment we drove through the gate to the time we departed could not have been more gracious and hospitable. We typically enjoy the Spa, but this visit we really wanted to sleep late and relax, so our only activity was a carriage ride, which was perfect. It is much easier to make reservations by calling their toll free number than using their cumbersome web site; the staff when you call is knowledgeable and prompt. Suggestion: make dinner reservations when you book your room. And, there are many activities for families of all ages (we saw mostly multi-generational groups over this holiday. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: choose a newly refusbished room, or if you have a family or group visit rooms in Baltimore Row. Sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandPdineout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We are so glad that we were able to help make your holidays relaxing and enjoyable! Thank you so much for pointing out that the best time to make reservations for dining and activities is prior to arrival. The most popular activities and dining venues fill up quickly, so we encourage our guests to make reservations as early as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Greenbrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The difference between a "very good" and "excellent" rating for us is based on our room. It was well appointed, clean and spacious while at the same time it was old and in need of some modernization. Make no mistake the new owners have invested heavily in upgrading this beautiful and extraordinary property. The service is top notch, the food above average and the landscape is stunning. If you golf you won't want to leave - what a remarkable track!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMack425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving a review on your recent stay. As you note, there have been many additions to The Greenbrier recently including the Casino Club, Greenbrier Avenue shop corridor, Prime 44 West steakhouse and Oakhurst Links - just to name a few. In addition, we are continually working to update various sections of the existing property. We look forward to welcoming you back during golf season!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
18.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
16.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing