We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historical Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a treat The Greenbrier was. My wife and I decided to go there after watching the PGA tournament that was played on the Old White TPC Course. The only thing more impressive than the resort was the Old White course. The other 2 golf courses there were pretty good also.
This is definitely a destination resort. Once you arrive - you do not even need to get back into your vehicle. You can find everything you need and then some right on the property. Just walking around takes you back to a more simple time. And there is a casino on the property - if interested.
Definitely worth looking into for a great getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent visit. America's Resort has been welcoming guests since 1778 (235 years), and we are proud to recognize that the Old White TPC course will be celebrating its 100th anniversary next year (1914-2014). We look forward to seeing you out on the golf course during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,420
    459
    214
    94
    52
See reviews for
522
975
31
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Family and I tried the steak, the salmon, and the stir fry. All excellent choices!! Menu had a very good selection and this was one of the few places you could pop in with no reservations. Needless to stay it has a great location right next to the casino. Very nice atmosphere and tucked away right underneath the main lobby.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

So I am from WV and this is the first time going to The Greenbrier form me and it was so wonderful. So many accommodations and things to do you need to go for at least a few days. Room was a little small but very clean and beautiful inside. My fiance and I enjoyed everything about the hotel; the service, the attendants, the restaurants, and the casino. They even had little shops inside that we picked up a few things for the house before we left.

Room Tip: So the rooms vary in price, and being this was my first trip there I picked one of the smaller rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. It is wonderful to hear that you and your fiance had such a wonderful time during your very first stay at The Greenbrier! We look forward to celebrating anniversaries and other special occasions with you for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The service at Prime 44 is very good, jackets required, steaks were pricey ($64-$99 per steak not including sides, salads or dessert). My husband and I both ordered steaks cooked medium. My husbands steak came out rare and mine was barely cooked. I expect more from a place that specializes in steaks with such high prices. While management tried to send the steak back to be cooked properly, there was no other offer to make things right (an offer of a free dessert or something would have been very classy). We won't be back to this restaurant. Other restaurants on the property are amazing! Try Drapers or the main dining room instead.

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Drapers doesn't require reservations or jacket/tie. It's actually the best restaurant at The Greenbrier with reasonable prices. The menu offers a varied selection. We had the fried chicken with green beans and mashed potatoes. It was the best tasting fried chicken that I've ever tasted. Other options included hamburgers, salads and sandwiches. This restaurant also offered choices that were healthy, as noted on the menu. Save room for dessert! The ice cream is made on site.

Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Service on par with Ritz, Four Seasons and Little Palm Island. Delicious food. Great spa. Plenty of activities including world class golf and indoor/outdoor tennis. Smoke free casino reserved for guests of the hotel. Don't miss this very special treasure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a TripAdvisor review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to enjoy even more of our 55+ activities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

While at the Greenbrier for a golf outing, I discovered that they can make sandwiches on Udi's gf deli-size bread! I ordered the signature Greenbrier Club on lightly toasted gf bread! It was by far the best club sandwich I've have since being gf AND possibly the best ever! Worth a trip to the Greenbrier just to get the club sandwich. BTW, no mention of gf bread on the menu so ask your server.

Room Tip: The hotel is very spacious so the walk to every room is a visual treat, but wear sensible shoes for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RecipeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for letting other guests of The Greenbrier know about our gluten-free bread option! Our culinary staff is always happy to try and accommodate our guests' special requests and dietary needs - simply ask. We look forward to preparing you a club sandwich on gluten-free bread during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
7.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
18.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
16.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing