We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic Golf getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Placid
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Golf getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went with 4 guys on a golf and stay vaction. The rooms are a little old fashioned but the golf was top notch! The hotel brings you back in history but the people were wonderful. Ate at the restaurants on site and enjoyed the Casino at the hotel. The champagne toast and the waltz at 10 pm were great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your golf getaway! The Greenbrier is proud to offer five championship golf courses including the Old White TPC (host to The Greenbrier Classic, a PGA TOUR FedEx Cup Event) and Oakhurst Links (the first golf course designed and built in America). We look forward to seeing you out on the golf courses again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    485
    222
    98
    52
See reviews for
554
1,055
32
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Virginia USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

BLT sandwiches used bacon seemingly left over from morning buffet. Bread only marginally better. Tomatos ok.

Helpful?
1 Thank BumpedAgain!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Virginia USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The consensus on Greenbrier is correct. Service, atmosphere, and cuisine are legendary. We stayed over the Tennis Champions Classic weekend (Sept 20 > 22) -- not for the tennis, but to attend a nearby country wedding. (The contrasts were delightful!). With the crush of the tennis crowd, our room was delayed about 20 minutes. Not a problem .... gave us time to explore the terroir and enjoy the complimentary flute of champagne. When our room was ready, our luggage awaited us neatly stacked in a spacious cheery accomodation ... almost a suite.

After more exploration of the grounds, restaurants, and shopping mall, we dressed for a memorable dinner experience. Our server led us to a center table where we could "see and
be seen"... a novel experience. Rib-eye steaks, vegetables al dente from the Chef's Garden, freshly baked sourdough rolls and crudités were accompanied by an excellent Pinot Noir suggested by the sommelier. It hailed from Greenbrier's contract vineyard in Oregon's Willamette Valley.

Housekeeping serviced the room twice per day leaving almost nothing to chance (more about that later). Fresh mints, turned-down covers, fluffy linens, the works. The casino was especially gratifying. Since my wife seems to have genetic Cajun good luck at the tables, we paid the bills with her winnings (+ my small $89 contribution).

After a thankfully quiet night's rest, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet -- which again was exceptional -- before departing for our friend's wedding. Returning that evening and after a snack at Draper's, my wife hit the casino again ... and won again. I repaired to the billiard area to try my own luck. Unfortunately I won (and lost) only against myself. The bowlers were engaged in their own universe. Checkout the next morning proceeded flawlessly, our luggage and car were delivered simultaneously at the front portico.

Now ... since the harried front desk forgot to give us their Feedback Sheet (totally forgivable given the getaway crush) here's one of my own for Greenbrier to enhance an already excellent environment:
1. Full-length mirrors and bathroom exhaust fans in the rooms would be appreciated;
2. The housekeeping staff should be charged with inspecting for any room irregularities.
In our case, an overhead vanity lamp bulb was dark (like a row of teeth with one missing).
I mentioned it to the front desk who then sent the mechanic to replace it. But guests should
NEVER be inspectors.
3. Please relocate the billiard room to a corner of the library or someplace more appropriate
than the bowling alley with a very loud hip-hop jukebox.
4. Along with the decadent sweet desert offerings, why not have a traveling cheese and fruit
cart -- so common in Europe, but so scarce in the US. Try it, you (management) will like it!
5. This one is important: Please have your valet parkers RETURN the vehicle seating to its original position. On a very rainy afternoon, my wife could barely reach the pedals. We had to stop on Rt. 60 at a hazardous crossroads to discover the problem and correct it. Not good!
6. My only regret upon leaving was not knowing about the Falconry classes. Since I had been a
falconer in Tunisia years ago, that would have been great.(Wish I'd read the Events fine print.)
Again, Greenbrier, we shall meet again. A fabulous experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BumpedAgain!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your in-depth review of your recent visit to The Greenbrier! We certainly appreciate all of your feedback and will make sure that our various departments are made aware of your comments. We hope to welcome you back to experience more of our 55+ activities including falconry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was at the Greenbrier for a conference and was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. The staff is professional yet incredibly friendly and welcoming. The room was large, clean and quiet. Food was great--bring your appetite, portions are large. Pools and grounds well-maintained. I especially loved the indoor pool; it's huge with beautiful tiles, wonderful for lap swimming (and the water is warm). Personally, I could have done without the casino--seems to make the resort less classy than it really is. I'd also suggest raising the resort fee a bit and including more in it. It's expensive, no doubt about it, but also a trip back in time in a spectacular location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay at The Greenbrier. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our Olympic-size Indoor Pool! As you mentioned, it is perfect for swimming laps, and several Olympic athletes have trained in it since 1912! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catlett, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The food is fixed perfect , the 5 scoop of ice cream banana split was off the hook. All 5 of us at the table had more food than you can eat in one sitting. The club sandwich is so big it could be shared between 2 people .Overall fun time

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmecamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The course-The Greenbrier- was nice and in good shape. Have to say the rough... was definitely rough. Caddy was definitely helpful. Tee off was at 8 so no concerns of slow play on this course. Played the Meadows that afternoon. Felt the course was mediocre and very slow. Not a fan of slow play at all.

Helpful?
Thank Melinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Staying at the Greenbrier is rather like being on a cruise ship. Everything you could possibly want is on campus; the cheerful and attentive service is top drawer; there is food and hospitality around every corner; and the location in the WV mountains is spectacular, especially with the fall colors.
We were there for a conference, and the facilities were truly excellent. The meeting rooms are all with 20' ceilings, 20 ' windows and 20' doors, spectacular drapes; chandeliers galore, excellent lighting, sweeping bay windows, I could go on.
The buildings vary in age, but the resort itself has been around since the 1830s, and the feel of the place is very Stately Home. The rooms are average size but very well appointed. My only complaint was that the shower was weak and lacked pressure, but that's it, and this was so irrelevant anyway in the context.
Golfing is PGA standard, mountain biking or hiking up into the wooded hills to the north is very good with clear trails and good variety. Horseback riding is of the "at a walk, follow the guide" variety, so not interesting to me. The Spa is excellent with a variety of hot stone and deep Swedish treatments.
I much appreciated free internet and coffee offered everywhere in the morning; just a nice touch, and made us all feel special.
I am not a resort person, but this was a great experience which we all very much enjoyed and will do again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a LONG way away from the center of the hotel, restaurants, amenities... Ask a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank another_traveler0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent visit! As you mention, the buildings on property vary in age, but The Greenbrier resort itself enjoys a 235-year history beginning in 1778. The cottages built in the 1830s are the oldest buildings still standing, and the central section of the current hotel was completed in 1913. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy The Greenbrier's long history of hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
18.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
7.1 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing